A spot poll…

Am bored with the hair.

Am tired of looking like the woman who ran with the wolves.

Am exhausted of explaining to the mother that, yes, mamma, I did comb my hair this morning. With the comb and not the fingers. And yes, that is supposed to be deliberately coloured golden strands and not because I havent been near hair oil for a while. And no, thats not because of vitamin deficiency. Mamma, look at me, do I even LOOK like I could be malnourished in any way?

Am fed up of unwitting catching a glimpse of self in any reflective surface and recoiling with a shock, wondering if it was Samara climbing out of the well. With her clammy rotting hands reaching out for me. Yup considering the state of my manicure, that might be true as well.

And exhausted of slapping on the serum/conditioner and hoping the hair will decide not to stand at dandelion halo attention.

Therefore, am thinking of getting a chop chop off to the shoulders. Controllable by hairbands. And skull caps.

Opinions, and wise words solicited. Deadline — till I get meself an appointment. Knowing me, I might just take myself to the neighbourhood Chinese salon tomorrow while the child gets lettered and get the deed done. Yup, actually, thats what I’m going to do.

Style suggestions, pliss. With image references. Am thinking Parisian chic. Chin length. Never mind if the rest of self is more Bedouin mamma.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A spot poll…

  1. Aathira says:

    I really like this style.

    Enough feminine + manageable 🙂

    Like

  2. Rohini says:

    Nahin! Don’t! The current one is totally glam and totally you!

    Like

  3. blinkandmiss says:

    please get something like this. – super short but feminine.

    it looks very chic. i LOVED my hair when i had it. and that doesn’t happen easily. the only problem is if you decide to grow hair some day, the intermediate length makes one look like the baby on parle-g biscuits packet.

    Like

  4. Serendipity says:

    Oh ya, very short hair can be unmanageable specially if its a lenght that wont fit into a rubber band.

    Me like what u have right now. but if you wanna do somethign different, go for it anyway 🙂

    Like

  5. Cee Kay says:

    If I had seen this post earlier, I’d have said “GO FOR IT!!” Now since you have already done the deed, I’d say “WHERE ARE THE PICS??”

    😀

    Like

  6. Divs says:

    Well…atleast post some pics of your current style so we can respond to your poll 🙂

    Like

  7. I had exactly the same hair dilemmas.

    This is what I did. Got a classic bob… high on back, low on sides of face, cut on a middle part but wear it on a high side part for daytime. It looks nice and stays neat tucked behind a ear.

    To mix it up for evening, I part the hair in the center and pouf it up at the top sometimes… sort of like this.

    This thing, just shorter classic bob.

    I have wavy hair and little time in the AM, so when I wash it, I dont bother with conditioner, just put in a good amount of hair serum and blow dry it… then I hit it with a flat iron. Takes me all of 7 mins every morning.

    Low maintenance and goes with every thing.

    Like

  8. wud love to give suggestions.. but sadly im tbe WORST person to ask for such suggestions… so im gonna keep my mouth shut… and let u and ur stylist/barber/hair dresser(watever u chose to call him/her) decide on the next hair style..:D

    Like

  9. Kiran Manral says:

    Aathira: Bang on. Thats just like what I got done. A little past the shoulders though with a side swept fringe.

    Ro: Ah, my one cheerleader. Chopped it off now love. Its sleeker and neater. At least while its blowdried. Gotta do my normal wash condition now to figure out what happens to it in its natural state.

    Serendipity: I think you’ll like this one too!

    Cee: The camera is acting up on me, and the blessed husband wont click. Will wheedle a friend to phone click and send to me. I dont have a camera on my phone.

    Divs: Done the deed. Gone and chopped.

    Churning: Thats just what I did…..

    Like

  10. Priyanka says:

    If I had read this earlier, would have told you to get your hair smoothened (instead of straightened). No hassles of flyaways, no brushing, only combing. In Mumbai humidity, the good old conditioning and serum simply doesn’t work anymore!! 😦
    A fringe huh? Photo please 🙂

    Like

  11. D says:

    Is this a bad hair month or what? I’ve been going through the same dilemma!

    Like

Leave a Reply

