Since I have been a good girl…

…and not shopped for myself in a very very long time (A pair of shoes bought over the last week does not count, of course, what is one measly pair of shoes), I am doing the second best thing I can and am window shopping. Given the fact that it is pouring cats and dogs and a couple of cows outside, the next best thing I can do is to turn to net-a-porter and sigh. And sigh some more. And click. And fill out a wishlist, which, given the current state of brokedom is destined to remain just that, a wishlist. Then I move on to style.com and sigh some more. The amount of sighing emanating from me makes the spouse cast a curious eye on the computer screen.

Having tucked my salivating tongue inside my mouth, I get back to the dour business of trying to earn a living, seeing as I’m not doing much to earn my keep as a kept woman these days. Which is also probably why the husband is looking suspiciously at the computer everytime I sigh deeply. He will probably never understand the twist in the gut that happens each time I gaze on that salmon Marni pump.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Since I have been a good girl…

  1. Meira says:

    Sigh! I’l give you some online sigh-ing company !

    Like

  2. Childwoman says:

    Siiiiiiiiiighhhhhhhh Look at that louboutin red boot!!! drool!!

    Like

  3. JLT says:

    LOL! I don’t inderstand the twist in the gut either. One of the rare instances where your posts don’t touch a chord…. But you have fun, K!

    Like

  4. jaya says:

    guess wat kiran, there is a nine west and also store round the corner from my office. do i tell you, i spend my lunch time there

    Like

  5. shilpadesh says:

    Loooved the pink marni pumps! If only I could afford them, and carry them off…sigh…

    Like

  6. Anamika says:

    Sigh!!

    (p.s. I am unable to post comments at karmickkids. Any idea why)

    Like

  7. NainaAshley says:

    Right there with you on the purses. Can’t lust over those shoes right now, since I have a broken foot and the only thing I can wear is tennis shoes with orthotics! I envy everyone who can wear these shoes.

    Like

  8. she says:

    i love your blog, but i will never share your taste in shoes though i love shoes myself.

    Still, since you live in Mumbai, you must try Ink5 stores for affordably priced and fairly hot looking shoes. Being a student on a rather tight budget, the likes of aldo and nine west are a long way off for me, so this store is an excellent stand in.

    have fun 🙂

    Like

  9. Anon says:

    u said it, the marni pumps are soooo beautiful!!!! who cares if i’ll be able to walk in them or not :p

    Like

  10. sraikh says:

    Oooohh love the red pumps.
    Next time I go shoe shopping, shall I click random pictures of shoes and send them to you…especially those on clearance. Pictures not the shoes 🙂

    Like

  11. priyaiyer says:

    oh wow! those red ones look lovely!! 🙂

    began reading your blog fairly recently, and love the way you write. can relate to you in a lot of ways. i am hooked to your blog and read all of your posts.

    have a little something for you on my blog. would love it if you could come over and accept it.

    thanks,
    priya

    Like

  12. Aathira says:

    Those cartier clutches … *siiigghhhh

    Like

  13. Kiran Manral says:

    Meira: *sigh, sigh, sigh*

    Childwoman: *Hands over a tissue to mop drool puddle*

    JLT: 🙂

    jaya: You lucky thing you.

    Shilpa: Tell you what, we will hunt the fakes down.

    Anamika: No clue. I havent done any fiddling around with settings…

    Naina: Awww. Get well soon.

    She: Definitely will check them out.

    Anon: You will make sure you walk in them once you have them on. And trust me, well made shoes are comfortable to walk in.

    sraikh: Please do, will wait for those with bated breath.

    Aathira: *joins the sighing chorus*

    Like

  14. priyaiyer says:

    oh, i m so sorry. here it is:

    http://www.priyaiyer.wordpress.com

    cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

