So how did we celebrate Valentine’s Day?

…When you have spent 18 years celebrating Valentine’s Day, the thought of celebrating the day itself becomes redundant. But here’s why I must get down on my knees and thank the powers that be for such a wonderful man by my side. Had to report in the morning for shoot mentioned in previous post. Naturally, infinite butterflies in the stomach of nauseatingly make hands and feet trembly, and mouth tongue tied variety, given that I am naturally a terrified and shy person. (Yes, yes, the bravado is all reserved for the blog). And add to this the fact, that I would be facing camera, after almost 15 years. I last read news for a channel called YES, that came and went like a blink, apart from anchoring some stray programmes that came on DD Metro through various production houses. Did the old dog still have it in her? Therefore I arm twisted the husband into accompanying me for much needed moral support. Which he did. Which meant getting up early, skipping gym, and eating a breakfast cooked hastily by me. What a horrible way to start the day. And then put all his work on hold to come with me to the studio. Sat on the sofa while I had hair and make up done, and reassured me I was looking fabulous, though I was acutely aware that things like undereye concealer was being slapped on with much more ferocity than I could remember from days gone past. And the hair dresser, poor child, was really struggling to get hair into some semblance of order from the birdsnest it was.

And once I was done, husband did not accompany me into the studio but stepped out to coordinate his work, and waited outside patiently till I was done. And went on to his meetings and the rest of his day, while I sashayed back home to be meet with a child who had raised hell and high water. The cold and fever that was running through my body for a couple of days took over and I crawled shivering into a blanket, and the husband came home after a really long day and took complete charge of the kid, while I slept it off.  And that is no mean task given the energy levels of said kid.

That was our Valentine’s Day. How could anyone not love a man like this?

And yes, some Escada happened too. Perfume and bath set.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to So how did we celebrate Valentine’s Day?

  1. Lively says:

    You went to the shooting with a running fever? Bravo! BTW howare you now? I’m sure it must’ve been a fabulous day for you, ofcourse tiresome. Hope n wish I would be able to catch the show while on air. Do post the date.
    🙂

    Like

  2. surabhi says:

    oh damn, i forgot about this blog and never checked it. hey, the best valentine post ever. too old for the gush and the mush, and this was….touching…beautiful.

    oh damn, here is one more blog to visit regularly. will i ever complete my work???

    Like

  3. sraikh says:

    I hope you are feeling better.
    We didnt do anything special as well.

    PS;Post a link when your show airs

    Like

  4. Raindreamer says:

    In a spinsterish way: shopping romantic novels from book sales.

    Like

  5. Raindreamer says:

    Sorry my mind was somewhere: you have a nice man.

    Like

  6. sushma says:

    touchwood and be happy always :). How are you feeling now?

    Like

  7. DotMom says:

    that’s what true love is, ain’t it. The Escada helps, no doubt 🙂
    can you tell us baout the show. I hate you are being so secretuve about it. come on now 😦

    Like

  8. dipali says:

    Dreamboat!

    Like

  9. Kiran Manral says:

    Lively: Will do so.

    surabhi: Just started one more blog. With a very optimistic premise. Need you to guest post. http://www.thestateofindia.wordpress.com.

    Sraikh: Better now. Will do so.

    Raindreamer: Thanks. Romantic novels are good. They dont give you grief over burnt omelettes.

    Sushma: Thanks. Back to work.

    Dotmom: Nothing great, just a panel discussion on reinvention of marriage, me being the only dissenting voice, am sure they will chop me out completely. Dont know the telecast dates yet, but will post them when I do.

    Dipali: Yup. Thats him.

    Like

  10. churningthewordmill says:

    i liked that post..:)
    “eating a breakfast cooked hastily by me. What a horrible way to start the day” had me in splits..im sure u mustnt be THAT bad a cook!
    im glad you had such a sweet V day..but how did the shoot finally go? hope the cold n fever is better
    mandira

    Like

  11. "Sunshine" says:

    Loved it 🙂 Rest all are marketing Gimmicks 🙂

    Like

  12. kiranmanral says:

    Mandira: All well now. Back to downing cold water by the bottlefulls.
    Trust me when I say I am. People sit down to a meal cooked by me with a bottle of Digene by their side.

    Sunshine: Oh,thankfully we did our romancing before Valentine’s Day marketing hyperventilated in this country…

    Like

  13. Will catch telecast, post a reminder again on the day in question PLEASE! You know I’m the most forgetful one around 🙂 .

    And that’s a lovely Valentine’s gift from your hubby – Escada and, more importantly, a full day of his time 🙂 . For the record, The Baby and I spent our V-day together, me nursing him through a fever!
    – Suki

    Like

Leave a Reply

