The Five Best Things the Spouse has done for me

This is a tag that comes hot of the post by Dipali on her wonderful SRE, and having had the pleasure of meeting the both of them I can safely say a more darling couple would be hard to come by.

And since by the very nature of the title, this requires said tag to be soppy and barf inducing, I put the barf alert notice right up front so those who want to spare themselves the agony of heaving out the contents of their stomach are free to skip this post. Also, I need to touch the husband for a rather heavy emptying out of his wallet in the coming week, so I am hoping this will sort of smooth the way and force him to live up to the reputation I am broadcasting all over the www.

So without much ado, here are the five nicest things my spouse has done for me. And some more.

1] Come with me for every appointment, every scan, every test during my infertility treatment and my pregnancy. Considering he wasnt keen on having any children and I was the one on hormonal wanting overload, I guess he decided he’d better see me through it or I would implode.

2] Not insisting I cook. But then I guess that is not just his niceness, but also his self preservation instincts.

3] Always being there whenever I’ve been stuck in a situation. Riots, power blackouts, floods, you name it, and I’ve been secure in the knowledge that all I need to do is call him and he will come (rather like some superhero without the costume and the cape) and get me home safe and sound.

4] Pampering me. Even when he could ill afford it. He is a generous husband. The best watches, sunglasses, bags, clothes, perfumes, jewellery, he insists on buying them for me. He is not so generous with himself. He buys stuff for himself rarely, but is very giving with me. Truth be told, he is generous with everyone.

5]Always supported me 100 per cent in whatever I’ve chosen to do, whether chuck up jobs, or start anything new, or decide to be a lotus eater, he never says a word. Or maybe he would rather not say a thing and let me make my own mistakes.

And some more:

1] He never notices when I pile on the kilos. Or if he does, he chooses to keep it zipped until I look like I’m ready to be kicked into a goal.

2] He never ever expresses a strong opinion on what I wear or what I do with my hair. Nor does he encourage me not to wear any particular kind of clothes. Any modesty in my dressing is totally self imposed.

3] When I chickened out of driving after a couple of particularly gruesome crashes, he hired a driver.

4] He has unhesitatingly bashed up eveteasers for me. Without being asked to. Way back in the days when we travelled by bus and train. That makes a girl feel really safe.

5] He accompanies me to every doctor’s appointment and surgery still and does the post surgery care to the best of his ability. Post LASIK, he ensured my drops were put in, the eye patches worn every night and no excess eye strain through sitting at the computer or reading done.

6] If I am ever ill (he knows I really am ill when I tuck myself into bed without washing my face, creaming it, and creaming my hands and feet), he takes over the child completely. Feeding, changing, homework, putting to bed.

7] If he hands me over some cash for spending purposes (I am a kept woman, remember), he will never ask me what I spent it on. Or ask me what I need money for. Or be niggardly about handing over some spare dosh when I run out of the greenbacks. Which is ever too often.

8] And he continues to make me feel like the sexiest woman on earth. Despite the triple layers of cellulite, the extra tyres, stretchmarks, balding head, jiggly belly pouch, pigmentation and morning dog breath.

And I tag

Maggie

Rohini

The Mad Momma

Poppins Mom

Cee Kay

Asaan

Get to it, girls.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Five Best Things the Spouse has done for me

  1. dipali says:

    What a darling, even if he’s the strong, silent variety!
    His actions speak of his love loud and clear, bless him.

    Like

  2. anna says:

    he truly sounds like a treasure….but then this is a two-way street cos they say you get as good as you give…so dont down-sell yourself. though one does know some perfectly nice people who are married to real dogs!

    Like

  3. Sumathee says:

    He is so nice and caring. The other good thing is..that you realise and acknowledge his positive. Thats what makes the whole thing so very divine. Hope you have a long long innings of happiness and well being

    Like

  4. Sumathee says:

    He is so nice and caring. The other good thing is..that you realise and acknowledge his positive. Thats what makes the whole thing so very divine. Hope you have a long long innings of happiness and well being
    BTW I love your blog!

    Like

  5. Gigi says:

    He’s the best! You two are truly blessed to have found each other.

    Like

  6. Kiran Manral says:

    Dips: πŸ™‚

    Anna: I’m the dog in this marriage. Clingy, whiney, spoiled, shopaholic, etc, etc….

    Sumathee: Thank you.

    Gigi: :)Dont let him know that. He has to keep working hard to retain that position.

    Like

  7. sraikh says:

    Firstly there is no triple layers of cellulite!
    And he sounds like a gem:)

    PS; I was trying to think of 5 things for NK and each time I think of something, I counter it with something else and make myself all pissy.:) I would have to dig deep to find 5 things

    Like

  8. Swati says:

    Nice one ! btw voted for you on indiblogger:)

    Like

  9. Poppy says:

    He’s awesome Kiran. And he’s tall and handsome to boot πŸ™‚

    Erm, I know you tagged me, but I was the first one to do this tag πŸ˜€ Nearly three years ago, when I began to blog. Time for round 2?

    Like

  10. Poppy says:

    Unrelated: Did you know you’d been nominated to IndiBlogger most funny blogger of the month – I voted for ya πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. masood says:

    Inspirational post for other husbands!

    Like

  12. Urvi says:

    Hi Kiran,

    I would have easily mistaken this to be written by me, for my Abhi(oops hubby!!), if you hadn’t written this for your husband!!
    Except for the fact that I don’t have children (after 7 and a half years and 4 miscarriages, the last at the 7th month!! 😦 )!!

    But as they say, let’s count our blessings for what we have rather than for what we don’t…

    The marriage seems to have endured enuf mayhem, may peace pervade through your life…now and forever…

    Like

  13. You are very lucky to have a husband like that. You are blessed to have each other.

    Like

  14. Kiran Manral says:

    Treatment Shop: Thankee

    Urvi: Thats so sad to hear, I hope you do get the child you yearn for…

    Masood: Bewarned. He’s a tough act to follow.

    Poppy: Thanks love. Will check it out.

    Swati: Thanks dear.

    sraikh: I think nice things are going to be far from your mind until that foot heals.

    Like

  15. Mampi says:

    what a lucky girl u are, but then so are many of us,
    and still people like me, ungrateful ones like me, forget to count our blessings, I need to do this list too….

    Like

  16. Kiran Manral says:

    Mampi: Please take up the tag…

    Like

  17. Sue says:

    Awwww!

    My father never asked where my money went and Vicky doesn’t either. The occasional bewildered/exasperated “But I gave you Rs. ___ just the other day!” not counted, of course.

    Like

  18. Praveen says:

    Wow, looks like yours is a “happily live thereafter” couple. Congrats! I wonder what life has in store for a bachelor like me πŸ™‚

    Like

  19. now thats like a GOOD BOY :)..god bless you

    Like

Leave a Reply

