The sun on my skin

..is not a nice feeling. I know, I know, all ye living in climes where the sun is a luxury will want to take out a well heeled shoe and chuck it in my general direction. For which I will duck right now. And re emerge to reiterate my statement.

Yes, I hate the sun. Give the sun two months of summer, and it makes me brown as a cocoa seed. No, was never blessed with a glowing clear complexion to start with. At any given point, there are twin armies of pimples waging war on either side of my face, with some migrating to higher climes like the forehead, optimistic of more space to spread. Summer makes it worse. And now, with the wonderful full West facing new home, with full glass french windows in every room, we’re baking to brick every afternoon. Even with the curtains and the shades drawn. Anyone who sees us, the members of the family, these days has a topic to open the conversation with, which generally revolves around how dark we’ve all become and how we should use haldi and malai and besan to clear the melanin on overdrive. To which I chortle inwardly at the vision of macho man husband sitting on tiny bathstool and doing the haldi malai besan uptan routine everyday.

Have got down to putting sunblock on my skin even if I am going to be at home. It doesnt work though. Now I know the truth of the maxim, beware of what you want, you might get it. This in view of the fact, that I always lusted after open to the sea homes. After polishing the brassware one gadzillion times and then throwing my hands up and letting them rust into green oxidation, I know now the perils of such a home. The brassware will now get packed away into the loft, and options for decorating the said premises will sought. Wood I think, and porcelain, will not react with the sea air and remain pristine. I hope. When the skin is mottling into an unsightly brown, what guarantee of the poor artefact staying unaffected.

Right now, apart from sitting in the house ducked under an umbrella and slathering on the sunblock, my options are limited. a) I can sit the entire day in the bathroom, which is east facing. b) I can go brown with pride, and see my skin burn to a crisp (I must insert here, that I have no issues with the brown as much as I have with the burnt up look which adds on the wrinkles) or c) I can have chiks installed on every balcony. Point c seems to be the most logical answer considering that the double layers of thick curtains we have are doing nothing to keep those really angry sunrays at bay. Or failing all these, can walk around in the house holding an umbrella open all day.

In the meanwhile, apart from haldi, malai, besan, is there a shorter and quicker route to get rid of this patchy tan? Or do I just put up deck chairs on the balconies and baste myself to chocolate brown? And then wear silver and gold and call this the beach goddess look? On me, twill look like the traffic signal bhikari look.  

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The sun on my skin

  1. i hav stopped using sunscreens- all of them smell so bad…
    an umbrella is better.

    Like

  2. ~nm says:

    Try using the Himalaya walnut scrub! Its just magical!! At least it seemed so on me 😛

    Like

  3. booboosmamma says:

    “look like the traffic signal bhikari look”, very funny…..I know how difficult it gets in the heat, i survived hyd heat….

    Like

  4. Madhu says:

    umm…ghoonghat? 😉

    addition to haldi besan…some tamatar ka ras. good for clearing tan.
    to put on face..that is.

    Like

  5. GG says:

    I’ve been told Lemon Juice and Tomato Juice help with reducing a tan (I think the acid in them gently bleaches the skin). Maybe a tad faster than the besan haldi malai routine – but its on the same lines, no?

    Like

  6. alka says:

    Kiran, try using Lakme skin brightening gel. I’ve heard good things about it but haven’t tried it myself. Another product I’m looking forward to trying after my summer beach vacation is the Olay White Radiance Whitening cream with SPF24.

    It’s available in most stores that stock Olay or online at http://www.violica.com/white-radiance-intensive-cream-with-olay-p-2392.html?osCsid=ebd8f378fd4b917f2415088239b4080d

    Though I uses lots of sunscreen while on vacation, I still end up dark and tanned. My driver comments “Vahan jaa ke toh log gore ho ke aate hain, aap kale kaise ho jaate ho?” LOL!!

    Like

  7. booboosmamma says:

    Kiran i could not congratulate you on karmick kids for Krish’s promotion to next grade. Congratulations to you and krish.

    Like

  8. Kiran Manral says:

    ITW: Yup. An umbrella is the best.

    Alka: I will. right now am getting into home remedies totally. Products will hoard by the stock pile…right now am doing tamatar ka raas, and milk and besan haldi. Am still charcoal.

    booboosmamma: Thanks J, a lot of people have been complaining that they cant comment on the blogspot blog….must check it out.

    Like

  9. Madhu says:

    blogger ate my comment!

    Like

  10. Madhu says:

    i mean…wordpress..

    Like

  11. B says:

    I read in one of your early posts that you use lacto calamine..From my personal experience, lacto calamine used to make me get pimples and make my skin look like charred..
    try reduce using it in summer and see what happens..

    Like

  12. kiran Manral says:

    Okay folks, thanks all those who have written in, but some freak of computer is not letting me either moderate your comments, or log in to my home page….

    Ah woe is me. You guys just have to wait for the update of my weightwatching efforts….

    Like

  13. The TAAMommy says:

    Have you thought of getting the brass lacquered. it doesnt cost much and the shine always comes through. We lacquered our brass lamps of 5 feet each 3 years back and is still shining. Never wiped it !!

    Like

  14. childwoman says:

    Aloe vera is good too. cools the skin. Also rose water, glycerine. Besan and milk is the best for the skin. after a while it will glow…I have heard papaya pack and yogurt pack is good too. Well, papayas are anyways good for the body, will cleanse your system.

    Like

  15. Madhu says:

    Now i know what caused Gauri Khan’s “silver dress and sickly bronzed skin” disaster! No chiks at home! 🙂

    Like

  16. Kiran Manral says:

    B: Actually I had stopped using Lacto Calamine and switched to Neutrogena sunblock. Now have gone back to good old lacto and am looking a little human again…

    TAAs Mom: Yup, good idea. Had thought about it and forgotten all, will enquire where I can get these lacquered out here.

    Tara: Thanks. Will break off the MILs Aloe Vera with full glee and apply to skin. Am using yoghurt with haldi and besan. Seems to be working right now.

    MAdhu: Yup, no chiks in Mannat. Also full west facing…LOL.

    Like

  17. well am a boy ! says:

    am a boy and this will be very awkward here between ladies talking about beautification and brown skin ! well ..!!

    1)I am a volleyball player and we play volleyball at college daily
    2)After playing ..in the mid summer day when i come back and see my face ..i feel like oh ! my God ..not only me many of us ..so we all engineers came up with ..chemical formula which includes

    Curd+Honey+Lemon+two drops of Hydroquinone and apply it on the face ..you can you Hydroquinone on alternate days ..

    after doing this for a month ..we are not getting tanned and even after staying in sun for two to three hours continuously..

    I must try this, and report back… thanks for the tip.

    Well try it if it works just let me know ..we’ll patent it 😛

    Bye
    Boys are Boys

    Like

Leave a Reply

