Awalking we will go.

There was I, walking to the song in my head, at a steady pace and rhythm, acutely conscious of belly jiggle and lung area extra bounce brought on by the pulls of gravity and such unpleasant things, not fit for display on a public platform.

The wind in my hair, and in my ears and eyes. The smell of the nearby creek flitting into my nose, and digging little holes into my brain. This is my routine every alternate day. Every alternate evening to be precise. The days I cant get the butt into the garden, I do my walking in the house. Am sure the false ceiling of the home below ours is flaking and falling on the hapless inmates.

Keep walking, keep walking, feel those thighs tightening. Feel those hips melting.

So I kept walking. Fifteen minutes. Half and hour. Forty five minutes. One hour.

And then ran right home and wolfed down KFC.

Yup, yup, deep batter fried chicken from the land of the lard.

God forgive me.

After all, there has to be some balance to life.

But having said that, I have been a good girl. I have cut out dinner. I have reduced sugar in tea and such unnecessaries. I have begun eating on a smaller plate, therefore smaller portions. I dont eat and read anymore. Therefore no mindless eating. No snacking on the occasional namkeen. Get thee behind me Haldirams. I am sacrificing my morning chai pao. I am renewing my passing acquaintance with fruits and salads, without the delight of dressing to make them more palatable.

And what is the weighing scale showing? Honestly, I dont really know. Havent got round to getting that damn scale down. Or is it that I dont dare bring it down, am really a cowardly custard unable to face the truth.

But I know my efforts are bearing fruit. The mother saw me the other day, and gasped in horror. Have you gone to the doctor, she asked, all aflutter with worry. Your face is looking haggard.

Thank you, thank you. Bring those butter laden croissants on.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Awalking we will go.

  1. YAY!
    But haggard is not good. You ARE eating, I hope? Healthy food – as in veggies and fruits on top of the butter croissants?

    If only I had such resolve for my eggjams 😦 .
    Ah well, am breathing better, have better lats and less angst. Better than a 65 instead of 60 on eggjams, no?

    Like

  2. Cee Kay says:

    Hey, just popped in to say “Way to go!”

    And also – DO NOT cut out on dinner. Just eat smaller portions like you are doing with other meals. More fiber and protein and less carbs. Eat your dinner befoore 7 or 7:30 and don’t eat anything after that.

    But agian – YAY!!

    Like

  3. YAY! I second Cee Kay – don’t skip dinner. Studies show that when you skip a major meal, you are at a risk for a binging afterwards. Just eat a balanced meal – an occasional croissant won’t harm either.

    Like

  4. Priyanka says:

    Oh, I agree with Cee Kay! Skipping dinner is so not the way down the weight-loss road. But keeping a balanced diet is more tougher than it sounds, na. Keep it up, Kiran. A occasional lapse is ok, right?

    Like

  5. childwoman says:

    hey kiran!! you go girl!! like all of them say here, dont skip dinner, have a small meal. And have it at least 3hrs before you sleep. Try avoiding carb for dinner. They straight go for the waistline! And keep walking, egyptian…:)

    Like

  6. Kiran Manral says:

    Suki: If I spill all over the floor out of the jeans, the mother will still find me haggard. I have that kind of cheating face, you know, skinny face, big base.

    Ceekay: I have some fruit or salad. Thats it. Or milk. Dont even feel hungry these days, its too hot.

    MysticM: No yaar, am quite disciplined, despite the kidding around I do on the blog… I skip dinner, because am actually never hungry enough to justify eating. Might have some fruit or milk before turning in.

    Priyanka: Yup, the occasional lapse I can forgive myself, its when the lapse gets more than occasional that I get terrified.

    childwoman: Tara, I eat adequately through the day, and dont even feel hungry at night. Avoiding carbs anyway…

    Like

  7. sraikh says:

    woohoo.
    I’m sure when and if you bring down the scale, you will post a loss 🙂

    What kind of music do you listen to while walking? Just wondering….am getting bored of my playlists

    Like

  8. kiranmanral says:

    sraikh: I hope so too! How’s yours going, anything less anywhere. I am relying on the measuring tape rather than the weighing scale.

    And darling, thought you knew me by now. Do you think I would waste me time by listening to music? No….I gossip with friends on the phone….nonstop. And if I have no one free to goss with me while I walk like a maniac, I ambush some hapless co walker and insist on boring them with my pearls of wit.

    Like

  9. sraikh says:

    LOL
    I was talking to my sis while walking and found it too boring. I needed the music to keep me entertained.

    I did a weight loss update on my blog.
    15 lbs loss, but see I was the elephantine you were talking about.
    I am huge compared to tiny Indian ladies. Heck my shoe size is US 10..:) Oh talking abt shoes, I found a pair of Nike Air slip ons for $20 and they were in my size. SO happy I was

    Like

  10. Kiran Manral says:

    Sraikh: My time walking is the only me time I get to have long conversations with my girl friends which dont need to be censored. Remember I live in a joint family, therefore I make full use of it…
    Saw your blog, and girl you rock, sraikh. Am humbled and shamed at my miniscule centimeters off.

    Enjoy those Nike Air slip ons, you deserve them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

