New bag time

With the new phone comes the added stress of the fact that the bag one carries around, a huge shapeless, leopard print tote which can even fit the brat in if there is a crunch, is too disorganised to find said phone in a hurry when it rings. Which means, suddenly the Airtel ring tone will come wafting out of the bag. “Your phone is ringing,” go people in the vicinity. “Ermmm. Yes. Ermmm.” Thats me fishing around the interiors of said bag, finding everything from safety pins to nail cutter to band aids, to birthcontrol pills but no phone. “Answer the damn phone, dammit.” That is if hubby is in the vicinity. “Ermm. Ermm. Where is it?” “In the bag obviously,” this said with gritted teeth by husband. Who has concluded that wifey darling has really lost her mind now. “I cant find it…ermmm….ermmm….” This with me having upturned bag and all contents into lap or any available soft space like car seat and such like. “There it is.” Pounce on it, to have the ring stop. And an unfamiliar number stare at one. And then wonder whether one should call back to find that one has called a telemarketer. Or worse someone toxic whom one doesnt want to have a conversation with, and who finds ways of calling from the wierdest numbers possible.

Moral of the story: I must go bag shopping to find a “structured” bag with a place for everything and everything in its place. I see a rectangular soft leather structure with wide comfortable handles that dont add to the already cutting into the skin bra strap indentations (What to do. When gravity calls, straps get painfully tightened.) Just saw the perfect one the other day. The Balenciaga Motorcycle bag. In the Vogue. Now where can I find the perfect fake?

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New bag time

  1. DotMom says:

    that sounds like me 🙂 I have tried hobos, totoes, structured organizers, large totoes, backpacks. I can NEVER find my phone. Except in the winters when it is always in my jacket. And I was thinking just this morning that I need a new bag too. I was going for the patagonia look.

    Like

  2. Cee Kay says:

    Ha ha! I have the perfect fake of a rectangular, “well-structured”, soft-strapped, leather Prada. Want it? 😀

    Like

  3. randomvignettes says:

    :):):) and when you find it can you let me too?!

    Like

  4. Kiran Manral says:

    Dotmom: Sounds good. The husband tells me I should just get a gunnybag and a rope strap considering the junk I fill in them bags.

    CeeKay: will this bag obsessed woman ever say no to a bag???? Never.

    Like

  5. Kiran Manral says:

    RandomVignettes: Will do so. Am going hunting.

    Like

  6. childwoman says:

    I have very bad choice in bags. My bags always resembles an old lady’s choice!! 🙂

    When I want to fish out my phone, tissues or even a lip balm…i can never find it. so I have to find a place where I can empty most of the stuff out and then locate what I want. Its such a task at times! sigh!

    Like

Leave a Reply

