Happy Voting to You!

Nope, I havent voted. And this is the first time since I have turned legally an adult and therefore fully responsible for my own goof ups that I havent.

Now here come the excuses.

For one we’ve shifted suburbs. And our ration cards are made out to the new address, while our voters id cards, the old ones are still at the old one.

Yup. We havent made our new voter id cards. How shameful can we be! Procrastination, they say, should be my middle name and sloth, the spouse’s. The sole attempt I made to get our names on the damn list had me standing and stewing in the line for an hour after which I was asked to come back the next day with some xeroxes and of course, I never went back.

The main reason of course, is the candidates. They are both people I dont think I want to vote for. One candidate is a hardworking soul but with a party I dont support for its Hindutva ideology for obvious reasons. The other is a Bigg Boss escapee who leaves me totally cold when it comes to his actual real time efforts in politics.

And I had no clue where I was supposed to go this morning. Old place or new place. Hadnt received any slips notifying me too of my need to go and vote, and considering that the old residence is now a hole in the ground all in the good cause of redevelopment, I dont think I was getting any slips from there.

Okay. Enough excuses. I’m cringeing with shame now. I might just take a turn and check out the polling booth on my way back home.

But I hope you voted like the good citizen I hope you are.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Voting to You!

  1. NainaAshley says:

    If neither candidate is good enough then I guess it doesn’t make a difference. Anyway you are such a model citizen, with your initiatives like India Helps, you do much more for the city & country than any elected representative.
    I’m glad you decided to continue blogging. I get almost no time to blog these days and very little time to comment or even read blogs but the two blogs I definitely read are your blogs though I don’t comment as frequently as I used to. Please keep blogging.

    Like

  2. Kiran Manral says:

    Naina: You’re too kind. I will continue blogging ofcourse. That was just me being a bit of a dramebaaz.
    But the guilt is tremendous about me not voting, even though I can justify it with the fact that I wouldnt have voted for either candidate.

    Like

Leave a Reply

