A pick me up, the first thing in the morning.

Yup. Ro. You know the rosiness of my cheeks has been steadily been dimmed over the past few months, so you go and do exactly what a good friend would do to put the sunshine back into this dull, jowls to the socks kind of face I’ve been carrying around atop the neck recently.

Taaa Daaaaa

So here goes Cut Paste from Bobbi Brown Website.

Bronze Shimmer Brick Compact. It says. bobbi

The original Shimmer Brick Compact. This shimmering, brush-on powder creates a deep, bronzy glow. Sweep on cheeks, after Blush, using the Face Blender Brush. Works well with neutral and deep blush shades.



Sweep the Face Blender Brush through all five shades of Shimmer Brick Compact and dust lightly on cheekbones after blush. Focus on applying shimmer on the top of cheekbones – where light naturally hits the face – for the most flattering look.

To add a highlight to eyes by applying the lightest shade in the compact just under browbone. Use fingertips or the Eye Smudge Brush.

This, I read and re-read with great care. Tore off the cellophane wrapper with dignified restraint. (Read I stopped jumping in glee on the table while I did that) and did a fancy sworl and apply to the apples of my cheeks. And the glittery part up top.Β  I look, well, bronzed. And sunkissed. And happier.

Why I totally love this? This is something I would have never ever bought for myself. I stick to lipstick/eyeliner/compact. And this is also something that actually makes me look less pallid and ready for a blood transfusion, much like them undeads. And unless I did try it out how would I ever realise that well, a bronze shimmer does act like a pick me up for the skin.

Despite all assumptions to the contrary, I am a make up virgin. I use eyeliner and lip pencil and lipstick. And on a good day gloss. But eyeshadows and blushons and such like are beyond my professional capabilities, and are meant to be limited to special occasions like weddings, birthday parties and kitty lunches and days when you realise that no, that is not smudged out left over from last night kohl remnants under your eyes, that is genuine, deep seated, much sleepless nights induced raccoon eyes. And then I scream and run out for concealer much in the manner the alcoholic realises he is down to his last swig and has swallowed said last swig in unseemly, greedyΒ manner not even relishing the last few drops with the suaveness that comes from knowing that more will follow from the wine shop.

Therefore, my need for make up thus far has been relegated to enhance the eyes and the lips and pray the rest of me carries of on sheer charm and blinding wit. I’ve been having a make up windfall lately though. An aunt dropped in from Norway and unleashed piles of Mary Kay eyeshadow duos and cheek quads on me. Before she did that, she sat me down like the goat to the slaughter and painted on various colours like plums and olive greens and yellows and pinks on my eyelids, smudged them and blended them and worked hard and furious in the hope that she might get them peepers to open up illusionally and not look like I am perpetually squinting into the sun. I plied on some blush on while at home and while the spawn of the womb was snoring open mouthed on the bed. I think the volume of the snores rattled me so that the heavy handed trial application would suffice to get me a walk on role as a drag queen in any mega budget hollywood production. I think the unsuspecting spouse who walked past as I smeared them cheeks started and withdrew hastily, rushing no doubt to get himself garlanded with garlic and dig out a cross from some forgotten drawer.

Also the lipsticks from Mary Kay. Lots of them. In soft sherbet shades. With glimmer and glitter and frost and such things which tell me clearly and sharply that, babe, you ditch the matte look and you age. Runs into the lines along your lip line. Bleeds is the term she used. Ah well. The indignity of it all. Softer shades, she says, are less obvious when they bleed.

My heart bled for my lost youth when lipstick stayed put where it was supposed to and didnt decide to explore the rest of my face.

So now, all ye make up whizzes out there. Tell me how these things have to be applied the way the good beauty artist intended it to be. On cheekbone or on apple of said cheek. Of which I have neither, nor any cheekbone worth definition nor apple of cheek worth accentuation. Or should I just random pop it in the centre of said cheek and pray I look presentable in a public situation.

Or maybe, I’m going to borrow them cheekbones off Ro.

Thanks babe. You made my morning. And pretty much the rest of my day.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A pick me up, the first thing in the morning.

  1. Aathira says:

    I am also the kind who sticks to eye liner and lip sticks… but I love the look of this compact brick… I guess the gradation of colours should make applied cheeks look flushed !

    Like

  2. D says:

    Now that’s why I think it’s essential to have relatives in all parts of the world, the kind who get you gifts!!!

    Like

  3. Kiran Manral says:

    Aathira: Yup, flushed and nice.

    D: Or friends. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  4. Rohini says:

    Me happy you likey πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. dipali says:

    Lovely gift!

    Like

  6. anna says:

    what i find looks radiant and very natural
    1) “benetint” by benefit cosmetics. it is incredible. expensive but incredible
    2) terracotta (the non-shimmer one) by Guerlain. beautiful bronzer that gives you a rosy, tanned v natural glow

    Like

  7. Suki says:

    Awwww… good to hear you sounding like this again πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Sindhu says:

    Happened to wander over to your blog. Thing I got here from BlogAdda, possibly. Well, I really enjoyed reading your last few entries! You have a flair for writing. πŸ™‚

    This entry was a pleasure to read. I’m no big make-up queen either; I stick to basics, like eye-liner, lipgloss, and some pressed powder now and then. I have tried to experiment with blushes and eye shadows, but I don’t think I have the patience (or the artistic eye) for it.

    Anyway, great blog. Would you mind if I added you to my blogroll? I’ll definitely come back and visit. πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. mayya says:

    This shimmer brick is out of this world!!! But since it was wayyy out of my budget I ended up getting this dupe
    http://www.sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P95216

    These bronzers/shimmers make me feel good about my brown/tanned skin πŸ˜€

    Like

  10. Ishani says:

    Nice post…
    \\I think the unsuspecting spouse who walked past as I smeared them cheeks started and withdrew hastily…\\ πŸ˜‰ LOL

    Like

  11. Abha says:

    πŸ™‚

    ok! i am cluesless to the extent that i dont even know what this stuff is! bah!

    Like

  12. Kiran Manral says:

    Ro: Me happy. Me very happy.

    Dipali: πŸ™‚

    Anna: Now I must try both. Will check at my local importwala or Alfa.

    suki: :0

    Sindhu: Would be honoured.

    Mayya: Dont they??? I’m just loving this one too.

    Ishani: πŸ˜‰

    Abha: Neither did I. But old age needs me to primp up.

    Like

  13. Mampi says:

    i just wanted to enjoy ur posts and not leave a comment. But how , oh how can one go by without commenting. I actually laughed out loud and both my kids just signed me off as the crazy old woman. look what ur post did to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

