Me, the forager…

…friends and relatives now quake at the sight of me entering their homes. Anything remotely interesting and looking neglected in a corner will be zeroed in on with my laser vision.

“Listen, why is that statue all dusty and neglected? Is that a reproduction of a Chola bronze.”

Yes, yes, I am not the most polite of guests. I have often been known to straighten bedsheets in homes I visit. Which is not to say my own home is spotless. Far from it. But there is, what I call, an innate desire to neaten up constantly. Do you think I need to see a counsellor. Digressions apart. Back to the conversation.

“You dont like it?” This in the interrogative. With a twinkle coming into my eye. A twinkle, that the seasoned home owner being visited recognises. And my mother recognises best of all, her’s being the home most abused thus.

Homeowner/hostess: “Not really, it was a gift, but it doesnt really go with the rest of the room.  You know, I am more the modern artefacts type, and dont really like this brass stuff.”

Inner jubilation happening within self brain.

Me: “You dont really want it then?”

Homeowner/Host, compelled to now offer kindly, since such unabashed hints have been thrown around: “Do you want it, take it if you want it.”

Me (rushing around looking for a plastic bag to bag my prize and calling up the driver to ferret said prize into the car, before homeowner changes mind): “Thanks dear, it will look just divine on my new wall shelves. ”

Did I mention I am shameless?

Disclaimer: I only do this with people who are incredibly close and will invite me over again perforce being relatives or school time friends.  I am terribly shameless.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Me, the forager…

  1. childwoman says:

    hehehe..I think its ok, to be shameless, with your close friends and family circle..I think I am defending you, coz I am too…the moment S buys a new phone, or a t shirt, or even a pen, I try to pinch it from him, saying that, hey, its not going with your complexion, it suits me the best! just last week, I saw sad looking glass vase on his office table, and I thought that if perked up seeing me and was calling me…., I looked at S, and before I could say anthing, he just rolled his eyes, and handed it over to me….hehhee….yep, we ARE shameless..!

    Like

  2. Priyanka says:

    🙂 I think the forager thing is a side effect (or should I say side-benefit?) of anyone who has the ‘new-home’ syndrome. Shame?? No reason for it at all!! Liberating an article from obscurity and reinstating it to its former glory – shame?? Relieving someone of something that they don’t really want (and we would love to get our greedy hands on) – reason for shame?? A favour, I say!!

    Like

  3. Yashodhara says:

    arrey, you are here also!?

    good, good, more of you to read.

    you look smashing in the header! nice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

