The first casualty of my new found regimen

Them stilletoes. The loves of my life. Preciously hoarded and stacked in neat little cardboard boxes, in my cupboards, in my drawers, in shoe cabinets, in the old sideboard now relegated to the balcony. I now wear only ballerinas or trainers. Maxing the footsteps without the help of a pedometer. Am actually able to run down stairs. Had forgotten the feeling. The only drawback? I suddenly feel like the five foot three inch pygmy I am, with the rest of the world towering over me. Stilletoes add height. And distribute weight. I am now short, stocky and short tempered.

There was something about wearing them high heels that gave me a sense of being feminine, and attractive and desirable. With them flats, I feel I should cut my hair at the local barbers and put on the husband’s striped shirts. But then, that isnt what I am aiming at. I take hope from these little girls fresh in college flitting all over the place in skin tight denims, and barely there tops, and ballerinas, looking like they might just blow away in the wind. No danger of that here, unless Grade A level tropical storm winds happen, even then, the tree next to me might just cling onto me for grounding. But they reassure me that flats look nice. They can look feminine, and they can look graceful. All I need to do is to ensure I dont clomp along with that ungainly gait which comes from being elephantine and closer to the earth.

And I know this is just a temporary sacrifice. My varicose veins in the making might thank me for it. I will get back on them the moment I have attained curvature rivalling Jessica Rabbits. No, no, will never be a Kate Moss, and the husband thanks the Lord for that. I have no illusions about self. As I once said, Nigella Lawson is my idol. Now if only I could cook more than tea and omelettes.

The silver lining on this stocky cloud? I can go shop for more ballerinas and slip ons and trainers. Dont have any trainers. My last pair was gifted in largesse to niece who was down and managed to misplace her shoes in transit. Lovely pair, pink Reebok. Now will go shoe shopping again. Summer sales anywhere, let me leaf through the newspapers. Charles and Keith, Catwalk, Mochi, Voir and Blay, Nike, Reebok, Puma, strange names I never ever looked at before, I stand ready to explore what you have to offer me. Now if only I could get a babysitter for the brat. The bliss, the bliss.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The first casualty of my new found regimen

  1. oh i know how downtrodden it feels if u r in flats.. inspite of my 5 foot 5 plus I feel so!!!

    Like

  2. childwoman says:

    i love nigella…she is so sexy and so not thin…

    Like

  3. sraikh says:

    Concentrate on the sliver lining. New shoes..I need to replace my 2 year Sketchers as well. hmm,time to go shopping.

    PS:I wrote a post abt my weight issues and linked you 🙂

    Like

  4. I wish I could walk comfortably in high heels, I wobble and give up pronto. The only time I ever suffer high heels is for formal parties, and even then I take them off on the way home…

    Like

  5. booboosmamma says:

    I gave up high heels for the last 3 years (the moment i found out we are pregnant). And nigella is sexy.

    Like

  6. Madhu says:

    You know what, I have always believed in comfort over style (translate to being frumpy)! But Singapore’s fully of yummy mummies towering in their six-inch jimmy choos and birkin bags. Its like an epidemic! I try, occasionally, to trade in my flats for a relatively comfortable pair of open-toe slingbacks. And surely its a different feeling being elevated a few inches above the ground – and the foot massages that you “have to have” for those aching heels are a good reason to wear them.

    Like

  7. Cee Kay says:

    You asking me? Well, you are asking the wrong person 😛

    Like

  8. Kiran Manral says:

    ITW: 5ft5 and you have issues with flats, can you imagine me?

    Childwoman: She really is, isnt she?

    Sraikh: I admire you. Really.

    Indianhomemaker: Practice practice, and a comfortable arch. But if its not you, dont bother. I live in heels.

    Booboosmama: I didnt wear heels from the time I conceived till the time the brat was two years old. I honestly never felt frumpier. Yes, isnt she. Her’s is the shape I aim towards.

    Madhu: Hey Madhu, good to see you here. I swear, these yummy mummies really make one feel all at odds. Have them here too, the Lokhanwala mummies to be specific. Personal gymsn and personal trainers, rocks the size of eyeballs, every possible procedure done to self…and their louboutins and choos. I unfortunately have a solitary pair of choos that I wrap and clean regularly but dont dare air too much. But, I love wearing a good pair of stilletoes. It just dresses you up like nothing else can. And even makes your walk different. I guess, after so many years, have got used to them, and the feet dont ache. The mother’s theory is that if you wear heels at least thrice a week, the stomach stays taut and pulled in, and am inclined to believe her.

    CeeKay: Lol.

    Like

  9. Priyanka says:

    Which celebrity was it who said that she walked around the house the whole time wearing stilletoes to give her gams a workout??? Strange, but it never seemed to work for me! Gams or otherwise!!
    Psst.. Kiran, the ballerinas help during shopping. Coz you never tire coz of tired feet!!! 🙂

    Like

  10. Kiran Manral says:

    Priyanka: It really works. Though running after brats will stilletoes in the house is really not a good idea.
    I know. Am down to the soles of my feet now.

    Like

  11. Impedimenta says:

    Hello Kiran, delurking for the first time here.Please remind me never to visit Lokhanwala, if I ever land in Mumbai.These Japanese mums drive me to depression, as it is…there is NOT ONE frumpy overweight Japanese mum across the whole country!I just pretend I’m a highbrow babywearing earth mother…

    Like

  12. Kiran Manral says:

    Impedimenta: Welcome. LOL. Thats our only hope isnt there, slay them with our brains. Like the husband says, you cant mentally undress a good brain…

    Like

Leave a Reply

