I call them character lines…

Crueller people call them crow’s feet.

The child calls them a fan. As in, Mamma, you have fans under your eyes. Such vivid imagination. His mother’s son, after all.

Get out of my way unless you want to be trampled down by wild aged woman running helter skelter to nearest cosmetic counters for them undereye creams, which she is to use her third finger to pat on gently under said eyes every night. And contemplate, seriously contemplate injecting paralytic substances through fierce looking needles under her skin to freeze her face into a grotesque mask of expressionlessness and therefore no further line forming. Before giving up all pretence of being brave enough to bear long needles, and deciding that she will age disgracefully.

Any magic lotions and potions and home remedies will be welcome. Would be nice not to have crepe paper where my eyelids and under eye area used to be.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I call them character lines…

  1. Average Jane says:

    You are probably going to get 300 recipies for them magic potions but you know, I can’t somehow see you using them!

    Like

  2. aneela says:

    hang around with older ppl…you will feel and look so much younger, prettier and ummm “fresher”.
    also dont wear your glasses when you look in the mirror.

    Like

  3. Aathira says:

    I have read of the weirdest things being injected through those said needles!

    Like

  4. wordjunkie says:

    Had a brilliant comment to make … but see Aneela got there before me.

    Like

  5. shilpadesh says:

    Hehe accept it as a part of life and move on. I have had dark circles since I was born, thanks to parents who look like racoons themselves! I live with them.

    Like

  6. D says:

    Aloe vera works wonders!

    Like

  7. b says:

    Obagi..try it, you won’t regret..

    Like

  8. monikamanchanda says:

    i am going to be hanging here a lot in search of a solution 😉

    Like

  9. Abha says:

    oh well! conisdering i was called aunty at age14! i dont bother much about such stuff! 😉

    cheers!

    Like

  10. Kiran Manral says:

    Average Jane: How well you know me.

    Aneela: I’m the oldest in my gang I will have you know. I thought it was the reverse, hang around with younger people to look and feel younger.

    Aathira: Yup. Which is why I dont think I’m ever going down that route.

    Wordjunkie: 🙂 You need to be quick on the draw in retorts.

    D: Yup, just started aloe vera gel application. Got me a crop of pimples.

    Shilpa: I am a fighter you know. I fight all visible signs of ageing valiantly. Never mind if I’m losing the battle.

    B: What is Obagi? Please explain in detail.

    Monika: HAvent got any yet… 🙂

    Abha: I’m still trying to fight that tag valiantly and failing miserably.

    Like

Leave a Reply

