Did you watch the inauguration yesterday?

I did for a bit, before I drifted off to sleep amidst the thundering music of The Omen that the husband was watching on full volume in the living room. Some random thoughts, and no comment on policies, since I am supremely unqualified to do any commenting on such issues. Instead I will stick to what I know best.

Emotion. Ran High. The crowds were moist eyed. I was moist eyed. The entire event was one surge of tears on overdrive. I wondered why I was getting the occasional tear running down my face and concluded that I needed to live up to my bleeding heart status and cry at the merest hint of any tears in the remote vicinity. Even if the vicinity happened to be as remote as Washington D C.

Nope. I was indeed over awed. From being treated as a race inferior to the whites, the blacks in America now have truly proved they are truly and completely equals. More power.

And someone get Mrs Obama a good stylist please. From the red and black horror on victory day to yesterday’s monstrosity.  I would have liked a good sharp dresser in the wife’s corner in the White House, seeing as one is going to be needlessly seeing a lot of her around. But, no Jackie Os since Jackie O. Cant think of a single one. But then, we’ve not seen a personality like a JFK too, Monroes and Lewinskys apart.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Did you watch the inauguration yesterday?

  1. Sraboney says:

    Yss, I watched it and as usual Obama spoke well although Chief Justice Roberts messed up the 35 word oath…

    Michelle Obama’s dress was supposed to be inspired by Jackie O’s dresses but the colour was horrendous…She is a smart lady and outfits should be smart too…The girls looked very cute…

    Sraboney: Just what I felt. She is a strong woman. But the dress was fussy. The colour was wishy washy. Nothing strong and sharp.

    Like

  2. D says:

    I expected more from the speech but I loved the bit about how a man whose father wouldn’t be served in a restaurant 60 years ago can stand here today and take the most sacred oath as the President of the country.

    D: The speech was simple, clean and inspirational. I guess he kept it simple. Lets see what he does now. Its a tough 100 days now.

    Like

  3. Momstir says:

    Hi Kiran. Agree with you. While Michelle O isn’t a fashion disaster, isn’t a czar really. What would you suggest she had worn for Inaugration instead?

    momstir: I really dont know. I suppose the weather also needs to be taken into consideration. let me think this. But a nice deep strong colour, a jewel tone in clean lines and totally non fuss fuss detailing.

    Like

  4. Shilpa says:

    Hi Kiran. I beg to disagree with you. I think Michelle’s style has a certain personality to it that was what I saw in her gown. Not everyone can carry that color and that fabric quite like she did. I also love that she does not dress like a stepford wife.

    Shilpa: Yes, she does not dress like a Stepford wife. I dont expect her to. But, all I said was, I would have liked a nattier dresser as the first woman. God knows after insipid wives for many terms, Michelle does seem to have some fair amount of personality. And that colour and that fabric were precisely what were dragging the dress down….but, lets shake hands on this and agree to disagree 😉

    Like

  5. sj says:

    Hi Kiran,

    I will not make any comments on policies either nor will I comment on her fashion sense again because I am not qualified . But I am with Shilpa that she should not dress like a Stepford wife. This is her identity and more power to her for dressing the way she does.

    On another note yes there is or shld I say, WAS racism in America but I must admit there has always been racism in India if not based on religion then definitely class and definitely the color of your skin. We don’t treat maids as human beings because they are a lower level than us. Again I do not mean to insinuate that 100% of Indians do this but you get the drift.

    SJ: Agree absolutely, no Stepford wife please but surely something else. Anyway…lets agree to disagree on this.
    As long as there is economic inequality forms of discrimination will continue, whether in India or in the USA. We have a religion based on economic layers of society here. And we still in India treat our own North Easterners with a fair amount of prejudice. And yes, Fair and Lovely is still the best selling cosmetic cream in India. But that doesnt mean it is right. It exists. But it shouldnt.
    It has taken the blacks in America a fair amount of struggle to get to the White House and Obama is emblematic of that. In that, he has my complete support.

    Like

  6. Gayatri says:

    So the press here atleast is applauding Michelle Obama’s choice. The designer she picked is Cuban (many think her pick was a subtle hint at the policies the President wants to adopt)and is not a very big name (so promoting small businesses) and they love the fact that she’s not sticking to the traditional white house style yardstick.

    I didn’t think the dress was great, but I did think she carried it off with ease. So she does seem to be comfortable in her skin and carry of ridiculous colors such as the one at the inauguration!

    GG: Agree absolutely. Which is why I think she will be lethal if she dresses sharp, she’s got that innate comfort with herself and a self confidence that shines through lime green badly tailored knee length monstrosities….

    Like

  7. M says:

    Huh – actually liked Michelle’s dress/coat combo – did the color look off? It was a very lemony yellow – looked cheerful in the sea of blacks and the occasional red. Look at this pic: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2009/01/20/michelle-obamas-inaugurat_n_159344.html

    I didn’t care for the ball gown, but am not a fan of chiffon/rosettes on grown women anyway – still think she carried it off fairly well.

    Emotions and expectations are very high here…really liked his explicit mention of Hindus as part of the nation…

    M

    M: Oh it was a nice, sweet speech. He is a good orator.

    Like

  8. My daughter came home and said to me: Obama is our new president and he has made history.

    She did not know exactly what history he has made and was just repeating what her first grade teacher told her. But by deed and action over her growing years, she will know exactly what history was made yesterday.

    My half brown children will never know any covert discrimination. They will be able to run for president if they so desire, and be judged for thier abilities rather than color. That is my fondest hope and desire.

    ANKINYC: Amen to that.

    Like

  9. Kiran Manral says:

    And then Cinderella went to the ball. The train??? Stumping presidential feet at every step. No no no. She definitely needs a Lady Di kind of makeover. Smart sleek clean strong lines is what I feel she would look best in. But then, she is not asking me is she? *hmmphhh*

    Like

  10. sj says:

    I always agree to disagree with my husband so I’m cool with that.

    Apparently the fashion pundits over here in the US are actually raving about her look.

    On the fair and lovely note I met a fellow Indian here last week and she went on telling me about a friend who looked so beautiful because she was so fair. You’d think our ‘educated’ generation would know better. Well I can only hope we don’t instill these discriminatory feelings in our children.

    sj: I hope so too. I face this on a regular basis. My skin is dusky, my husband is white…so guess who my beautiful son takes after. Yes, me, much to the dismay of some folks.

    Like

  11. sandeepa says:

    Awwwwwwww Kiran, everyone here is raving over her dress and looks, thank god it is not me alone that thinks her morning dress was not the best

    Sandeepa: You know, dont you, if there is a mouth wide open, Kiran’s foot is always ready to make an entrance…..

    Like

  12. jaya says:

    hi there kiran
    glad to see your post on this topic…i kind of agree with you, not a big fan of her dressing but for some reasons all the fashion pundits in this country cant stop praising her fashion sense. i thot may be its me who is unable to understand it but glad to hear someone else also shares my thoughts.

    Jayashri: I’m not clued into what in right now out in the US, my thoughts were purely on the fact that what she wore did not suit either her colouring or her body structure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

