Chuck De!

I am proud to announce that I have done it. I have cleaned out the shoe wardrobe. I have, gasp, gasp, chucked out eight pairs of shoes that were a)worn to the nub or b) too uncomfortable to walk or c)just ones I didnt like anymore. And these have included the ones I spent half the GDP on, and therefore was hanging on to for dear life and guilt and imagine what the hubby will say. The hubby said yay. Give it away. Therefore the maid has now a pair of red lizard skin Aldos which are the only pair with a midsize heel. Friends are rolling on the floor in laughter at the vision. And the other discarded, a blue denim with floral embroidery stilleto from Catwalk, a copper thong spike heel from I forget where, and a gorgeous black diamante studded velvet slip-on (not so nice with some diamantes missing in action) have gone the way all trash goes in this house. To the MIL. To be passed on to the raddiwallah. Yes. There is a pang of regret. To be fair, I would have passed the unused ones. But how do you ask anyone whether they would like an almost brand new pair of shoes, without them wanting to clout you with said pair of shoes. And that steel spike can put in a nasty hole in the cranium. And the sis in laws, the only ones whom I could dare ask said question dont wear them six inch heels. They’re practical and matronly. And wear box heeled pumps. And guess thats where I’m heading to fast enough. But not fast enough for this round of shopping I’m hoping.

And the good news is that I now have place for lots more. Therefore, Aldo, here I come. Charles & Keith make space for me. Catwalk, keep them wooden wedges polished. Am going shopping and aint nothing gonna stop me now. What is it about me and my shoes? Why is it that the latest Choo Lace has me all ashiver with desire in a way no man can ever hope to? Why is it, that I begged the powers above to give us some modicum of winter to allow me pull out the newspaper stuffings from my boots from deep within the attic? And now that the powers that be have granted me my wish, have realised that those boots are best worn when paired with a pair of great legs which I no longer possess and have packed them back in the hope that age will do better things to them legs than varicose veins. Yes, am ashamed to say I now chose my shoes not only for the lift they give me but also for sheer comfort purposes. A pair of shoes I cannot run around in is a pair of shoes I do not buy anymore. Yet I have evidence of the follies of my youth staring right at me as I write this. A pair of beautiful silver lace and denim wedge heels forlorn and unused because I risk becoming a Japanese street chic platform heeled manga character if I wear them, apart from the very obvious risk I face of twisting my ankle into two.

On my wish list, and if I can convince myself to shell out the lumpsum towards the shoe fund, a pair of croc skinned Ferragamos. In copper. Or pink. Or whatever colour they have in my size. I am not choosy. I just lust. And a black patent vinyl pair of lace ups. From I forget whom. I saw a glimpse in a magazine and have fallen in infatuation. Jimmy Choo, I think. It had a Choo look. Red Satin pointy toed pumps. Ahhhhh. A pair of red peep toes in patent from Mango would do as well. Or a round toe pair of patent pumps from Nine West in those nice lemony colours. Or that red patent number from Charles & Keith. What is it with my new obsession with patent? Wore them in the eighties, and now patent shoes are back with a bang and colours that hit the eye unapologetically. Considering almost all my clothes are black paired with denim, can flirt with a bit of colour on my feet. Coupled with my Jackie O sunnies, am set to sail. Or perhaps nude. Nude as in the shade of shoes to be bought. If research I did recently on shoes is to be believed, pink is out and nude is in. There go the pair of neon pink kitten heels with the pink flower corsage I picked up recently. I need to get myself a pair of strappy nude stilletoes for ultimate urban chic. And a pair of nude ballerinas. Am ruining the current only pair of matte gold croc skin ballerinas down to paper sole thickness. Yes, thats where practical comes into play. Ballerinas dont spread the weight around, but I can run to crack the minute mile if the need be in them.

Life was simpler when one was in college. One bought a single pair of shoes, from the sales at Linking road from money saved up from bus fare and tutions given, and then wore them with everything till they wore down to a nub. Got the heel redone everytime it threatened to fall off. Very often they fell off. But those were the days one walked. Really walked. And walked painfully on high heels. But soldiered on.

The shoes rarely wear out anymore, and one isnt content with just one pair. I guess that is the saddest comment one can make about oneself. I dont wear the shoe anymore. It wears me.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Chuck De!

  1. birdseyeview says:

    I’m impressed. My family calls me Imelda, and ever since I discovered the joys of internet shopping, my shoe fetish is outacontrol…Am wistfully contemplating the possibility of a house with a separate walk-in closet for shoes and bags…

    Like

  2. DotMom says:

    Fret not. I am forbiddden to by any more shoes by BigGeek 😦 He went ballistic when he put in all our statemnts into MSN Money and found I hade blown away a tidy sum at shoe stores. But what’s a girl gonna do when madden and nine west beckon, huh?

    Like

  3. Sue says:

    Did you ever watch ‘Remington Steele’? Laura used to wear rather chic stilletos and ran after the bad guys in them. Ran after them, jumped over fences, was very athletic.

    I wore the high heeled pumps from the play to the dinner afterwards and was glad to remove them halfway to the restaurant. I’m so relieved my knees are not allowed high heels! I love how they look but they are so uncomfortable!

    🙂

    Like

  4. chandni says:

    I completely understand…I love shoes too! perhaps in a way I’ve never loved clothes…

    But the last part had me smiling, about college time and wearing that one pair from linking road forever and every with everything…..I am still a lot like that!

    I love shoes and window shop all the time, but somehow buy one pair at a time…as in right now I have 2 casual flats, 3 heels in diff couours……keds and stuff….I mean to say, I won’t buy another pair of black heels till the current ones die

    🙂

    Like

  5. Kiran Manral says:

    Birdseyeview: Wait a bit. Post on the bags coming up. Strange, I get enough giraaks to pass on barely used bags, but shoes become a problem….a separate closet for shoes and bags? Do what we’re doing. Build in a cupboard in the balconies for the same. LOL. Enough said.

    Dotmom: Luckily the husband understands. Its me who keeps feeling guilty. He has an equivalent shoe collection too. He just bought himself a pair of obscenely expensive Nikes with some state of the art crap that costs more than four of my shoes put together.

    Sue: GAWD. She was my idol, I mean, I watched the damn serial for Pierce Brosnan and for Laura chasing goons in high heels and then wondered why I couldnt even catch the Churchgate local in them.

    Chandni: I know just what you mean. I do the same. I wont buy another similar pair till the first dies out. But then, so many shoes, so little time….

    Like

  6. Priyanka says:

    Know what you mean. Though in my case, it is so many shoes, so little time and so little money to buy more. Hubby has conspired with my mother to make sure that I don’t get any more shoes 😦 Envy you your partners-in-crime hubby. And envy you for wearing heels too. I can only wear heels to office, coz the six-inchers give me a good 2 inches over my hubby (who doesn’t mind). Alas, I do.
    Forget Imelda, had watched a tv show that showed Kimora Lee Simmons’ shoe collection. They have their own room, security, flattering focus lights and burglar alarm. Now, that would be ultra-cool. Wot say?

    Like

  7. childwoman says:

    You are an inspiration to me!! 😀

    Like

  8. "Sunshine" says:

    my my !! I have similar fetish for Clothes. And I dont count them; and not let anybody to do that 🙂
    Could not agree more on those college days. Even those olden days when one used to get repaired the torn chappals from local cobler.

    Like

  9. AA_Mom says:

    I had to delurk. Have come by this site a couple of times before. I heart Remington steele too. It was one of the serials I would eagerly wait to watch when in college. Was so surprised to know it was not popular here in the US.

    Like

Leave a Reply

