And the deed is done…

Finally fed up of having pitchforks being stuck into my hair , and folks on the street handing me rubberbands and hair oil, I barged into one of them chic salons that you need to get an appointment with the top stylists a month in advance if you are a non celeb and then reconfirm before the actual date of the cut and hang on to your social life till you actually get there. I think I scared them blowdried and perfect folk inside with my wild mane, or they took it as a challenge to tame it to perfection. Yup, they took pity on me, and agreed to take me in without an appointment and the hair was, as they say, cut and styled.

How do I feel after it all? Lightheaded of course. Midwaist has gone to shoulder length. Sleeker. Paddle brush hair drying and hair serum has a lot to do with it. And more in control. I know now why women chop off their hair after a break up. Yesterday was one of those days I was close to killing some folk, who escaped death narrowly thanks to a kind stylist taking me to the chair and giving me some hair therapy.

Take this tip down in your book of survival tips for urban women. When in a funk, you now have one more option apart from shopping. You can now go for a hair cut. And do give the stylist a free hand, after of course specifying that you would perhaps not appreciate leaving the premises with pink hair in a mohawk.

So what I have now is a shoulder length cut called reverse graduation. Whatever that means, with a side swept fringe doing battle with my contact lenses. I know, I just know that I’m investing in hair bands.

And no, the husband didnt like it I think. He noticed it and pretended not to notice it. When I drew the lack of length to his attention, he grouched , “I saw,” in tones so dire that I didnt dare pursue the line of investigation about whether he liked what he saw or not. Doesnt matter. I like what I see. As of now, before I wash it myself. And that is all that matters, isnt it?

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to And the deed is done…

  1. Abha says:

    exactly! how do we know without pictures?!

    cheers!

    Like

  2. Sunita says:

    change the header πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Aathira says:

    I too say ‘Change the header’

    Like

  4. manisha says:

    short hair = freedom. after suffering longer hair for the first decade of my marraige – cause that’s what the hubby preffered, i went and chopped it off one fine day. i am now free from hair bands, pins, ponytails, braids – the whole hog. you won’t regret it – and i’m quite sure – wont like it long again.

    Like

  5. I am sure you look very nice.

    Waiting for pictures to confirm ofcourse!

    Like

  6. aarabik says:

    ooh i jus god reverse graduation too!! with sideswept bangs and assymetric layers! all haircuts here cost the same so i thought – hey, might as well terrorize the stylist πŸ˜‰ i love it i love it i love it πŸ˜€ it’s soooo versatile!! oh hey put up pics!

    Like

  7. Anamika says:

    PHOTOS PLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

    Like

  8. suma says:

    πŸ™‚

    gives me inspiration to get one done..i’ve been truying to work up enough courage to walk into them salons without wilting…

    Like

  9. Suki says:

    photoooo! Gotta see the Glam Gal!

    BTW what is it with men and our long hair? Whenever I cut an inch off my hair, I get a glare. And I can’t even say “try maintaining it yourself!” because the brat has longer, thicker hair than I do, and in long, beautiful spirals. My hair maintenance takes about 1/4th the time his does πŸ˜› . Yay for straight, silky hair!

    Like

Leave a Reply

