You are the change you seek

..or so said the book of the wise man, which had been thrust into my hand by a shaven headed extremely earnest and persuasive foreigner, dressed in saffron, outside Hypercity, who followed me around till I relented and consented to buy one of them slim tomes, primarily to get him off my back, while simultaneously maneouvering grocery trollery overladen to precarious truck high height, with single hand, while other hand held onto four year monsterchild who wanted to run across the road to explore the patch of murky marshland, and yelling for driver who had chosen this very moment to be missing in action. Stopping the trolley from tipping over with a well placed foot, I rummaged in the sack I call handbag and dug out requisite amount and gave it to him gladly. Perhaps it is serendipity, I thought. Perhaps this book was meant for me. Perhaps there is a message inside it.

And yes, hidden in all those chapters about us being plant forms, and amoebic forms and such other low lives before being gifted a human existence, was this gem of a line. You are the change you seek. Yes. Right now I am the loose change rattling around in the various pockets of life’s handbag, not really adding upto anything substantial but just piling on the weight. I need to get rid of the loose change and convert them into currency notes. Loose change goes to the beggars, currency notes get things done.

Therefore I will not attempt to be change, I will change. My new year resolution. I will actively attempt to initiate change in the areas of life which are unsatisfactory to me. Life is too short to keep moping and whining about why things arent happening the way I want them to. Which includes getting that waistline back into a size that can fit into a single frame of a digital camera. And getting the brat to learn swimming on my own. And revamping the wardrobe to urban chic from the boho chic I had slid down to in sheer laziness. And ….Any suggestions about how I can get me an island home in the Maldives?

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to You are the change you seek

  1. Priyanka says:

    That is quite some New Year’s Resolution! It is like a all-in-one resolution. You know, I think, we focus so much on the material resolutions that we forget the basic enriching ones like attitude and state of mind. Ones that will stay with us always. Thanks, Kiran.

    Like

  2. well written and well timed. I plan to do something abt my weight this year. the bean turns one and i cant really call it pregnancy weight anymore! (says the fat woman stuffing her face with chips )

    http://thebratthebeanandwordpress.com

    Like

  3. Rashmi says:

    hey just found ur blog.. u look incredible for 36!! 🙂

    Like

  4. Kiran Manral says:

    Priyanka: Twas all written with the best of intentions. Lets see how long the intentions last though.

    MM: Puhleeeze dahling. I remember a sleek lady in a to kill for blouse and a dazzling red saree who is nothing of the fat woman you speak of. No one would ever say you are do bachchon ki maa.

    Rashmi: LOL. Thats why this photograph was chosen. It is a good angle, and makes me look like a million bucks. See me on a bad day under harsh daylight and you will run screaming for help….

    Like

  5. Rashmi says:

    Arre both MM and u keep talking of weight.. Im a zero bachhon ki maa and just abt 25 and i weigh 80 kilos and im going to burst. you all are giving me a real complex here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

