So the animals are now safer…

After almost an entire lifetime of believing that food on the table isnt worth its salt if some animal hasnt been converted into something edible, I decided to go vegetarian. The spouse and I. Both of us, katthar non vegetarians. At risk for every kind of lifestyle related illness you could name. Plus the sloth, plus the weight gain, plus the sudden realisation that enough is enough. My apologies to all the animals who have helped me stay alive so far. I’m now officially a cow.

And will only graze on them green leafy things. God help the ozone layer.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to So the animals are now safer…

  1. blinkandmiss says:

    Welcome to this side! I must warn you though, that a vegetarian diet does not necessarily help in fighting the flab. Take me for example, a veggie person since birth, and the flab always wins.

    Like

  2. Aathira says:

    I love animals and respect them… but pure vegetarian? I am just not able to do that ! 😦

    Like

  3. Seema says:

    Am a regular reader,delurking for the first time.
    Way to go Kiran! Turned vegetarian when I was 13 and have not regretted it since then.

    Like

  4. Gigi says:

    Whoa! Big change. Good luck. The one plus point of a diet with the right kind of meat is good protein intake. I’m a lifelong vegetarian, we tend to carb load instead of fibre load via veggies and fruit. Of course unlike the West non veg food in India seems slathered in grease. At least the non tandoori grill stuff I’ve seen!

    All the best. It is a tough decision but I’m willing to be your cheerleader. My hubby did that for me and I’ve been amazed at the will power needed for such an endeavour. πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. dipali says:

    All the best. It’s not gonna be easy:(

    Like

  6. Sree says:

    haha…like the thanksgiving.Good wishes to you.I have tried myself.Its an in and out thing now.

    Like

  7. Roop Rai says:

    me 2 me 2

    a recent convert!

    Like

  8. CA says:

    Good luck Kiran !

    Like

  9. anna says:

    Good for you. I am veg though most of the family is not. And I understand from friends who turned veg that it is far easier to do than one thinks. My reasons for being veg are the same as yours. Cant bear to eat something which has visible eyes, nose mouth! Something with a face as Phoebe says! Also in beautiful India it is easier than say Europe (where I am based temporarily). Good luck. I love reading your writing!

    Like

  10. Big Zed says:

    Whaat?! And I just started eating chicken.

    Like

  11. thetaamommy says:

    So, whats the scoop girl, you convinced hubby ? or hubby convinced you ? πŸ˜‰
    Buts its great, that way one doesnt have to salivate when the other orders chicken πŸ˜‰ !!
    Even if you give up and eat it, you can still forgive and get back on track. Failures are stepping stones to success. Wishing you both a green lifetime full of vegetarianism !!

    Like

  12. Suki says:

    But.. why?!
    :horrified:

    What’s wrong with lean fish and chicken prepared light?

    Like

Leave a Reply

