So, I have lost some weight…

It all started with the photographs from the initial events around the book launch. You know, you look at yourself in the mirror and think ah yes, slightly rotund and rubenesque and more of me to love and such like and hide the growing corpulence in kurtis and loose tunics and sadly shunt The Jeans Which Will Not Go Past The Thighs to one side of the shelf to be mocking, jeering prods to conscience whenever the eye falls on them and be content with being the funny, fat one in the group whom everyone looks to for comic relief, and no one looks to in terms of “Woot, you’re looking fabulous.” I was in that kind of a phase. This is back in January. The regular evening walks had been scrapped due to a variety of factors, for one, I figured the child was big enough not to have me breathing dragon fire down his neck everytime he and another pintsized one decided to get into a bout of fisticuffs, there were children younger than him running around without their parents on their tail. And secondly, I have unwittingly attracted a female limpet of the most distressing kind, who immediately sniffs me in the air when I’m down and hurries to me to update me on her maid situation, her mother in law situation, her son’s discipline issues and her woes at not being able to find a good cook. I’ve tried varying my route and even walking in the parking lot (which being basement does get trifle suffocating, add to it the risk of getting run over just as you get your arms swinging well in the manner of the DIY teach yourself to walk effectively for maximum weightloss videos) but inevitably the lure of the printed word and the possibility of being able to reading for an hour and a half unhindered by sudden crashes in corners of the house and brat squawks made the going down to walk a thing of the distant past. The evening constitutional was swiftly dispensed with. The morning constitutional I had had but a flirting acquaintance with having walked in the morning for no more than a couple of months before deciding that cutting short on very valid REM sleep was not good for the muscle regeneration business.
Ergo, the photographs that came with me all glammed up and looking to all purposes like Miss Piggy having gone heavy handed on the lipper and mascara, were, to put it mildly, disturbing. Ergo, the quest to knock off the excess corpulence began in earnest. A kind friend had sent in truckloads of Ooolong tea and other fine teas which I had, with the untrained and rustic palate, just about begun to ingest in the not misplaced hope that they would help me in the quest to speed up the metabolism even in sedentary lifestyle situation. And the next thing I did was to take heed of Rujuta Diwekar’s maxim very very seriously. The lady had said eat something every two hours. I took her words to heart. Completely. Every two hours I ingested of the solid stuff. I keep the quantities limited but I find that once the edge is taken off the hunger, I am less likely to want more than the mandatory. I also upped the intake of the liquid stuff. Water and other such non alcoholic beverages primarily. That was all. Zero exercise. I’m told I have visibly lost weight. I’m not turning cartwheels just yet, I have a pair of denims tucked away in the back of the wardrobe I still cant get into without feeling I need a Mammy to corset me to let the button get into the button hole. When I get into those I will cartwheel. And yes, I’m taking them multivitamins to ensure I have the nutrition I might be missing out on due to restricted calories. And what is more, I resisted the mangoes valiantly, though boxes of them yellow temptations were calling out my name in dulcet tones all through the past month. Fingers crossed I can keep up the self control and cut out the gluttony. Will keep you posted when I get into those denims.

About Kiran Manral

43 and battling flab, wrinkles and grey hair. Fighting a losing battle with the weighing scale. Living with the two loves of my life, my husband and my son. Serial buffet offender and reformed shopaholic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

