Tis the season of sales…

Mango, Escada, Hugo Boss, Charles & Keith, Regal,Sia, Nine West, Westside and infinite more. All on 50 per cent sale. Is that music to my ears or what! Add to this Ruff Kids, Scram and Gini and Jony also on sale. Happened to mall visit on Saturday with the husband and therefore having deposited brat with husband in the playzone, could browse the sales with the leisure that is reserved for women with nothing on their hands but to shop. MIL was with me, and had a one point agenda. Namely to shop for monsoon slippers for herself. Now Charles and Keith is not the store to stock MIL’s monsoon slippers (rexine, padded and very sturdy) but since it is sale time we must check it out. And I am open to checking out any sale, whether relevant to me personally or not. Therefore I went it, fainting orgasmically at the wonderfully delicate floral slipons, the polka dotted ballerina shoes and such immensely impractical stuff that will get totally ruined in the Mumbai monsoon. The husband comments sardonically that I dont walk anywhere, so how is it that my shoes get ruined in the rain. He suspects I stand in the overflowing drains to ensure that they do just so I can justify buying some more….

Of course we didnt get the MILs monsoon slippers there. Nor at Regal, which was also on 50 per cent sale, but such a chaotic sale with the throng of Sunday shoppers swatting each other in order to get to their size racks, that I fled in sheer disgust. I took solace in the fact that the kiddy shops were also on sale…so off we trotted to Gini and Jony, where there was wonderful stuff on sale. Checked out lovely jackets and pants for the brat which were all dismissed by sartorial king, all 3 ft 4 inches of him, and we ran into Ruff Kids which has a makeshift car for him to drive therefore is the better place to shop in according to him. Four pants and one tshirt were picked and paid for, to much squealing delight of wanting to wear them “right now” and with an impromptu strip show right in the shop to much amusement of other shoppers. He takes after his mother, this child, in his love for dressing up.

The husband bought himself a Longines. Much lusted after for many years. He promised himself an Omega the next time round. The brat wanted to wear it. Bought him a Mickey Mouse one as a substitute but it was summarily dismissed as being the inferior one. Therefore he is now wearing a 100 buck fake sportswatch from neighbourhood card and gift shop and much delighted. This is the kid who will grow to own a drawer full of ransom amount watches, and be the proverbial spoilt brat.

Now if I can only take the time out to get myself to Mango and Escada, my life would be perfect. There is this beautiful kimono wrap top in burnt ochre silk which I just must must must have. Until the next sale comes along.  

BTW, cutting out the carbs post five pm has done the waistline a world of good. Actually got into a pair of jeans which had long been languishing in the back of the cupboard for the absolute resolute refusal of the button and the buttonhole to come together, even after one had twisted oneself and patted oneself into in, centimeter by centimeter. Therefore, one can now dispense free gyan to all who need it… donot eat after five pm. If you are absolutely starving, and must eat something make it protein. Pure protein. No carbs. Your waistline will thank you for it. Not that mine has really gone the way of the sylph, but there’s hope yet. At least jeans are going up, and the toes can be seen from a standing vantage again. And that, without exercise, is a big big boon for butt lazy me. Talking of which, the no-carb-after-five rule seems to have had lesser impact here, therefore one is like the number eight now. Yes, yes, I hear you. Am never satisfied with myself. But then I think of J Lo and calm down. Maybe, just maybe, this is what is truly fashionable right now, and why ruin being on a good thing with unnecessary dieting. Just look at poor Kareena Kapoor to know how scary one can look after a point.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tis the season of sales…

  1. prynkp says:

    Hey, Mango sale not at 50% 😦
    They have a upto 30% thing going on…

    Like

  2. thirtysixandcounting says:

    Hey Priyanka, I stand corrected, just saw the word sale and overreacted like a Pavlovian dog…

    Like

  3. childwoman says:

    haan lekin, 50 % sale main bhi clothes expensive lage mujhe and the clothes did not appeal so much to me…

    I was at the French Consulate yesterday, so I set the Colaba Causeway streets on fire, I picked those shiny multicolored bags at Rs 50, Cargo and military style capris at Rs 100 each. boughts lots of bead belts and chains, bracelets for Rs 30 each. My friend haggled for the price, so the vendors got fed up with her and gave in….hehe..and went to Westside, but the clothes were not soo good….but my friend bought a pair jeans in discount. It was alright….but really K, seeing sale words, sets the heart rate racing…

    Like

  4. prynkp says:

    Hey, same here.. And how I responded!! I noticed the % thing only after I went back to the display window after noticing the marked down price 😥
    Structured the entire weekend around the sales. Seriously, what is it about sales everywhere that you want to stock up stuff which you wouldn’t even dream of buying otherwise??…

    Like

  5. childwoman says:

    my waistline is begging to be reduced…what do you mean by pure protein? kya khana chahiye? I am thinking of resuming my swimmining, but my mum very curtly said,’koi zaroorat nahi hai, kaali ho jaye gi….’!!!! I really want to swim, but dont want to lose the color…do you know any creams or lotions that will help me??? Wow, I am asking for beauty and health tips?? I must be getting better at living!!

    Like

  6. Twisted DNA says:

    Simple: Healthy girls are pretty girls. If a girl looks like she is about to die, or just died, of starvation, it is revolting.

    I know you will have me for saying this, with all the great effort to watch you diet, if you put in a just teeny bit of exercise, it goes a long way. I know.. I will shut up.

    Like

  7. thirtysixandcounting says:

    Childwoman: Looks like a good time was had by all at Colaba…alas, no chance nor time to indulge in such lovely rasta shopping anymore. Have to confine myself to the malls, the brat does not allow for the road…

    Twisted DNA: You are cordially invited to watch me after the brat for the entire day. Its enough cardio for the week, trust me….and specially an evening at the park or the mall, gets the heart rate on overdrive. I rest my case…

    Like

  8. this no carb after 5 thing really works? maybe i will try it. right now i fool myself that breastfeeding mothers dont need to think of weight.

    Like

  9. roopa says:

    Hi

    Nice blog, i justed happened see your link from ubtkids.
    This is one of my favourites not, the topic you chose to blog OMG all my fav, Way to go gal! No carb after 5 , & its working out for you , what to you eat/ avod eating after 5 just curious

    take care

    keep the good work coming

    Roopa

    Like

Leave a Reply

