And the blog was deleted…and I go to Goa to celebrate…

…which makes me feel a little sad, because I did not want a blog to shut down. All it would have taken was an acknowledgement and a due line of credit for the said post. But, I guess, having accepted compliments for said post had already meant said plagiarist had backed herself into a corner and had no escape route…

I am overwhelmed and teary eyed and feel blessed that folks rushed out brandishing swords and comments on my behalf, and felt wronged enough to take time out to complain to WordPress for me, before I could even think of doing so (Thanks a mill, Kodi’s Mom), put up posts decrying this outright highway robbery, thanks MadMomma, Serendipity, Arpit, Ersa; send out comments to everyone possible to spread the word around, put it up on Twitter, thanks Poonam….

And I’m glad I kicked up a bit of a fuss…it was too personal a post to let me let it go without a fight. An apology would have been nice though. This was just too cowardly an exit.

What can I say? A girl is lucky to have friends like you!

So, please do forgive me if I dont reply to each comment individually….this is one of those mad mad days when I need to go shopping asap for beach wear, because, you guessed it right, am off to the beach again. Driving down to Goa tomorrow with the spouse and the child and drawing out a road map right now, and downloading google earth maps and such like, given the horrors we went through going off track last trip down.

The camera is off colour, so need to go buy me a new one. Some shorts (yes, yes, stop smirking, I am so not getting into a swimsuit given that I would cause a bad case of conjunctivis amongst innocent bathers by the sea), the last time I was there my sole pair of  shorts split on me in a public situation and had to go scurrying to them shops lining the access road to the beach and yell out to the surprised man to give me anything he had in XXL right now. And didnt bargain.

I also have to pack. Which means many bottles of water. Filtered. For the journey too and fro. Many packets of Frooti tetrapaks. Many packets of Lays Tomato flavour. Infinite biscuits, chocolates and such like which keep the child happy and content and less likely to keep whining about when he can hit the beach. Toys. Toys. And more toys. Of which exactly three will be utilised for entertainment purposes. Many carefully coordinated ensembles of which I will inevitably end up wearing one set for the entire duration of the stay there, which will have folks at the hotel speak to me in kind gracious manner and ask me where the parents of the child are, and how convenient it is when the maid comes along for the holiday, and how much do I get paid for minding the kid.

And if any of you good folks happen to be in the vicinity, if you see fat woman running after scrawny child on Calangute, while simultaneously holding onto hat in terror of getting grilled to charcoal*, shake a hand. Fort Aguada, here we come.

Edited: * original phrase changed since I might offend more folks with my original choice of words, and god knows, I have zero mental energy to take on any more battles today…

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to And the blog was deleted…and I go to Goa to celebrate…

  1. Ersa says:

    Hope you are feeling much better than before, Kiran. Have a blast on your Goa vacation. Hugs…

    Like

  2. Ummmm.. what exactly do you mean by ‘tribal levels of skin colour’? Do you mean dark/black/tanned?
    I am sorry but that was not exactly the best choice of words

    Like

  3. Kiran Manral says:

    Lost on the street: Lol, no, not being politically correct at all here am I? I mean skin which has been tanned to extremes from constant exposure to the sun.

    Like

  4. Meira says:

    Attagirl 😀
    Take us along, take us along.;)

    Like

  5. Aathira says:

    I wanna go GOA !!!

    Enjoy…

    Like

  6. Shivani says:

    Have a blast in Goa, Kiran!
    You deserve it and more 🙂
    And to my last comment on your other blog, you asked me if we know each other IRL.
    Well, we don’t, but I sure would love to 😀

    P.S: If you’re a sea-food fan, the tandoori lobsters available somewhere in the vicinity of Calangute are to DIE FOR!

    Like

  7. 🙂
    Goa,oh will you please go to Lila’s cafe and have breakfast there for me!!

    Like

  8. suma says:

    lucky you 🙂

    enjoy!

    Like

  9. Sue Gir says:

    Proud of the unity you have around here.

    Like

  10. JLT says:

    have fun! you deserve this after the plagiarisation.
    was just wondering- at least now, does the husband know about your blog? After all that outrage a post on him and you generated? 🙂 Or on second thoughts that IS an intense post with which to get acquainted..

    Like

  11. Hi Kiran, I do not follow many blogs, one of my colleague just today recommended your’s. About the plagiarising I would say, on the brighter side, it means you are famous !!! People reading you and liking it so much to put it up as their own work !!!
    I am kidding though 🙂

    On a serious note, I went back and read that particular blog of yours. It is beautiful and touches the heart. The pain that your husband was going through at that moment of your lives, and your helplessness at not being able to do anything about it; it just comes through…

    Have a great holiday !

    Like

  12. morpheus says:

    Its freaky, creepy, wrong..
    Goa is well deserved in that case!

    Like

  13. Deboleena says:

    The sun and sea (however scorching they may get) heal too.

    Have a great time 🙂

    Like

  14. Amrutha says:

    Hmmm…I realised that the blog was deleted only today. Hopped over to inform you and realised I was way too late for that! 🙂 Anyway, have fun in Goa!

    Like

  15. Kiran Manral says:

    Meira: Hop along next time.

    Aathira: You will you will…

    Shivani: Souza Lobo’s on Calangute. Died.

    Lost on the street: Just saw this. Pity. Next time I will.

    Suma: Oh I did.

    Sue Gir: 🙂 Just folks sticking up for whats right. Am touched.

    JLT: Oh he knows I blog. He couldnt be bothered to read though. Unless I put stock tips on the blog.

    Leela: Thank you. Which is why I pulled out the cudgels for that post was too personal to let it just get filched without a fight.

    Morpheus: Goa is well deserved in any case. 😉

    Deboleena: Tanned and healed and back now.

    Amrutha: Thanks…

    Like

  16. aniruddhapathak says:

    Use this to create a creative commons license http://creativecommons.org/

    Like

  17. Vikas Gupta says:

    Though I have zero tolerance to plagiarism I really felt sorry for SAG when I had known about the incident from Arpit’s blog.

    SAG was in my blogroll after she had come to my blog from Arpit; she was also in my Orkut friends later.

    She deleted her Orkut profile as well!

    I have seen her photos in the Orkut album: she was about 20, had a boyfriend (for whom it was stolen of course) and looked a kiddie, lovely, chirpy girl!

    I wish she had not deleted her blog. I am planning to write her a mail.

    Like

Leave a Reply

