Do you have a pink chaddi?

 I got a rather fun email forward the other day. It had me scurrying to my sadly overstashed and unappreciated chaddi/banian drawer to ferret through rabidly in the vain hope that I might just find meself a pink chaddi. I should have known better. I found piles of black, starting with the black lacy variety that one had bought when the butt was a couple of handspans to the black double tummy support version that now holds the wall to wall hips in place and prevents the butt from falling to the floor, which is now, along with the horse harness strength four hooked, broad understrapped and triple built in support number bra, my main allies to keep my fat from spreading all over the universe.

But sadly, no pink chaddi. That was not going to get my morale down. I had been considred worthy enough to get an email forward from the Consortium of  Loose, Forward, Pub Going Women. Never mind that I married the first man who dared ask me out on a date, saved virginity by ferocious swatting till, and have not seen the inside of a pub for six years now, since the spawn of my womb was a wriggly zygote. I had to get my hands on a pink chaddi for this noble cause. So I went pink chaddi shopping. I was not going to Etam or Straps for this number, thank you very much. Natraj Market would do fine for me. But I am terrible at street stall bargaining. And it does get a little difficult when you ask a street chaddi vendor, “Pink chaddi hai kya,” and he replies without even a blink, “Aapke size mein nahin hain. Black chalega?” And you then realise that this is a consortium of chaddi vendors who have forced you into populating your chaddi drawer with black and skin coloured variants of the garment. None the less, I persisted. I didnt have to wear it, did I? I just had to mail it. It could be any size. Even child size. So I picked up a small one which was undoubtedly meant for a boy with no hips and no respectable woman would even consider squeezing self into its confines.. A snort from from the vendor, and much offended I moved on.

The next stall, I had a different game plan. I picked up the first pink I spotted. To my horror, it had some cute hearts scattered all over. I almost threw it back in disgust, then thought it being a Valentine Day gift etc, twas rather appropriate so took it up with renewed interest. The vendor deigned to spit his wad of paan cud at a hapless lamppost to state at decibel levels I am sure the entire market place heard, making me sing out like a hapless wronged woman, OHMotherEarthSwallowMeNow, “Yeh double XL mein nahin hain. Extra large us side pe hain.”

“Nahin,” I stated with firm demenour and as stern an expression as I could muster. “Hamere liye nahin hain.”

He nodded understandingly. “Aapke beti ke liye hain.”  Mother Earth was called on again but chose not to respond. The self esteem meanwhile took residence somewhere in the vicinity of my ankles and sulked. Yup. I am looking like the mother a girl who could be wearing adult sized chaddis. Made mental note to find out membership rates of gyms in the vicinity and then sell my fillings and my raddi to join.

Finally, I ended up not buying the fancy heart printed pink number, but slunk off in a funk. Yup. I will go to a store where salespeople are so posh, they wont bother if you pick up a chaddi your arm couldnt go through, as long as you dont trouble them with constant demands to go into the recesses of stockrooms to find stuff in your size.

pink-chaddi

Seriously though. This is the blog. And this is what you need to do. If you, like me, have been bristling with rage ever since the ridiculous attack on the girls in a Mangalore pub last month and not known what to do about it, this is what you can start with.

http://thepinkchaddicampaign.blogspot.com/

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=49641698651&ref=mf
More power to the pink chaddi. Which reminds me, I need to go shop for one.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Do you have a pink chaddi?

  1. yup,have heard of this…
    kiran u do have a fabulous imagination.. i was reading with intent wondering how in the world did you gather the courage to go chaddi shopping from a shop on the street…till i read “seriously tho” and heaved a sigh of relief!!:D

    Like

  2. Priysha says:

    Hurray to the Pink chaddisss..
    Amazing blog..:-)

    Like

  3. Sameera says:

    I absolutely loved your post and your sense of humour. I was just checking up blog posts on the pink chaddi campaign and landed here. I sure am glad

    Like

  4. oh!! i just realised the campaign actually requires us to send pink chaddis(thanks to chandni’s blog)..cudnt open the link coz blogspot is blocked at work..so thot u were kidding about the shopping bit… i stand correcteed…

    Like

  5. manpreet says:

    Campaign apart, you are simply awesome with your weird weird sense of humor. How do you do it girl?
    We support the pink chuddy, small, large, xl, xxl, whatever…

    Like

  6. B says:

    you are one funny woman!!!!

    Like

  7. Abha says:

    i was thinking of wasting a good honeymoon number thats about 5 sizes too small should be sent! :p

    every blog has em on. the pink chaddis! time i do too i guess!

    awesome post as always!

    cheers!

    Like

  8. Nancy says:

    Heeeheeee….hilarious.

    Wish I had ur imagination:-D

    well I have supported the campaign on my blog too but its just the bare essentials there;-D

    Like

  9. LOL! You are hilarious! 🙂

    Like

  10. Sandeepa says:

    You are just too funny 😀

    Like

  11. choxbox says:

    you are soo funny!

    Like

  12. Renie says:

    Hi..umm… Battle Axe? 🙂

    IndiBlogger is collecting blog posts on various topics – could you add this blog post to the collection? Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

