So I get up at 5.15 am…

…this morning, using the blanket to rub the sleep out of my eyes. Resisting the urge to crawl right back in and continue to shake the sky scraper with my snores. But the tyres on stomach sniggered and cocked a rude finger at me, and got my goat. And plus the husband raised himself on his elbow and stared at me disapprovingly as I snuggled back into the covers. I could feel his eye drill holes into my well hidden lard and shamed into action, I lifted my creaking bones, carefully off the bed, trying hard to avoid any audible creaks. Middle age is cruel. Bones you never know you had creak when you move. And no lubricating oil is not the chocolate sauce over a hot fudge brownie.

The park was dark. Strange shadows thrown up by the dim light. A strange shadow loomed out of the blackness, I yelped and started back for the stairs to the lobby. Only to hear a respondent yelp of joy, with the resident pup bounding behind me, delighted to find another soul up as early as him, and to his doggy brain, as set to play fetch.

I shooed him off as gently as I could, namely with a tickle and a shout. And he bounded off in search of more fun people than a grouchy aunty with sleep deprivation and PMS haze.  And waited for the rest of the group to troop in for the yoga class.

It was a magical moment. And it was magical to be alone in the predawn with just the faint hint of light staining the horizon. Only the mosquitoes werent paying attention to the magic of the moment and were paying attention to the magic of my blood. Much swatting and swearing later, the rest of the group dragged themselves in and the ultra perky and ultra alert sharp as nails yoga instructor made us twist our bodies into pretzels that proved to me that I was made of wood. A fact the husband long suspected in our youth whenever he tried to dance with me, a fact confirmed now, two decades down the line.

But when I was through with the class, and running back home to get the morning organised I realised there was no pain. No stretched muscles hampering movement. I could lumber along peacably. I actually felt bright and alert and sparkly and was happily wishing every six am grouch a chirpy goodmorning as I passed them.

And yes, the waistline has a slight indent again. Slight. Microscopic even. But it is definitely there. And the silhouette is not like a ship at full sail. Am delighted. Have worn a tight tee to work in acknowledgement of my delight. This after two weeks of yoga and stopping rice and needless carbs.

How has your experience been with yoga?

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to So I get up at 5.15 am…

  1. Shilpa says:

    Wow you stopped rice? I would die if I did that I think(never tried). On that note, does Yoga really help? I always thought it is for those reed thin sickly girls who would get by doing yoga and still be fit. I should try it. All the girls who go to yoga classes in the US are thin thin thin minnies….and every time I go I get embarassed!

    Like

  2. Suki says:

    Five words(re: yoga for me):
    “Great. But I’m too lazy.”

    Like

  3. GG says:

    My limited experience with Ashtanga yoga has been positive. It definitely helps with bloating, digestion. It also keeps you sane in these troubled times. 🙂
    I hope you derive a lot of benefit from it.

    This from a fellow woody spine yogini wannabe,

    Like

  4. mumbaigirl says:

    Wonderful. I do ashtanga-and less vigorous forms as well. It pains initially when you are out of shape, but then you begin to see and feel the chanegs in your body and the world takes on a rosier hue. It helps my mind and my body.

    Like

  5. kbpm says:

    Gosh I have never done yoga though everyone talks about it. I plan to try it sometime in Feb. I am becoming really less and less flexible of late… I totally love waking up and being ‘out there’ before the sun…:-)

    Like

  6. Average Jane says:

    I feel like telling you, “I told you so” and so I am. If you remember I had once long back on blogsource asked you to try yoga and you had turned up your nose. Oh well.

    Like

  7. DeeplyDip says:

    I used to do bharat thakur’s yoga – and would love it. Became very flexible too…but intsead of losing weight unfortunatle i gained! guess all the hard work was making me too hungry :). after readin your post I am tempted to go back to yoga soon..:)

    Like

  8. Priyanka says:

    Wow.. Cutting out rice and carbs. AND yoga for 2 weeks straight. Can’t say I have that much will power. Or maybe its just that I dozed in the middle of the pranayam the one time I did join yoga classes. Didn’t go back there again 🙂

    Like

  9. Abha says:

    oh well! good for you!!

    hrrmmppfff! goes off to the plus size store!

    😦

    Like

  10. NainaAshley says:

    Great! keep it up.

    I did a yoga class last year and loved it. I always felt more energized after the class. Unfortunately we moved so I had to discontinue the class. I wish there was a yoga class closer to our new place. I still try to do some aasanas from my class but I don’t remember all.

    Check the online how tos na? I think if you’ve done it before you should be able to pick up again. Or shall I find some DVDs I can send you from here?

    Like

  11. Sanghamitra says:

    Wow!!! I live on rice and fish and love everything white (from milk to sweets to ice-creams!) and it does little for my weight…Good for you… do stick on to it… and I guess I should start going to gym soon!!!

    I tried. Biryani is proving irresistable at the moment…but almost there except for the occasional lapses.

    Like

  12. Dottie says:

    Congrats! Now only if you did yoga and it made an effect on MY waistline.. but yeah.. did pre-natal yoga and still do some everyday (ok I try to do it everyday) most energizing.

    It is….we are now being gently drawn into ashtanga, and let me tell you, muscles I didnt know existed, now ache.

    Like

Leave a Reply

