Keeping in touch

The saddest part about life is losing touch with people who matter to you. Friends. Relatives. And even acquaintances. Sadly for me, have grown up a miserable loner. And the zillion times I shifted house through my school days ensured that I didnt make too many friends. And the little friendships I had from school didnt survive through college. And my college friends, though still contactable are all busy in hot shot careers and with no time from social world drop outs like me, with life and time revolving around kid and school pick up times and therapy. Or so I think. But I am more to be blamed. I let things slide. I wallow in my own selfishness and refuse to make the first call. I take umbrage if a call is not returned asap. I keep procrastinating on meeting up. I have a zillion excuses as to why any day is not a good day. I am a miserable friend. Forgive me. I want to reach out and hug all of you, and hear your voices again.

As one grows older it becomes infinitely more difficult to reach beyond mere aquaintanceship and go into friendship. Is it because when we are younger we have more time to give to friendships or lesser prejudices to bring to the friendship? Even so, there is absolutely no excuse to let mundanities take over the joys of staying in touch with the people who actually matter to one. After all, have always believed in friends of the heart and friends of the road. Friends of the heart can never be replaced, while friends of the road come and go.

Resolution for this week: Call up or email at least a couple of old friends. Come on, am one foot in the grave already. If I dont do it now, when will I?

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Keeping in touch

  1. childwoman says:

    Do it Kiran. There is nothing better than hearing a old friend’s voice again. Sharing the laughter and old memories. Really Kiran. Its wonderful to meet old friends. Recently I got in touch with one of my then close school friend. And it was so nice. Felt so nice in the heart. Relived those days again. Do it Kiran. The happiness and the warmth you will feel is so worth it,it feels better than a manicure, pedicure or even a 100% sale sign!!

    Like

  2. Broom says:

    I agree, no matter where you live, it becomes home only when you have a set of good friends there.

    Like

  3. thirtysixandcounting says:

    Tara: Started on the process. Think will finally have some friends around at my funeral…LOL.

    Broom: True. One gets so caught up in family and day to day living that friends are the first casualty…

    Like

  4. childwoman says:

    I did Kiran. But my parents refuse to ask for a photograph. They, ‘Dont judge a boy on his looks’ but…he atleast need to be presentable. And we go to meet them and I pay for all the bills at the restaurants. What a waste!

    Like

  5. childwoman says:

    Sacchi, Kiran we always pay. Its either my brother or me, end up paying for food and drinks. Yes, they are extremely cheap, you should hear what they order to eat! You, know once we had to travel all the way to Pune to see one loser…..

    Like

  6. prynkp says:

    I agree. Nothing like a chat with an old friend.
    And the worst part is the accompanying guilt which just pushes us to feel worse abt not keeping in touch. And so we end up postponing calling yet again! Vicious circle!
    But once you break it, getting back in is pretty hard 🙂
    The fact that you can still talk to your old friends after a long period of non-contact speaks volumes about your friendship 🙂

    Like

  7. nothing like old friends. and its so easy to keep in touch with them with SMS, mail and webcams… go on.. (poke, poke) that is me prodding you to get back in touch with them.

    Like

  8. thirtysixandcounting says:

    Priyanka: Oh, will only take the trouble of tracking down friends with whom one can just pick up from where we left off…

    Madmomma: Have taken up the gauntlet…am slowly re establishing contact…isnt orkut great??? LOL.

    Like

Leave a Reply

