Back to the blog

Ah, this poor neglected blog. My abject apologies to all those who have visited here, and left dejected that lazy owner has not been updating it on a regular basis. The grihpravesh has happened, the shifting in has happened. And the four families have come and gone. And a modicum of peace and normalcy has returned to our lives.

The best thing that has happened to me in a long long time, happened at a store in Lokhandwala market. Desperate for ensemble to be worn for the brat’s birthday party, given that all I had had already had a public airing, rush into store with loads of bling bling stuff. Try out various tops with embroidery and sequins befitting the occasion of birthday party of only brat. Like one black chiffony number, but it seems to hang on me loosely. That in itself was a great feeling. The salesman looks at it from all angles quizzically and then checks the tag behind. “Madam, yeh to XL hain. Aap L try kijiye.” I turned somersaults on the floor and almost gave him a hug. But restrained myself with much self control and frowned in all seriousness. “You should have given me the L right in the beginning. Do I look like an XL to you???” The poor man held his tongue. Yes, that was pushing my luck.

I like this store. I am going back there soon. It has me as a L. If you see a fat woman running down the street screaming “I am an L, I am an L,” smile indulgently. She is on a roll.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back to the blog

  1. Broom says:

    i SO hear ya!

    Like

  2. πŸ˜€ Congratulations “I am an L”!!

    Oh, the opposite happened to me last year. I walked into a store and confidently picked up an M (you see, I USED to be an M) and the lady who owned the store came to me and said “Yeh fit nahi hoga, XL try keejiye”. Needless to say I didn’t buy anything that day 😦

    Like

  3. childwoman says:

    hehehe..you are soo adorable KM!!…I also came down to a M from a L….!

    Like

  4. Kiran Manral says:

    Childwoman: More power to you girl. And BTW there’s an award for you on the karmickids blog, but I know you’ve already got it once…

    Like

Leave a Reply

