Spanking new clothes day….

So here I am in a crisp white cutwork jacket with wooden buttons, warp faded denims from Replay, Aldo sequinned stilletoes and omnipresent leopard skin tote. No wolf whistles sadly, though I thought I looked good enough to whistle at, sad comment on sex appeal factor. Anyway, who can be blamed for the world’s bad taste. Or perhaps, I console myself, am too hip to be whistled at. Cmon, even the husband doesnt wolf whistle any more. More on the lines of hooting with laughter, especially when I try on one of those sexy, strapless numbers which show just how much the lung area has developed an affinity with gravity, making me run for my triple broad underbust support wire bras. Alas and alack. What is the occasion for this display of sartorial elegance? The orientation cum coffee meet for the brat’s new term in junior kg. What my life has been reduced to…where once I met film actors, models and corporate head honchos on a daily basis without time or inclination to give much thought to what I was wearing (just make sure the shoes are comfortable and the umbrella is in the bag–field job, field job), now I spend time and thought on what I wear to go to the brat’s school. Not really. Just vanity and wanting to wear something new that was unworn for over a month in the cupboard, and beckoning me enticingly every time I opened the damned doors. I wonder if I am the only dork who needs the security of having at least two unworn, spanking new outfits in the closet at any given point in order to feel like the closet is complete. It probably comes from the good old childhood when new clothes were only bought for festivals and birthdays (this being the preliberalisation, when money was hard to come by, and life revolved around pay day for honest folks like parents who lived out their lives in a single job, and retired with gold pens). Does this desire for acquisition of new clothes come from this phase of deprivation, but paradoxically, I still remember every precious dress I had from my childhood, which I wore proudly on the special occasion it had been bought for when it was spanking new and then gradually wore it down to rags, the last destination being wearing it down to play in the building compound, after which it would be earmarked for a kitchen mop. Those were the days. Today, I wear something for a year max, after which it gets cast out into the pile which gets exchanged for vessels. Needless to say we have more vessels than we need in our kitchen. Vanity is secondary here, what is more the issue is the fear of not wearing clothes that are appropriate to the occasion, even though all my occasions are brat determined these days, and consist of jeans and tops that vary from spat on Tshirts to exquisite sequinned chiffony numbers…shall do a post on jeans and their wonderful way of making the playing field even. A great pair of jeans can get you through anything, even a wedding, but not of course, a black tie event. So here I am with three more new tops in my cupboard just waiting to be worn, and know what, that makes searching for an occasion all that more delightful. Perhaps the next time I go to visit the dentist, the pain will get eased by wearing that black and white floral printed top with the empire line and lace detail? Who am I kidding?

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spanking new clothes day….

  1. utbtkids says:

    I can’t agree more with you on feeling that there has to be atleast on new garment in the closet. I open my closet and wonder why all the 100 dresses I have look so boring, while hubby is happy wearing his five shirts and three dockers, even though he has about 40 shirts and 25 pants! Whew….

    Like

  2. 4lorac says:

    I couldnt find you so I googled your user name and wonder abound everything you wrote came up and then some. I love the pics of your family Loved reading your posts, I have missed you!

    Like

  3. prynkp says:

    Wow, do I envy you!! I can’t seem to remember a single instance when I opened my wardrobe and I actually found one, measly item of clothing which had never been worn!! I am one of those buy-and-can’t-wait-to-wear-it ones. I once went to a disc for the sole reason that I had bought a top the day before which was strictly a disc or party affair!!

    Have been a regular at your blog(s) for a month now and am one of the contributers to the page hits but not to the comments. So decided to change that!

    Like

  4. thirtysixandcounting says:

    UTBTKids:Sadly though, my hubby is as clothes obsessed as me. So, there’s no iron will holding me back from splurging from that side…

    Carol: Welcome, glad to see you finally found me, though am the easiest of all to track down…

    Priyanka: Welcome and keep coming back, and commenting…I envy you not needing new clothes constantly, its like a disease with me.

    Like

  5. i envy you the jacket and the stilettoes….

    Like

Leave a Reply

