At the mall, at sale time.

Disclaimer right up at the start: I did not buy a single thing for myself. Yes. Rub your eyes and read that again. I didn’t. Cross my heart and swear to die.

It so happened that the child had a birthday party to attend the previous evening and the gift I had picked up was not upto scratch. Well, what do I know, I’m only a mom. Ergo, much rolling on the floor tantrumming with big, fat tears streaming down the cheeks later, it was decided that we would hotfoot it to Inorbit and pick up said appropriate gift, and scamper back into the premises in time for said birthday party. Which was, as we would discover, easier said than done.

The Mall is on sale. Shoppers Stop, Lifestyle, and everything in between is on sale. People are running amok with more shopping bags on their person (never mind the newly instituted rule of Rs 5 per plastic bag) than their actual body weight, and pushing and shoving in most uncouth manner before cartons in which clothes and stuff are piled in higgly piggly manner. Respectable looking matrons diving in head first into piles of clothes from which they would emerge hair a mess, clothes askew, looking rather like they’ve been caught out in the midst of some stolen nooky, and looking right chuffed with whatever it is they have pulled out from the depths of the cartons. I’m sure if you dig into some of those cartons, deep enough, you would find a puzzled mom having fallen head in while trying to fish out a tshirt on 50 percent. Much pushing and shoving was happening at shelves, I almost got mowed down by a sturdy, determined mom, wanting the entire 8 to 9 year old tshirt on 50 per cent carton to herself.
Having found what we had come for we landed at the payment counters to find snaking trails of people staggering under shopping bags which were stuffed with enough clothes to clothe a small nation.

Yes, I ran out. The mobs scared me. It was a shopping riot happening there. And here, the only difference being, the looters were actually brandishing plastic to pay. Or cash. Never mind if they were shoving while in line.

About Kiran Manral

40 and battling flab, wrinkles and grey hair. Fighting a losing battle with the weighing scale. Living with the two loves of my life, my husband and my son. Serial buffet offender and reformed shopaholic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to At the mall, at sale time.

  1. Shrabonti says:

    I love shopping, but this article (and one it links to) really made me re-think this kind of acquisitive, grab-all, ‘I need ALL these tops’ kind of shopping:

    http://www.etsy.com/blog/en/2011/the-tyranny-of-trends/

    That said, I must admit that Id already done my share of sale shopping by then.

    Like

  2. Dee says:

    online shopping? macy’s now ships internationally!

    Like

  3. Shakti says:

    Hey Kiran,
    Could we feature this post on the Around the blog page in DNA. Please do send us an email if you’d be okay with that. Shakti.dna at gmail :)
    Many thanks
    S

    Like

Leave a Reply

