I shall put this to poll

Having realised that my head is either divesting itself of all its foliage, or turning the said foliage into varying shades of silver and grey, am now debating whether a sleek elfin crop might be just what I need. Anything to cut down periodic maintenance (involving dye brush and chemicals) and not need a comb run through it at regular intervals through the day. And anything that reduces shampooing and conditioning time to two seconds on the morning mayhem run. Yup, I’m a Porsche. I can go from zero to 100 in ten seconds. Two of which should include shampooing and conditioning the mane everyday. Makeup and combing happens in the car. Of course. The driver knows by now that he needs to warn me when approaching a speedbreaker or bear the consequences of eyeliner gone awry.

And since, as usual, I will debate this point with all friends and aquaintances in the real world until they take off their shoes and sprint the minute mile as they see me approaching, will put the proposal to my blogging pals. What say you, shall I visit a scissor happy stylist right now and get shorn?

The husband feels if I need to rid myself of the excess weight, it should be from the rest of the torso, and I am inclined to agree. But then, it is summer. And so damn humid. I wouldnt mind doing a Persis Khambatta had I been sure the scalp was a perfect round, with no ugly indentations.

For the moment, the thought new look is a Meg Ryan, When Harry Met Sally look with heavy duty highlighting in platinum. Radical from the existent superlong layers. 

Kindly do vote on this issue. Your vote counts. This is a just and worthy cause.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to I shall put this to poll

  1. Kiran Manral says:

    kbpm: Inadvertently hit delete on your comment instead of edit, when trying to respond. Please come back. Your vote taken as to chop it all off.

    Like

  2. Going by that header pic..you have lovely hair notwithstanding how much you have dissed it..if that is indeed the natural type of hair…you have the most low maintenance kind of hair! So no chop chop…
    And if its greying let it grey!!

    At this juncture will make the disclosure that I have nasty wavy frizzy hair full of split ends..so I keep it as short as my face can handle!! Needless to say I love long, straight, silky hair..sigh!

    Like

  3. Cee Kay says:

    I second KBPM. CIAO – Chop it all off!! From personal experience I am telling you – a short haircut (properly “executed”) even takes away 10 years from your age. And you can always grow it back if you don’t like the cut. I chopped off a good 6-7 inches from S’ locks and she looks her age (9 years) and not 11 or 12 as she earlier did.

    Right now I have hair reaching my shoulders (almost) – I haven’t had it this long in the last 8 years. And I HATE it! I look all of my 37 years and I can guarantee you, the moment I chop it off I’ll look 28 again. That’s where I am stuck mentally, anyway 😀

    Like

  4. Upsi says:

    Isn’t there a way you can see what your face would look like after the cut — computerized cropping and image fixing — you know what I mean?

    That said, I love your locks. From the few pics I have seen and ofcourse from the youtube fame.

    But I agree with CK on the age defying factor.

    OK, I am swaying here. Anyways, not sure how Ms. Dixit would look like in a crop.

    My vote – no.
    ==

    Like

  5. dipali says:

    As Ceekay says, you can always grow it back!
    A good short cut feels great.
    Try, and post the results:)

    Like

  6. Cee Kay says:

    @ Upsi: Oh, Ms. Dixit would look fabulous! I remember having seen her in such a cut once in a movie. (I hope we are talkig about the same Ms. Dixit :D)

    Like

  7. Sue says:

    Chop it all off. Cut it even shorter. Think Natalie Imbruglia in her first album.

    You’ll never grow it back, after all that freedom. I only did so for my wedding!

    Like

  8. d says:

    Hi Kiran – If you want to cut it all off just because you’re finding it a chore to get the highlights touched up from time to time – won’t you still have to do that even if you go for a short crop? and I don’t know about you but I find that hair does not grow back to the same thickness and length as quickly as it did before the ‘thirtysixandcounting’ phenomenon set in! so, unless your hair is showing signs of damage from the colouring, my vote : Don’t cut it short for now.

    Like

  9. kbpm says:

    no problem Kiran. I think I said let Bipasha Basu be our inspiration or something like that? 🙂

    Like

  10. Upsi says:

    CeeKay: you do? was racking my brains yesterday, but couldn’t come up with one where Ms.Dixit (yeah we are talking abt the same Ms.D) had crop cut.
    Now, Kajol, yes. But then she is not our Ms. Manral’s look alike.

    Oh well..was contemplating on a cut myself. A side swept bang, but I was born doomed with curly hairs. Nothing seem suit. At school, if someone lost the spring in their ball pen, they would ask for one strand of my hair.

    Like

  11. Moppet's Mom says:

    Ooh, cut it, do! Full fancy ishtyle!

    Like

  12. Average Jane says:

    Don’t ever ask for opinions, girl! Just go ahead and cut it if it will make you feel better..and that’s just mine!

    Like

  13. alka says:

    Chop it off. I had a full mane of great hair upto my waist 7 yrs ago, but the maintainnce was too time consuming. Chopped it off…first opted for a litle longer, upto the shoulders step cut and then graduated to a full short ishtyle. Love it. It’s hassle free and looks great too. So go ahead…..but beware…IMO, once you have it short, growing it back again is something very very difficult to do.

    You know alka, when I got married I had hair till my knees. When I realised that I was being brow beaten into living in salwar kameezes and sarees and looking like a total behenji, I went and chopped off my hair to my shoulders in protest. After that I have lived in jeans. And have exactly two salwar kameezes in my cupboard today. A haircut was truly liberating… and yes, it will grow back. Slowly and steadily.

    Like

  14. If your hair looks like it does in the header (which is gorgeous) – Don’t cut it. I cut my hair very short once and waited for more than a year for it grow back to a decent (a little below the shoulder)length.
    If you have to cut it short, maybe shorten it just a little…
    Hair needs maintenance at all lengths,short hair also requires maintenance, maybe a little lesser maintenance. You will still have to colour, condition and shampoo it.
    There is this site where you can upload a front facing, passport photo of yours and see how you will look in different hair styles. It’s a lot of fun,
    http://makeover.ivillage.com/makeover/index.jsp?fsessionid=emK3z5qWicr3oQIAoFWK%2FC%2BGH9ZjX7HaZQYtCfM6c4lzaXO8PBWriw%3D%3D

    My Vote : Easy to cut, takes ages to grow back. NO.

    Hey thanks for the link, but took the plunge. Its summer after all, and the shorter the better to manage….will grow it back over the rest of the year…

    Like

  15. 4lorac says:

    I wouldnt cut it, unless its what I really wanted….sure it grows back, but it take a long time…and the inbetween wait is forever(you know, when its to short fr one style and too long for another….)I color my hair…I am the blonde of youth…except I am in my 50’s!! I dont even know what color my hair is really, too scared to go natural! I love it though when someone says…is this your son, you look to young to have a kid this old…they are all in their 30’s!

    Like

  16. hey u looked great in the you tube video
    but nothing wrong in experimenting wih a few cuts and colors and highlights right!!

    Hey thanks. Now its shoulder length and pure black, all highlights gone. And simple. For a change.

    Like

  17. chandni says:

    oh totally!!!!

    Hair cuts make women like us happy…very happy!

    And a new look will do wonders, trust me!

    As I always say in case of hair…ghar ki kheti hai, will come back if you don’t like it much!

    Hope so. But I am quite liking it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

