To my mom…

Your hands shake a bit, but they are as steady as a rock when they smooth my hair down as I sleep.

Your voice is thinner now, but the most soothing sound I could ever hear.

Your eyes are rheumy but look at me with such total love and devotion, I can pick myself and walk on again with the strength you give me.

You make me feel hopeful just by being there with your calm, comforting presence.

I wish I could put my head down in your lap and cry my eyes out. But I dare not do that. I dare not scare you. You are too old, too fragile.

You make me realise I have to be as strong for my child, as you have been for me.

I cant let either of you down.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to To my mom…

  1. Ronak says:

    Very touching post… we keep changing roles in life.. and never realize how fast time passes by…

    Like

  2. Michele says:

    K,
    Not sure what is up, but your last few posts have been sad. I hope you are doing OK, sending love and thoughts and prayers your way.

    Take care of yourself.

    Michele

    Like

  3. Suki says:

    This post absolutely breaks my heart… take care, Kiran.

    Like

  4. Sands says:

    Absolutely beautiful. Had to delurk to say that 🙂

    Like

  5. D says:

    That’s so true Kiran… and so sad!

    Like

  6. V says:

    K,Hope things turn around for you soon!!Hugs!

    Like

  7. Chanda says:

    Hi Kiran,

    Dont know what is bothering you,but whatever it may be I hope things work out soon. I am sure they will. Hang in there!

    Love and hugs.

    Like

  8. Shobana says:

    Beautiful Kiran! Mothers are an amazing breed…us included.

    Like

  9. Solilo says:

    Looks like something is bothering you, Kiran. Hope you feel better soon. Yes! there are times when I just want to run to my mom and share things with her and feel lighter but then think why to scare them too.

    Like

  10. Gigi says:

    It is our turn to be as capable and strong as our mothers…I know you will continue her legacy of love and caring. Peace.

    Like

  11. Cee Kay says:

    Hugs dear. Tight hugs.

    Like

  12. Subhashree says:

    What’s bothering you, Lady K? Lots of hugs. Take care

    Like

  13. monikamanchanda says:

    that was so lovely and touching, when i read I just went to mom and gave her one tight hug

    Like

  14. Sue says:

    You’ll do it, milady, if anybody can you will. Hang in there. love,
    Sue

    Like

  15. JLT says:

    awwww… K, I know the feeling. Hugs, K, and hope the clouds clear soon. Sending up a prayer for you and K and K. Take care.

    Like

  16. dipali says:

    Absolutely, K, absolutely.

    Like

  17. anna says:

    be strong. hold on. for whatever it is worth we are rooting for you. they do say the darkest hour is before dawn.

    Like

  18. Kiran Manral says:

    @all: Thanks. At moms now for a couple of days and just getting totally pampered.

    Like

  19. Sonia says:

    Wow – so touching!!

    Like

  20. Abha says:

    beyootiful post Kiran!

    you know when MY mom called me alst year to wish me Happy Mother’s Day i was l’il dazed! i ahdnt even realised! 🙂

    cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

