Sated and spent…

I mean that literally. Post the angst of the morning I needed some unwinding, and how. I mean, had I not unwinded, I would have unravelled and so much oil slick on the roads from dissolved fat would have caused a pile up a mile long. Anyway, expedientally, Inorbit has also decided to be on sale. Everything in it. From the Shoppers Stop and Lifestyle at either end, to everything in between. That includes Charles and Keith. And Guess. And Remanika. And Regal. And Catwalk. And Intouch. There were more too on sale. But, like the eyes of the alcoholic only seeks out liquor and wine shops, so do these contact lensed eyes only sift out the bag and shoe shops from the grist. Therefore I ran in, with full war paint, having escaped from hordes of violent adults masquerading as parents (more details on that horrific experience once I have recovered from the trauma), shiny sequined chiffon top already crumpled and crushed like I had been through a second class Mumbai local, my hair a total mess, my face punctuated with two stress induced frown lines. I emerged, a couple of hours later. Many thousands lighter. And stress relieved. Of course, the husband would rather I popped a Disprin. Or a Valium. Or whatever would be cheaper than this. A black patent leather in a soft finish, with metallic inserts from Esbeda. A handbag for my mother (I appreciate her more each day that I struggle being a mother). A brown and matt gold knit mock sweater top from FCUK. (Which incidentally wasnt on sale, but dont tell anyone that, except for the man who puts in the ticks and the crosses in my ledger of good and evil). Come on, I have a ladies lunch coming up next week. I need to look good. This not counting the many tops I already have which make me gorgeous already. A pair of divine gold and cream stilletoes from Charles and Keith which I will never be able to walk in, let alone run around in, and will probably have to be a Cleopatra and be carried around by slaves on a modern day palkhi should I ever deign to wear them. Some random toys for the kid. All educational. All which didnt excite him at all. A couple of Tshirts for the husband. To assuage guilt and feel Like A Very Generous Girl. And a handbag for the MIL.

Excuse me now while I bask in the glow of needless excessive shopping, before the cold light of morning and the credit card bill strikes.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sated and spent…

  1. Priyanka says:

    Wow! Thats a nice haul!
    Its so mouth-watering, and irresistible, is it not to walk by a store or a mall which is on sale? Was passing by Linking Road, then Lokhandwala and everything was on sale. Had to stop at Inorbit to satiate my retail-craving. Missed you there by a day.. Went shopping with the crazy Sunday crowd. Am sure that I will be able to recognise you from your blog pic. If not I will keep a lookout for a Tisca Chopra-lookalike 😉

    Like

  2. Kiran Manral says:

    Oh Priyanka, what would we do without shopping. BTW, I was there Sunday too. What to do, I live two minutes away. And no, the verdict is out. I am not a Tisca Chopra lookalike (much as I had always suspected. That day was a wierd day with two people stating it on an off chance). I am fat ugly doublechinned woman.

    Like

  3. DotMom says:

    Good kills! I HAVE to go to this inorbit mall when I come to mumbai. Dang. I need to but nice salwar kurtas and sarees and earrings. And some nice handbags and shoes and makeup. God I need to buy makeup. Tell me, does Revlon/CG make special shades for Indian skin?

    Like

  4. sraikh says:

    LOL Retail therapy is my favourite kind of therapy.
    I have been very good and staying away from shops..

    PS:Did your show air? Link? Uploaded to yourtube?

    Like

  5. Kiran Manral says:

    Dotmom: Of course they do. Come come, we will go shopping at inorbit together.

    Sraikh: I admire you. It aired. Cant upload it. Copyright issues.

    Like

  6. suhaani says:

    Hi Kiran,

    This is Monica. I stay in NOIDA !

    I really enjoyed reading about your shopping spree!

    I could relate to it so so much !! Shopping is such a stress buster ! And sales relieve us of the guilt of spending a lot little bit… Itz sometimes feels very nice to say that I bought this/that during the sales 😉 … even though it may be a mere 10% 🙂

    Sales are almost getting over now in Delhi !!

    I wanted to ask you something ! 🙂

    I bought a bag of brand Esbeda too last week !! But I have been wondering whether this is an India brand or an international one !! Searched a lot on Google but in vain ! Thought that, perhaps, you might have an idea about it!! Do you know which country this esbeda brand is from ?

    Thanks a lot !

    Cheers,
    Monica

    Like

  7. Kiran Manral says:

    Hi Monica: To the best of my knowledge esbeda is a homegrown Indian brand…but very well made, and cheap too!!! I have four esbeda bags that I use for daily routine and really illtreat them, and they survive.

    Like

    • Tash Pike says:

      Hi Kiran

      Do you by any chance know of a website or contact details for the manufactueres of Esbeda Bags?

      Kind Regards

      I dont. But I can pick up something the next I visit their store and mail it to you if you wish.

      Tash

      Like

  8. DotMom says:

    Dang. I totally need to take you up on that 🙂

    Like

  9. Kiran Manral says:

    Dotmom: Come, come. I need any excuse to go shopping. PAthetic aint I????

    Like

  10. suhaani says:

    Hi Kiran,

    Thanks for the info !!

    Sorry, I did not log on since long !

    Cheers,
    Monica

    Like

  11. silentoneinlondon says:

    Came to this post when i googled for esbada bags 🙂
    Can i please come shopping with you too ? I always am in real short supply of shopping companions when I come to bombay these days..
    Could do with some of these esbada bags, they sound good.. also the indian shades of revlon makeup..

    Like

  12. Naina says:

    Bad material and waste of money trust me.

    Like

  13. Satya Sarada Kandula says:

    You all must be so rich!!!

    How fine to be able to do stuff like that!

    Well I shall shop for my vegetables now. It looks so dull compared to the fab time you’ve had. Sigh! double sigh! Triple sigh with a few sad smileys. ;( 😦 😦

    Like

  14. Rains says:

    Hi to all you shoppaholics out there…I am quite obsessed with collecting hand bags and my latest obsession is to get hold of a designer replica (like LV, Gucci, Jimmy choo, Hermes). Of course getting hold of an original is a dream come true but lets face it, I would have to starve for god knows how long if I have to own one, so without much ado I did think of getting a replica which would not create as much damage in my bank account. I am looking for serious, like minded shoppaholics who are interested in getting one too for a nominal price from a genuine dealer in a bulk order (so you get better deals). I am looking for atleast 4 more individials who would be interested in the same, please let me know your email address and I shall message you. I am located in Bangalore India, and would prefer to see if there would be anyone interested from India who would want to get hold of a beautiful designer replica.

    Like

  15. IdeaSmith says:

    Hehehehe. I was looking up ‘Esbeda’ when I chanced upon this blog. Only to find you weren’t a stranger. Must, must, MUST go shopping together sometime.

    Like

  16. kim says:

    Just came back from mumbai,fond a lovely shopping mall next to a food store called in orbit?To make a long story short found esbeda and fell in purse heaven!!!!!!coming from vancouver ,bc in canadaI was pleased to see something I could not find in canada.Loved how everything was displayed.Your mall window displays says it all! No pressure sales staff,they know their product is well recieved.How about coming to canada?Loved your store!!!!!!Keep up the great designs,loved your beaded bags!!!

    Like

  17. Priyanka Tanwani says:

    Omg!!!! Iam d biggest esbeda person…. I hv like 6 esbedas…I love it… Yes it is an indian brand….

    Like

  18. Ravinder says:

    Hi…I’m from Vancouver, BC, Canada and when I was visiting India I got my ESBEDA wristlet bag from Chandigarh shopping district. I am happy with my purchase, and use it for parties.

    Like

Leave a Reply

