Five things I like about myself…

Like the wonderful original, revolutionary thinker I am, I flicked this post off Parul’s and decided to make it into a tag just for my own writing and introspecting pleasure. And this done without so much as a by your leave. But I’m guessing Parul will be too tied up with partying and bayoons today to come hunting me down with bayonet and bayoons.

So without further ado, this is about five things you like about yourself. And when I read that premise, I, like the good bard quoth, to mine own nature be true and such like, promptly went thats a tall order. Five things that I like about myself are a bit too much. Maybe, if I sit down and contemplate my navel in zenlike contortionist pose I might come up with one, which is namely how clean said navel is given that I am prone to scooping the lint out of it twice a day while bathing, among the one hundred things I must do before I feel clean and able to present myself in public.

So I sat. And thought. And did not contemplate navel. But miracle of miracles, I came up with one. I came up with more than one. And more than five. And I am going to be shameless here and list them all out, with five most important ones leading the pack. The rest is all fullblown narcissism which you are free to ignore or barf at.

1] I love the fact that I am a straight talker. And that I cannot lie to save my life. It gets me into more trouble than I would like. As in “You are seriously going to wear THAT?” said to folks preening on their good taste in sarees, given that a kings ransom has been spent on said Satya Paul number in colours so vibrant that many Disprins have to be pressed into head relief duty.

2] I love that I have finally been able to realise that no, the world doesnt revolve around me. Dammit. As everyone knows, and will acquiensce to meekly, it revolves around my son. And whoever disagrees with that can discuss it with me over swords at dawn.

3] I love my unflagging faith in the spouse, and my college girl like belief that he will come like a knight in slightly rusted armour to pull me out of whatever mess I manage to get myself into with unfailing regularity. Including times when the ATM card gets swallowed up or I manage to bag an autodriver on crack who turns said auto turtle on the highway, crushing my fingers in the process. All I say to the good Lord, whatever happens, let me stay conscious enough to speeddial the man before passing out.

4] I love the fact that I am so determined about not learning stuff that could ease my life. Aka driving and cooking. even if it means selling my fillings to pay for takeout when the cook does the bunk.

5] And most of all, I love how I am accepting of my shortcomings. And even indulgent of them. Never mind if I have to dress in permablack to create visual illusion of slimnessΒ or never be seen in public without three inch high shoes, with inbuilt platforms to be saved from people walking over me in a crowded street.

And more:

I quite enjoy my unabashed fascination with food. Given the rapid expansion of the waistline it would be more seemly to pretend to be on a permadiet instead of being the doggy bag at every meal one has in a public situation.

I appreciate the fact that I accept it is hard work to be presentable, and know that a day of slacking off on the creaming shows badly these days, what with the crowsfeet, and patchy skin and such like.

I am not unhappy with my looks, and though when I eye myself with a critical eye, much needs improvement, on the whole, I would say I got a good package deal from the good Lord above. Nothing some liposuction, skin peels, a rhinoplasty, some botox and assorted lifts in gravitationally challenged areas couldnt solve.Β  And now seeing where the hair is headed, some hair transplants too.

and most of all, I love the fact that I am healthy, with all my vitals functioning well, with a roof over my head, a child to adore and a man to love. The rest is all immaterial.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Five things I like about myself…

  1. Serendipity says:

    πŸ™‚

    you forgot a few things – Strong, sensitive, well planned, rational.

    Like

  2. Kiran Manral says:

    Ser: πŸ™‚ Not strong at all. Not well planned. Sensitive and rational, I’ll take. The rest is an act. Maybe I should add that I put on a good act.

    Like

  3. Monika says:

    wow i loved reading this, was thinking abt it when I read it Parul’s I think I am going to take it up too

    Like

  4. suma says:

    that was interesting enough for me to comment πŸ™‚

    actually i like this tag…:)

    Like

  5. Aathira says:

    This is a great post/ tag πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. D says:

    That sounds familiar, you know. Are you by any chance an Arien? Just trying to fix the source of familiarity.

    Like

  7. this is very nice! i was thinking of doing this as well, you know, so it allows me to introspect…

    Like

  8. Ludwig says:

    Hey Kiran, Just saw on Discovery that all the money earned from fake designer products goes into sponsoring international crime (this was a documentary about High Heels)..just thought i would share with other ladies..there’s nothing like spreading a lil guilt around πŸ˜‰

    Like

  9. Pingback: Its all about loving yourself! « BoHeMiAn RhApSoDy

  10. NainaAshley says:

    And I like your sense of humor, your honesty and the fact that you care enough about others to actually help out.

    Like

  11. choxbox says:

    liked this one!

    Like

  12. Dottie says:

    I loved this tag, but I think you have been too modest πŸ™‚

    Like

  13. maidinmalaysia says:

    lol!

    Like

  14. i flicked this one from parul too.
    u know wat i like about u? you have a way with words.. i like that.. πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. Priyanka says:

    I loved this one.. But then, having read your tags, I find myself dissatisfied with whatever I write whenever I pick one of your tags to copy πŸ˜‰ That says two things: your writing is awesome and honest, and I am very easily influenced πŸ˜‰

    Did the rickshaw incident really happen? My God, that is really scary!! ‘ crushing my fingers ‘ [shudders]

    Like

  16. sscribbles says:

    Lovely post, though I guess you forgot to write about your sensitive side and the super-efficient multitasking abilities.

    Like

  17. Abha says:

    errrr… is it just me who is trying to figure out if you are REALLY writing nice things about yourself WITHOUT the conditions apply mark! :p

    great read as always Kiran!

    i am still not ready to introspect!

    cheers!

    Like

  18. Rohini says:

    *slinks away before the sharp-eyed beauty expert notices the ill effects of not having washed my face at night for the last ten days, at least*

    Like

  19. Kiran Manral says:

    Monika, Suma, Aathira: πŸ™‚

    D: Nah. I gave my birthdate away in the numbers tag.

    kbpm: Would be nice to read your list.

    Ludwig: What guilt? No guilt? If it werent fakes, it would be something else, can me quitting buying some teeny weeny purse, keep the dope dealers from selling their stuff?

    Chox, Dottie, Maidinmalaysia, Churningthewordmill: πŸ™‚

    Priyanka: Yup it really did. My hand was like the Eonkid’s bionic arm for a good week with the swelling.

    Naina, sscribbles: πŸ™‚ You have more faith in me than I do in my own abilities.

    Abha: No, no, no conditions apply.

    Violet: Done.

    Ro: Naturally gorgeous types like you can get away with anything.

    Like

Leave a Reply

