Dog tales

A resident in the building complex we live in has a dog. Make that has one of those dogs which cant make up its mind whether it is a dog or an overgrown rodent. And is black in colour too. The primary pastime of this resident is to send this overgrown rodent down with his Man Friday to the garden and let it loose amongst the yelping children, and stand up in his balcony to watch the fun.

Chihuahua. I think. Is the name for the kind of doggie breed this particular type belongs to. After much agile leaping around in the course of my evening walk to avoid the dratted dog racing around the jogging track and grass like a rodent on steroids, being chased by a Star Wars army of clones kind of army of robotic cats, I finally lost the little patience I seem to possess these days. “Keep the dog on a leash,” I yelled at Man Friday, who was gossiping long and lovingly into his phone, which if he had shoved any closer to his ear, would have needed a surgeon and an operating table for extrication.

Of course, he didnt hear me yelling. I wished I could have uprooted a small tree to chase said dog off the jogging track, (all ye dog lovers, dont send in hate mail now, I lived with a dog in the house for close on 13 years, and cremated him myself), or risk it being stepped and trampled on by army of evening walkers and ipod earplugged joggers, and manic kids.

Finally, my waving and gesticulations came to his attention. Albeit slowly. He gave me the “Hey, you talkin to me,” kinda one eyebrow raised look. It also helped that all 60 plus kilos of me were parked plop in front of him and I was one second away from extricating his mobile device on prepaid talktime from his ear and depositing it in the undergrowth.

“Kutte ko pakadke rakho,” I said in the kind of slow tone one uses when one is not sure one is talking to a person who is assimilating what one is saying. “Kyon?” asked Man Friday back, in what I thought was A Very Rude Tone.

I explained to him that the dog might get injured since people were walking around and the children were running across. He looked at me and smiled. A Very Nasty Smile that immediately qualified him for incarceration at any facility worth its tranquilisers. “Aap dariye mat. Yeh kaatega nahin.”

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Dog tales

  1. Aathira says:

    I love dogs… but I agree completely with you that in open areas there are people who might like/ not like a dog running around.

    It is crazy why people think that the only reason people do not like dogs are coz they bite! There are so many reasons, smell, hair etc

    Like

  2. I am insanely in love with my dog, BUT I always leash him in a park (unless it is one of those early mornings when no one is around, then I let him run loose for some time) and even when the kids want to pet him, I make sure I ask the parents if it is OK.

    But I have seen the exact opposite of your scenario. People come to MY house and then order me on where to confine my dog. I go out of my way to make sure as a hostess that my dog does not get in the way of a guest who does not like dogs, but for them dog being in another part of the house is not enough, and they want him caged and shackled and muzzled and what not, I want to find a polite way to remind them that it is MY house and it is MY rules.

    Like

  3. Shobana says:

    Dogs are nice, but not when they are running amok in a place where people are kinda lost in their own thoughts and scaring the pants off them. Wait…maybe that was the whole idea of the dogs’ owner!

    Like

  4. Dottie says:

    dang. what an attitude.

    Like

  5. Gigi says:

    Dog owners always insist their precious pets don’t bite. Liars 🙂

    Like

  6. aneela says:

    haan bhayia magar may kaat saktee hoon!!
    give it to him

    Like

  7. Rachna says:

    I agree- I hate chihuahuas too! I think they are the most irritating breed of dog- neither dog, nor rodent. If one has to have a dog, at least dikhna to chahiye ki kutta hai.
    And half the time to I feel as if I will step on the stupid thing and not even notice!

    Like

  8. shetalkslikejune says:

    Lol! I adopted a street pup and my ‘building’ secretary came to 1) complain that he peed on the staircase. (He had NOT) 2) he said- you look educated, why didnt you get a phoren dog.

    I will soon be a love immigrant to europe and hope to be a kept woman for a while!

    Like

  9. sara60 says:

    i love your writing! I’ve tagged you b/c I’d love your perspective on the fabulousness of motherhood! 🙂

    Like

  10. unknown says:

    That was very funny.I always wanted to have a pet. My parents never allowed me to get.

    Like

  11. Childwoman says:

    Heheheheh…no, no Kiran, you were scared!! LOL:D

    Like

  12. Kiran Manral says:

    Aathira: There is a reason an unbrushed early morning mouth is called dogbreath.

    Clueless chick: Well you’ve had some pretty rude guests, that is so not on. We had a pomerian too, and we would take him and introduce him to our guests, and if he went berserk, take him into a bedroom and close the door. Most of the times, he was pretty happy to be with company.

    Shobana: I told you. He stands in his balcony and watches the fun. I want to so set an Alsatian after him.

    Dottie: Yup. Dang.

    Gigi: Even if they dont, I dont want to be around when they have a change of mind.

    Aneela: I’m keeping you on quick dial a retort.

    Rachna: Bingo. Exactly my feelings.

    Shetalkslikejune: Poor pup. Did you send him away? And , btw, thats my perfect career plan. I’m a kept woman here.

    sara60: Thanks but I cannot read your posts.
    They seem to be all password protected.

    Unknown: You had sensible parents.

    Itchy: Honoured.

    Childwoman: Cmon. One step on it, and it would be pulp.

    Like

  13. BEV says:

    I’m always so careful about ensuring our dogs are on a leash when they’re out. And then we have these annoying owners who let their dumbass clueless maids walk their labradors who then promptly get off leash and run around knocking other ppl down – happened to me right after I got hom from my Csec. And while we were walking around with our son. Very, very anger-causing

    Like

Leave a Reply

