And so I went to a parlour.

I normally am the sort who sashays in twice a year to get facials done, and the rhino hide peeled off to revealed some modicum of skin underneath, and some highlights put in and voila, the rest of the year goes in a haze of home maintenance, but the other day I realised that the eyebrows could do with a professional hand to straighten them from the uneven caterpillars they’d become, lending a perma surprised look to my face, which I had begun to use to my advantage by looking at strange people on the roads, turning them into blathering confused masses of flesh, leaving the unlawful task they had in mind behind running off in haste. Including those spitting on the road. Or planning to. Not that it was a sight that one would look at with any great interest. Anyway.

I digress. And now I return. To the local parlour where I wandered in to have the girl do my eyebrows. She started her task methodically enough and then paused in her tracks and stared hard. And then got out a ruler. I kid you not. A ruler. The kind the kid has in his pencil box and runs around whacking all and sundry with. And put the damn thing on my forehead and took some mental notes. And I swear I could hear the cogs and wheeels in her brain whirring on overdrive. She then took an eyebrow pencil and made some marks and stood back and stared. And invited me to view her handiwork. I had managed, on my own, with absolutely no outside help, managed to singlehandedly (wow, what an achievement) to thin down one eyebrow at least oneforth of a centimeter as compared with the second eyebrow and the arch was nice and sharp in one and sleekly rounded in the other.

Is that why the spouse recently asked me if I was pulling a Lalita Pawar?

Moral of the story: I will now get my brows to the parlour or let them run riot.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to And so I went to a parlour.

  1. d says:

    the mirror tells me i have done the exact same thing!! maybe we can start a trend – misshapen eyebrows are in..

    Like

  2. Pingback: ezineaerticles » Blog Archive » And so I went to a parlour. « Thirtysix and counting

  3. kbpm says:

    funny girl. 🙂

    Like

  4. kbpm says:

    funny girl. 🙂

    Like

  5. maya says:

    that is funny, funny, funny!! you do have a great skill, you know!!

    Like

  6. Divs says:

    LOL!!! This was hilarious – I just cannot stop laughing and my hubby is staring at me wondering what was so funny in his conversation with his parents whom is is on the phone with while I read this :-)!!! LOL!!! I think even if you drag yourself to the parlor every time, you can be in such a bad shape if you get a different beautician every time – a story I am living these days what with all the travelling 😦

    Like

  7. GG says:

    oh come on, kajol set a trend of sorts you should do the same!

    Like

  8. Aathira says:

    I have this happen to me all the time, unless I happen to visit Lakme. They seem to know what they are doing! 😉

    Like

  9. DeeplyDip says:

    you know what – i face the same problem…and am very wary of which parlour should do the job for me…a slightly more pronounced arch and you land up looking everyone in a stern questionable manner 🙂 good post…

    Like

  10. Gauri says:

    LOL ! But she actually used a ruler ? 😀 Poor thing must have been mighty confused 😀

    Like

  11. NainaAshley says:

    This happens to me every so often ….not the ruler and pencil part but I do manage to pluck my eyebrows uneven until I finally get the time to visit a parlour.

    Like

Leave a Reply

