Crunches and munches

I sat down the other day to find my stomach demanding a chair of its own. Now, whatever the wall to wall situation of the hips, my stomach, even post C-sec, has been a well behaved stomach and allows me, in standing position to get a view of my toes. If I cheated and peered over the lungs, of course. The silhouette too, is presentable, never mind if the butt is the perfect kind that a Victorian woman would throw her hoops away for, them hoops being rendered redundant in face of such spillage and rapid fire expansion that would delight a cannibalisitic society hunting for dinner.

Therefore, when the stomach protested violently at being denied a chair of its own I looked down in shock. And stood up. Threw shoulders back. And pulled stomach in. There, I looked at self in the non reflective glass that makes up the cabin of the tiny office one works out of.  Yup. There is definitely a *gasp gasp* paunch. Nope. I am not PMSing. This is not water retention bloat, though I can explain it away shamefacedly in said fashion. This is a true blue, wobbly jiggly dyed in the cellulite paunch.

I ran shrieking to another mirror and checked out self with squinted eyes. Yup. Paunch. The horror. The horror. I must lie down and do them crunches. And leg lifts. And get back to walking as much as them legs permit. Or I can pretend I’m morbidly pre menstrual. Yup. Water retention is a terrible terrible thing. And I have the mood swings as mandated to validate that excuse.

Quick tips to rid self of paunch solicited. Nothing that involves exercising will be considered.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Crunches and munches

  1. Dhiren says:

    lol…

    recently my bro in law gifted me a short t-shirt… the moment i saw it i felt… that is too young.. i am young but not so young.. i sportily wore it and showed to all and they thought i looked nice… than i went back in the bedroom and let out the breath that i held back and it wasnt looking so nice… however that is a secret well kept !! lol…

    Like

  2. v says:

    Oh that is just PMS, and I too have that kind of PMS. Lasts all month long. Sometimes its pre, sometimes its post. 🙂

    Like

  3. Diet and crunches work together. Just one at a time, dosent work for me.

    Like

  4. Aathira says:

    I have baggage added to my cheeks, arms and stomach every bloody month. Its painful to wait along for it to disappear!

    Like

Leave a Reply

