Random notes on a Monday morning

Wide legs are in, wide legs are in. Yes, all ye with milk bottle ankles rejoice, wide legs are in. Which also means the La Guitterra amongst us all can look like chunks of flesh from head to toe with no features of redemption absolutely.

Which also brings me to the pressing question of what one can do with the shelves of skinny fits and boot cuts one has lining the cupboard?

Visiting the new Oberoi Mall in Goregaon East over the weekend one realised that everything in the shops is meant for a different sensibility. A sensibility that is comfortable with armholes that a lung could fall out of, if untethered and a neck line that probably reaches the navel by conservative estimates. Layering is what these have to be worn with, the nice and helpful sales assistants tell me, but layered in Mumbai would make me a sweat stink bomb so am not even going that route. Give me my loose cotton shirts and tunics, and cotton tees anyday. In the singular. I am the sort who agonised even on the wearing of a slip under skirts, therefore layering is totally unthinkable. Anyway, should I layer up, will probably need an army of assistants to clear space for me to proceed in a crowded public place situation.

That apart, this is the mall I now plan to take my tent and sleeping bag to in the near future given that it has such an orgy of brands that I love–Guess, Tommy Hilfiger, Replay, edc, Next, The Body Shop, Esprit, Esbeda, Sheetal, Sepia, Ritu Kumar, Debenhams, People and some more with a Central and a Lifestyle thrown in for added choice. If you visit and see a fat lady running around at top speed with more bags than her weight cubed, and a frazzled look, do say hello.

I am pleased to note jeans that hitherto stayed stubbornly at my thighs have now proceeded up them hips and condescended to be buttoned up. Pre pregnancy jeans. Non lycra jeans. Am getting ambitious and hunting through the mother’s stash to see if any from my college days have survived. That will bring the helium balloon head to a burst.

Actually spent the evening yesterday running behind the child on the cycle given that cars coming into the compound dont seem to have the good sense to slow themselves. Best cardio I have ever done in a long long long while.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Random notes on a Monday morning

  1. Yay!! Lady K! Fitting into pre-pregnancy jeans! That’s way too cool. Wonderful that you stuck to your regiment and toned up – I wish I had your grit and determination.

    Like

  2. Suki says:

    Congratulations! Wheeee!

    Like

  3. Ooops! typo alert – meant to say regimen and not implying you joined the army! LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

