And so…

….I did an entire long needlessly funny post about how I am sifting through my winter woollies with longing, and how the damn mercury refuses to go south from the mid thirties it is stuck at. And how one is seriously contemplating sweat gland under the armpit removal, and some mode to remove said sweat glands from neck and face as well.
And how one has, in one’s mind coordinated sweaters and pullovers with camisoles and shoes. And how one is eyeing one’s sole pair of ankle high booties with a lust that one normally reserved for Danish pastries and Hrithik Roshan. Both equally delectable and equally unapproachable. But, of course, I digress. And I need to tell you I forgot to save draft. Which means that we had a power fluctuation and the entire post, went poof. Just like that. Into the ethers. I did a little Rumpelstiltskin hop and jump and stomp kind of a dance around the computer but it still wouldnt cooperate. I could threaten to ask the computer to hand over its firstborn, but I dont think it would.

The point of the entire previous, unlucky post? Basically, how I love the winter. Having lived all my life in a city that has summer in which one sweats and monsoon in which one sweats some and shivers some, and then back again to summer where one doesnt sweat as much, I love the winter. I love the thought of being bundled up in woollies with foggy breath coming like eerie little gusts from one’s mouth as one speaks, and the sky dark and overcast above. God knows, I would give anything for a day when the sun decides its had enough of searing holes into my retina, and takes the day off.

I know there are those of you in climes where you would be inclined to disagree, having just slipped for the umpteenth time on the sheet of ice on your driveways and who need to spend a couple of hours every morning before you can dig yourselves out of your own home when it snows through the night and would happily trade places with me, to which I say, phtoeey. I like it because I dont live there. I know only the nice mild cold of coordinated sweaters and tees, the all enveloping warmth of a nice woollen trench coat is beyond me.

So, indulge me while I pull out my handknitted sweaters and pullovers, and mourn the lack of any cold except the airconditioning the justify the wearing of them, and bear with me while I whine about the heat that is coming out through my eyes and ears and nose in little puffs of steam while I dream about wearing chunky knit cardigans and my all time favourite look  of all times, solid coloured turtlenecks with denims and very high boots. And dont hyuck hyuck at me, when I imagine that is the ultimate in coolth in the places with the colder climates.

Damn. If you see me wandering around in the blazing Mumbai heat with a turtleneck, I trust you to keep your mouth zipped on whether I’ve managed to melt any lard within.

About Kiran Manral

40 and battling flab, wrinkles and grey hair. Fighting a losing battle with the weighing scale. Living with the two loves of my life, my husband and my son. Serial buffet offender and reformed shopaholic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to And so…

  1. aneela z says:

    kiran…this takes me back to my earlier pronouncement of “winters are better than summers as you can layer up to be comfortable…in summers ek hadd tak utaar saktey ho”
    Edited to Add: unless you are Rakhi Sawant.

    Like this

  2. RaisingT says:

    oh i love winters too.. and the turtle neck look :)
    come to delhi.. its fabulous..

    Like this

  3. Shilpa says:

    Yeah I used to love winters until I saw how bad winters can get. Its one thing to have temperatures chilly enough to layer up in pretty sweaters, its another to have to wear bulky wool jackets that give you a BIG static shock every time you wear or take one off!

    Like this

  4. Broom says:

    Kiran,

    Today it was colder here in Calgary, than it was on the peak of Mount Everest. And this is not me being funny, it’s fact. :(

    So enjoy your summery winter!

    Broom

    Like this

  5. M says:

    Kiran,

    add me to the love-winter Brigade. Our winters are mild enough that we can go out in public (for most of winter) in “normal” winter jackets, not the polar versions places up north require…but the inside clothing…ooh that’s what is so fun…turtlenecks and boots…and lovely ribbed cashmere turtelnecks…

    M

    Like this

  6. Oh my… could we just do a swap for a couple of months? I could do with some garam hawa!

    Over 2 decades and my blood is still tropical thin :(

    Like this

  7. How i wish I could live in a warmer place.
    I live in the BayArea.. envy of many but still not good enuff for me.
    Aug,Sept,Oct are the only months I can seriously wear muslins and cottons all day.
    But I am Happy, it does not snow on my premises, although it is snowing at an hrs drive from here, acc to the news channels.

    Like this

  8. V says:

    Kiran,
    My first few winters in the US were exciting, hot soup dinners and roaring fires in the fireplace while cuddling under a blanket – fun!
    Now, I loooong for nice sunny days when its not dark when I go home from work and dark when I leave to work!!
    Can you take off for a vacation in Northern India where it should be relatively colder? :)

    Like this

  9. Abha says:

    :D

    oh i remember we even brought out our drab cardigans when temp diped to like 20 in Mumbai!

    travel to some place cold and indulge in the fantasy! nahi?! :)

    cheers!

    Like this

  10. Ooh I love winter fashion too but after moving to the states the novelty wore off real soon. Its a pain in the ass to pull on coats and jackets to even just take out the trash.
    Somehow the boot make up for this though…i lurve them …but then again my stilettos are rotting …waiting for spring..
    ah you win some you lose some i guess..

    Like this

Leave a Reply

