And so early morning yoga begins…

On crisp green lawns. At 5.45 am. Four women of varying shapes gathered and spread out their yoga mats and looked expectantly at the font of wisdom. A couple let out involuntary yawns. The yoga teacher was calm and composed and used to dealing with yawns and creaky morning joints. There was, unfortunately, no can of oil handy to oil them creaking tin plates. I had done some ten minutes of walking so them joints werent about to embarass me I thought. But I was wrong. Ten minutes of some knee bending, and I could have given a junked car a run for its rust.

Yup, sporadic walking was doing nothing for them spare tyres which were inviting family and friends to join the gathering, therefore this extra initiative. I was also tired of patting my thighs centimetre by centimetre into my jeans.

Breathe in, breathe out. Inhale exhale. Hum the Aum. Feel it coming from within you. Five minutes of Aum chanting and I was ready to lie down on my mat and doze off to sleep. But the knowledge that I had an image to protect kept me going. Specially the fact that from the corner of my eye, I could see the curious husband who had pretend grunted when I left, telling him I was off for yoga class, standing in our bedroom balcony watching us, eyes peeled, all ready to give me a blow by blow critique of where I was going wrong.

So I struggled and creaked and squeaked, and felt muscles I never knew I had give way and hand in their resignation letters with immediate effect. And emerged from the session, strangely enough, raring to go. And not all sweaty and exhausted and ready to collapse like them gym sessions had left me in the days of yore when I would go to gyms and work out.

And the best part about the morning. Yoga instructor asks us all what our reasons are for joining up. She asks two in the group, “You are here for weight reduction?” If looks could kill, she would have been swinging from a tree. And then comes my turn, I quail and wilt under her benevolent gaze. “So,” she beams, “you are here for general fitness?”

If I could, I would have bounded up from lotus position and smothered her with joyous hugs, but I remained the picture of dignified calm. “Yes,” I replied. “Am here for general fitness.”

I did the victory dance in the elevator back home.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to And so early morning yoga begins…

  1. Abha says:

    i bow to thee Kiran!

    545am!! one week of lack of “enough” shut-eye and i fall ill!! 😦

    you go woman!! i again did my sporadic 25mins of stretching today and realised few more of my joints dont belive in bending to my whims and felt terribly ashamed!

    hope to be more regular now!!

    LOVED the post! like always!

    cheers!

    Like

  2. childwoman says:

    πŸ˜€

    Like

  3. Priyanka says:

    Aha!! One more joins the you-so-aren’t-fat-Kiran brigade!
    Hate to say this, but we all told you so whenever you posted pics.
    πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. dipali says:

    Now you believe us?
    Such thrills.
    Someone please grease all my achy creaky joints(:

    Like

  5. Pah you are such a drama queen..reading you without the pinch of salt I think, I’d have pegged you at some 100 kgs.

    Like

  6. Shilpa says:

    Did we all not say so?
    I feel good when people say that to me too!

    Like

  7. M says:

    Hah! Sounds like time for a collective we-told-you-so! πŸ™‚

    But 5:45 AM? AM? Gah! 6:30 is bad enough, thank you!

    M

    Like

  8. GG says:

    You will love it Kiran! I miss yoga – I tried the prenatal tapes but they kicked my butt.

    Like

  9. General Fitness it is … my reason for my future yoga class … have been putting off going to yoga since the day the instructor asked me the reason for joining (over the phone … not sure she would ASK me if she saw me)

    Like

  10. Veena says:

    I am not able to post comments on your mumbai helps blog, so writing here.

    It’s an amazing initiative! Good luck in this venture. I am not in Mumbai, so is there any other way I can help?

    Veena

    Like

  11. Neha says:

    Hi Kiran,

    I visited the mumbaihelps website and I really really appreciate the effort. Infact, it is the perfect way for all of us to channelize our efforts the right way. I saw the website and for the first time in days, felt like a bit of sanity lives on in the world. For some inexplicable reason, I was crying. Please please let me know how you need help. I am based out of Delhi, and can send money, medicines and packeted foods for hospitals if needed. Will be in Mumbai next month.. would be happy to help. Have also sent the URL to a few friends of mine who are in Mumbai; they might be sending comments on the posts on that blog.

    God bless!

    – Neha

    Like

  12. Neha says:

    I read the very first post of the blog only now. Will mail in the details to indiahelps. thanks!

    Like

  13. Suki says:

    5 45? I don’t think I could manage 8 am!
    :bows:

    Like

  14. Jira says:

    ha ha…This was so funny and cute..
    And kudos to u…Getting out of the couch and getting into a fitness routine is not easy!

    Like

  15. General fitness! I like! I like!

    It truly deserves the victory dance.

    I think I am going to borrow that line when I slink into the gym next week!

    Like

  16. RaisingT says:

    wow.. 5.45 is really something.. my yoga is at 7.45 πŸ™‚
    Yoga surely leaves you refreshed unlike gyming.. i hate gyms..

    Like

  17. sraikh says:

    And did the husband say anything afterwards.
    I dont know how you can bear to get up at that early.

    Like

  18. NainaAshley says:

    See , I told you so!
    I took a yoga class last year and loved it. Mine was at 5.45 as well(in the evening!) … the only aasan i can do at 5.45 in the morning is ‘shavasana’ that too if snoring counts.

    Like

  19. Suki says:

    ROFL @NainaAshley! πŸ˜€

    Like

  20. goofy mumma says:

    I love your blog. So as a token of appreciation, there is an award awaiting you here.

    Like

  21. DeeplyDip says:

    “did the victory dance in the elevator”….rofl…!

    Like

Leave a Reply

