Hey Santa, you listening?

Been a long time since I got something from you, but then its been a long time since I figured out that fat old jolly men in red suits dont fly to tropical non chimneyed flats and drop off gifts. Been a long time since I had me a dad to play Santa. Yup, its me. I stopped believing. Now I know, that you do exist. You have given me all I ever could ask and more and not even waited for that tardy thank you that took so long coming.

But being the unabashedly greedy type of personality that undoubtedly God patented after he created me, I want to send in my list right now. Am I little late? I guess so, but I am taking a chance. Here’s my list:

I want no more tears. I have wept myself dry this past month and I cant squeeze another drop out of my eyes at the risk of dehydration.

I want to be able to set things right by those who have lost their loves ones in the meaningless violence that raged through our city the three days in November. Three horrific days that for me shook me to the core and made me realise that it would take really nothing but a madman and a gun and some RDX to render my child an orphan.

And while you’re at it, and believe you me I have been a very very good girl this year. I’ve started working out. I dont bunk except the occasional mornings when the eyes refuse to unglue. I try to run away from sweets and fried stuff. I have not, gasp, bought any new clothes for what seems to be over a year now. Or many years. Or maybe my current crop of clothes are so outdated, I could donate them to the wardrobe department of a period film.

Some new clothes would be great. Clothes that fit me without me having to run into trial rooms and agonise over new lumps of cellulite that have magically appeared on muffin tops and saddlebags that are nowhere are glamourous as Dior.

Specifically, a bunch of new tops and trousers would be welcome. Notice. I donot say teeshirts and jeans. Its time to grow up now I think.

And yes, I will say thank you this time. And keep the balcony extra wide open to let you get in easy. You know where I live dont you, Santa?

And yes, the kid would like a Hulk. Of the Incredible variety. I will not mention the kind of Hulk I would like. This being a family rated blog and all that.

Have yourself a great Christmas folks and peace and joy to all…..

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hey Santa, you listening?

  1. Santa is listening, he has left something for you on my blog here.

    Like

  2. Gauri says:

    Merry Xmas and a Happy New Year to you and yours, K ! And Amen to the “no more tears” and a request to Santa for peace – all over the world.

    Like

  3. sj says:

    Hi Kiran,

    Merry Christmas and a Peaceful New Year to all. I would just like to say…
    What the world needs now Is love, sweet love It’s the only thing That there’s just too little of…..

    Like

  4. mesoliloquy says:

    Wish you a Merry Christmas and everyone a peaceful New Year.

    Like

  5. Average Jane says:

    I don’t believe much in Santa wish lists, so I don’t make mine. Instead I will just add a tiny wish of mine to your one..me want hulk too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

