The futility of the monsoons.

Have always loved the monsoons with the irreverent passion that comes from one fed on a constant diet of too many romantic filmi numbers in Bollywood films. So whenever it begins to rain, somewhere deep in the dredges of my now post mid life heart, a cuckoo begins cooing for romance. But, life is practical, and between chasing the brat to get his butt into the bath, and twisting my body into incredible contortions to get into my jeans, romance stays buried like a shy student trying hard to get the attention of a rather overbearing professor. So there I am, having dropped the brat to school, walked a good ten minutes to find the damn car in the pouring rain, and of course, the man within had stretched out his seat all the way to the back, covered his face with his handkerchief and was snoring away in the useless way that only the truly bone lazy can. Drenched and disgusted with life, I sit in the car that will now take me to the office, where I can blog and pretend to do some work. When I spot a couple walking hand in hand. No umbrella, drenched to the skin. Just enjoying the rains and being together. They’re both very young, they must be in college at the max. Flashback time. The then boyfriend and now husband, comes to fetch a stranded me during a flooded results day, knowing that I would have gone to college braving rain and storm to get my results (Vanity. Actually. I had high hopes of topping my batch, but actually came second. Much to my own disgust). And then we waded through waist deep water to get to the railway station, where we found the trains on the blink. So went the duo, drenched and delirious in love to a local shack like restaurant and drank piping hot tea and ate some garam bhajiyas and delighted in just being together. Alas. What I wouldnt give to go back to those days again!

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The futility of the monsoons.

  1. childwoman says:

    awwww….that’s so cute!!!

    Like

  2. dont go there.. thin ice.. we would all love to go back to that place in our lives…

    Like

  3. namvor says:

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

