Of marriages falling apart….

It has been a bad week. Not for me personally, although, it has been emotionally draining. Met up with a dear friend yesterday after months of us being busy with our individual lives. It has always been this way, we go months without meeting or chatting, and get together like there had never been any break. This time round it was a little strange. She called one morning, with a strange edge to her voice. “Where are you Kiran, I’ve had a serious operation…” I promised to come over pronto. So I did. Went across to find a frail shadow of the vivacious, bubbly, pretty friend I knew and loved. I was shocked. I gathered, she had been operated for cancer. And in the course of the conversation, found out that her husband, an ugly dork if there ever was one, was cheating on her with a 22 year old working in his office. My heart sank. It was a pattern I had seen just a couple of weeks ago, when another friend shifted base back to her mother’s home thanks to a cheating husband, who was also violent to boot. I wanted to run home and hug my husband tight and count all my blessings on the stars and thank every God I know for the wonderful man I have married. I dont know what tomorrow will bring, but for now, I know that I am blessed. Imagine being operated on for cancer and a husband who has shucked off on a foreign jaunt with his keep?

But then she is a trusting soul. She says she allowed him to have his one night stands during her complete bedrest pregnancies, where she gave him his two beautiful children. That was the death knell. It gave him the license to fool around all he wanted, and it continued after the kids were born and grown. Would I have given my husband such a licence, I thought, though I had been on a risky pregnancy too. Never. Not on my life. Being married to me implies total and complete fidelity–emotional and physical. Am I old fashioned? Perhaps. And if there have been one night stands in my marriage, I dont want to know. Because the day I know, is the day I would pick the brat and walk out. I am that unforgiving a person, and I have been 200 per cent emotionally, mentally and physically faithful to the spouse. I expect the same. To be weighed down by a spouse’s infidelity while going through cancer treatment is something I couldnt digest at all. I wept for her. And counted my blessings. And was very very scared.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Of marriages falling apart….

  1. childwoman says:

    Oh Kiran! I am so very sorry for your friends…..those good for nothing husbands should be beaten up…why do wives put up with thier crap all the time…I hope your friend gets well soon and her life gets better…and I can understand your fear…take care…

    Like

  2. Big Zed says:

    Oh my god! What a sad story. I’m like you… the minute I find out something is hanky panky, I’ll walk out that instant. No, no one has the license to fool around with other people when you are married to one. Period!

    Like

  3. "SunShine' says:

    Totally agree !! Some things can not be compromised at all

    Like

  4. Ronak says:

    A sad, but thought-provoking post…

    \\Am I old fashioned? Perhaps.\\
    No you are definitely not.. I completely agree with you.. marriage surely implies complete fidelity…

    Like

  5. She should just take her dignity and leave that douchebag!

    Like

Leave a Reply

