A great find may not always be what you think it is

So there was I, at this brilliant store just off the Mega Mall inroad near Oshiwara, called Cool Clothing Company. And cool it was. Anyone wanting your daily dose of Zara’s and Nexts and such like at rock bottom (and I mean rock bottom) prices, get your butts there right now or regret.

I picked up some lovely Nautica shirts from the brat, some Next tshirts also for the brat, and some trousers of indeterminate brand, and deciding I had spare cash left over, decided to splurge on self like any self respecting shopaholic would. Bags, beautifully shiny, sober, funky, hung like the temptations of Satan, on hooks right in front of a beguiling mirror. One a Promod original in pure brown leather for Rs 2000. But I desisted, I thought, (yes, go on, laugh all you like) that I already had too many bags and what would I do with one more. Am still slapping my forehead in regret. Slapping is a polite term. Blood is being drawn.

Anyway, to come back to the moment, I am at this great store, I find a couple of tshirts, that the kind salesgirls who are all a minus one size tell me they have in XL, and wait they will dig them out from the bottom of the stash, since they dont normally get such huge customers (now that was the implied unstated statement one derived from their hunt for the XL sizes). So while they dig around, I leaf around and find a beautiful pista green and white polkadotted top, with a belted waist and a broad collar. I pick it up, I love it, I hold it against me, I look at the tag, it says H&M, I see the price, I love it more. I run screaming to the cashier to pay for it and take it home.

I keep it safe in the cupboard with stash I keep concealed until I take them out one at a time, to prevent volcanic eruptions on part of husband who really cannot understand why I need two thousand tops and one million shoes, not to mention the bags. These men, I tell you, they dont have a clue. I’m sure you girls understand.
So I took it out yesterday. To wear it, and slipped into it, it felt great and fitted beautifully. I revelled in it. The feeling of wearing something new and fabulous always does great things to self and ego, and one floats around feeling like the bees unvaricosed knees.

The day went great.

And then I took it off when I reached home and some wicked fluke of fate made me look at the label again. You know, the look when you sort of double check something because you cant believe how lucky you are to have found something in your size at first glance. I speak from bitter experience now, dont ever do that. Delight in your find.

H&M maternity. That is what I saw on the label. You could have pricked me with a pin, only I wouldnt deflate as easily as implied balloon.

Yes, I really need to get my eyes checked. And learn that Iย need to exercise restraint while picking up clothes on impulse, apart from the other exercising that I need to step up on.

Maternity??? Am sobbing my eyes out.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A great find may not always be what you think it is

  1. ~nm says:

    HAHAHAHA!! Now that was way too funny!

    Oops..Sorry..I realise that you were looking for some sympathy here. OK I will give you one incident which will make you sigh in relief…areal big sigh!

    My sister sent me 2 maternity pants last year from US which she bought during sale at VERY GOOD prices saying these will come handy during your second pregnancy! they have been lying packed in their original bags till now. But I guess with my bulging not-pregnant belly, I guess I can use them jut like that! There is no need to wait to get pregnant to wear those pants! ๐Ÿ˜›

    So how light are you feeling now? I’m sure so light that one whiff of wind and you will be floating in the air ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  2. chandni says:

    oh ho!

    I sooooooo know the feeling…but but but…its a nice top right? It fits well? The day went great….its all worth it then. Even the label ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  3. Poppins says:

    Uh Oh ๐Ÿ™‚ I feel weird shopping for maternity clothing myself ๐Ÿ™‚ On the brighter side, if it fits and it’s great who cares?

    I’m seriously wishing I could see your collection of bags and tops and shoes. I’m like the laziest person when it comes to shopping, i’ve had only one leather bag (brand unknown) that I’ve had for the last three years that I use for everything. I know, shame on me !

    Like

  4. Maybe that was the top for someone 3 months preggie huh??

    If it fits then who cares!!

    Like

  5. Maggie says:

    LOL! But really, like Poppins says, if it fits and looks good, who cares? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. booboosmamma says:

    Aaawwwwwwww kiranโ€ฆ.dont worry, whatever fits and looks good what if itโ€™s the maternity dress. My son is already 2 years and many times I get this question from total strangers, “mommy are you pregnant again?”, I donโ€™t blame them if you see me thatโ€™s the same question will come into your mind.
    “Comments for your baby blog”
    Kiran, thanks for appreciating mothers who juggle between work and home. It truly means a lot. All I hear is how heartless I am to leave kids with strangers and I care more about money than my kids. Well its not that I give a rat’s arse to what people think but a little appreciation goes a long way.
    And the list you put their I donโ€™t do a thing out of it except the diaper bag where I have diapers, wipes, water, milk, cookies and may be some wipes.

    Like

  7. chandni says:

    plus when someone admires it, you can say its the new H &M line for young people!

    ๐Ÿ˜€

    btw I hoarded H & M clothes when I was in the US! Love them ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  8. sraikh says:

    Okay that was funny. I would just cut off the tag and pretend its everyday wear!

    Like

  9. I’ll agree with Sraikh. ๐Ÿ˜€
    In fact include a rant against clothing manufacturers for good measure. You can’t be “maternity”!!!

    And well… in a land where I, at 5 feet and 50 kilos am an XL – I reckon things are screwed.
    What exactly are we supposed to be, eh? Midgety Sticks? Not even Barbie’s boobs would fit into the “L” sizes, I kid you not.

    Like

  10. DotMom says:

    don’t kill me. but i have to laugh. everybody at work is wondering where the muffled chuckles ar coming from!!!! Awwww poor poor you. Just cut out the label I say. I did that once too with pants. they fit me perfectly it was only when I was paying for them I realised they were mommy-to-be pants.

    Like

  11. dipali says:

    Exactly. Unless of course you decide to go in for baby no.2, in which case you can enjoy the label too.

    As they say in punjabi- oye, kee phark paindaa?

    Like

  12. alka says:

    Don’t worry about it. I agree with theradicalancient. The XL ones are so so small, I sometimes wonder how they expect my 5’7.5” frame with a weight to match it and a lil more, to survive in this country. I’m sure the maternity one must’ve been for someone planning to get pregnant. LOL!!

    Like

  13. ROFL!!!

    A good 10 months after having a baby, I am still in meternity pants. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Like

  14. Must have been maternity wear for the extra petite ๐Ÿ™‚ If it looks good and fits well, I’d say just turn a blind eye to the label ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  15. kiranmanral says:

    @all: well nothing really damaged except the ego, as I say. And yes, as long as it looks good who cares. Sensible.

    I think I should migrate to kaftans now. Have already morphed into the aunty in a kurti.

    Like

  16. its okay. join the gang. i still keep my maternity pants because i am sure i look better in them than regular clothes!

    Like

  17. Kiran Manral says:

    MM: Am now zen about it. I even went out and bought me some kurtis. In XXL.

    Like

  18. nandita says:

    This surely seems worth a visit, will keep my eyes open when I’m around that area ๐Ÿ™‚
    My first time over at your blog and loving it…esp coz I got this fab tip from someone in my city ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

