Mega Mall shopping sans the crowds

So there was I, with similiar shopping fetish friend with me for company, at this new mall, at Oshiwara in Andheri. On the link road. Opposite Oshiwara Bus Depot. On a triangular shaped plot. To your right if you’re coming down from Malad and to your left if you’re coming down from Bandra. Yes, yes, thats how badly I want you to go there, you better take down the instructions to reach there in triplicate or safer still take a printout of this post.

I have been there before, with the child and the mother in law, which as anyone with a child and a mother in law will tell you is the worst possible combination to take shopping with you because you end up running around behind the child, if your child is the normal child sort who runs away unfettered when confronted with huge expanses of space, and is not the kind of child who will hold on to hand proferred to be held and your mother in law is the normal sort of mother in law who wants to search for sarees in ‘sober’ colours in GAS and BHS.

Therefore, the first time round was nothing to write home about. Given that I spent all my time there running at warp speed around its triangular expanse, preventing the child from trying to climb down the escalator and such earth shattering escapades, I barely got a look see into the shops lined up beckoning seductively for my cash and my credit card.

This time it was different. For one, I had a companion who like me was as likely to rip my hair out if we both got fixated on a single top of which the last piece in size XL was available. That spiced up things a bit. And secondly, we actually got a chance to look into the shops and try and find such a blouse to fight over.

The brands there are to kill for. SOlivier, GAS, Sepia, TresMode, Bhs, Levis (Which is incidentally on 50 per cent sale, which had my eyes out on stalks but unfortunately, I refused to try in public situation without sympathetic and tolerant husband around to bear my endless saga of never finding the right fit, but get your butt there now if you want some), OYO for them kids, Adams Kids, Pumpkin Patch, also for them kids, Spykar for the teen segment, Provogue, Pantaloons (not much a fan of the two latter ones), Chemistry and many more. Names escape me at the moment. Obviously the memory is going the way of dotage and senility with far greater rapidity than I had envisaged when I recently bought myself a bright red shirt.

What I did love about this place the absolute and total best? The huge space, and the lack of crowd. Inorbit on a weekend is like battling to get into the second class compartment of a local train. And Infinity Mall is no better. The elbows get put to good use to propel yourself through the crowd. Here I could actually see the next tile on the floor before me while I walked. And the stores were so starved of customers that salesmen did cartwheels when we entered and played fetch like panting little puppies as per our whims and fancies. Unlike busier stores where salespeople have been known to snarl at one should one dare interrupt them from their nose cleaning sessions to enquire if they have a similar piece in sizes not meant for Barbie dolls. Read the sales staff at Sheetal in Inorbit. And sales staff at Remanika also in Inorbit. Or maybe one did not look either the weighed down with zari customer potentiate for the first, or the anorexic teeny bopper requisite for the second and therefore not worthy of their time and money.

Anyway, here at every store the red carpet was rolled out, with mandatory rose petals sprinkled with our every step, and such like stuff that could become a bad habit and spoil you for when you go regular shopping and need to push through crowds and plead with sales staff to deign to get you sizes you need.

And the crowds in this mall seemed the sort who were likely to say excuse me, if they needed to get past you. Unlike interesting episodes at Inorbit where have been shoved aside ruthlessly by mammoth plastic chappal clad dowagers intent on getting to the food court. And shoving me aside is not a task for the faint hearted, rest assured. Much muscle power and energy needs to be expended for said purpose.

Alas, not much shopping happened. Feasted our eyes on the delectables on display, and then sashayed our mammoth butts across the road to the CCC across the road and went mad over Promod and Zara at throwaway prices.

 

 

 

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mega Mall shopping sans the crowds

  1. NainaAshley says:

    Can count on you to find the best places to shop. I need to shop at such places(less crowded and not exhorbitant). I’ll definitely ask for your suggestions when I visit b’bay around Diwali time this year.

    Like

  2. sraikh says:

    Okay now tell me where can I find such shopping places in Delhi?

    Like

  3. chandni says:

    you really have some capacity to shop Kiran!!!

    Like

  4. d says:

    wow! You are an inspiration. Must get my “mammoth butt” over to Odel this week and indulge!

    Like

  5. Priyanka says:

    Wow! Haven’t been there coz, like you said, of the damned crowd. Hmm.. will def have to visit now. And now hubby can’t crib about the crowd!!
    Btw, CCC?? I don’t know this place! Zara, at throwaway prices, really??

    Like

  6. LOL What fun to shop with friends who are ‘likely to rip my hair out if we both got fixated on a single top’:)ROTFL

    Like

Leave a Reply

