Sugarcane juice

And so I wore a nice tie front soft green top with paisley print chiffon sleeves and some chiffony bits flowing around the front.

And all I could think of when I saw myself in a reflected shop window was sugarcane juice.  And the fact that I seemed like a rounded jug of sugarcane juice.

So there I was outside a sugarcane juice stall downing glasses of the stuff like it was going out of stock much to the stiffled giggles of the collegians standing around in their Twiggy poses with handspan waists and collarbones.

And the back of my mind wondering how much e-coli I had just ingested without a moment’s pause in said beverage. And whether the man feeding in those sugar canes into the machine had adequately washed his hands after his morning abulations.  

I stopped at the chemists on the way back and bought some ORS sachets just in case.  And checked my forehead to feel if it felt any warmer than usual.

What? What? What?

The only good thing about hoping one gets typhoid is that last time I went into the ring I came out 15 kilos lighter, with hair pin bends at the waist curvature level, and needed a belt to hold my pants up.

Which reminds me I need to go out and buy me some belts too!

A girl can hope, can’t she?

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sugarcane juice

  1. Shivani says:

    No, but sugarcane juice does NOT carry e-coli when it’s guzzled on a hot summer’s day in Mumbai. Especially when it’s served with a dash of lemon & generous chunks of ice.
    Twiggy collegians be damned, you just had a glass of heaven 🙂

    *runs off to the gannajuice thela that she patronises*

    Like

  2. Jyothy says:

    Nice to see you back you back with your humour.
    I hope things have improved..

    and yes a Girl sure can hope 🙂

    Like

  3. Sonia says:

    Now I need some sugarcane juice, can you please fedex some here :))

    Like

  4. shilpadesh says:

    Ohh no…don’t hope to fall sick. I’d rather be on the heavier side and be healthy than be sick and look thin! Besides, you are such a beautiful woman who carried a baby in her tummy for 9 months, what do those Twiggies know!

    Like

  5. Gigi says:

    Reminds me of an episode of Friends where Phoebe wants to get a cold to get her sexy voice back 🙂

    Like

  6. myamusingmind says:

    hahahha..how can you be so funny Kiran

    Like

  7. dipali says:

    Completely nuts! I’m loving it:)

    Like

  8. Abha says:

    🙂

    now if only i could bring myself to LIKE the dran sugarcane juice! i would buy the entire shop of belts! 😉

    cheers!

    abha

    Like

Leave a Reply

