So shall I buy silk undies?

Hush you dirty minds, that’s not what they were for! The thought came to me after spending hours staring at a blank screen wondering what to type in. Hours is metaphoric. Each post gets ten minutes flat of type out time and no revisions. Which obviously shows but that’s another post.

Am referring to the snippet in the newspapers today that says Lady Gaga has revamped her lingerie wardrobe and will now on henceforth only wear silk underwear. I like this woman. She’s a sure contender for the next whacko title left vacant by Jacko. She says wearing silk underwear allows her to concentrate on her creativity. One can only surmise that the mysterious Lady Gaga has some major trouble in the relevant area which distracts her when she wears undergarments made from other fabrics. Err, cottons? Has she tried cottons? Should a kind doctor recommend it to her?

I’m the world’s worst undergarment buyer. Thankfully, I have wonderful sisters in law who keep me kitted in the best of Triumph and Hanes and I sail through life without venturing near the itsy bitsy sections of a store most times. Buying underwear is a last priority item on my list of things to do, I would rather buy very important things like a new pair of stilletoes that I have absolutely no space to store and will probably join those shoes shoved in the highest shelf of the cupboard to rain down on me when said cupboard is opened with a rough hand. Or a new bag. Or new clothes. Or better still go out for an all you can eat buffet.

But silk undies to boost, er, creativity is a new one. I can wrap my head around the comfort factor and know that if youre not going to be itching up a storm down there you could well be writing your latest top single release and figure out how many slabs of meat you could wear to your next big appearance. But actually wearing silk undies and feeling the creativity flow out of you, er, metaphorically speaking, would need some serious questioning to happen with folks who understand kundalini and yin yang and such like.

Ergo, when I sat down this morning with a blank screen in front of me, and a mind blanker than said tabula rasa of the newborn, I thought about Lady Gaga and her silk undies. And wondered if Michelangelo and his ilk had tried them silk undies. Or Shakespeare. Or Edison. Errm. I thought so.

Now I get back to writing. Later.

About Kiran Manral

40 and battling flab, wrinkles and grey hair. Fighting a losing battle with the weighing scale. Living with the two loves of my life, my husband and my son. Serial buffet offender and reformed shopaholic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to So shall I buy silk undies?

  1. sraikh says:

    rofl silk underwear. I think I have a pair that came with the robe from Victoria Secrets a friend gave. I will put those on and then compose a blog post.

    Like this

  2. sandhya says:

    LOL at the thought of creativity flowing out due to silk undies!

    Like this

  3. ruchira says:

    I went to buy silk undies once. But at the last moment settled on good old cotton ones. Now I know what to wear if I am going through a dry creativity spell tho !! :)

    Like this

  4. Average Jane says:

    I think silk undies are an interesting wear..umm. If they are all they claim they are, I am sorely in need of those now.

    Like this

  5. BEV says:

    well, this is the lady who thought meat was a good material for clothing…

    Like this

Leave a Reply

