I’m not a jewellery person

And that’s the barefaced truth. When friends compare the size of their rocks, I edge away from the discussion in shame of having nothing to contribute. The husband too, darling as he is in most cases, last indulged me with jewellery as a surprise gift when the brat was in utero. My jewellery collection is the sort that is apologetic about being in a locker.
For a while what I have been eyeing is a large oval emerald in a prong setting, with diamonds. I would look at such rings in jewellery ads and sigh deep troubled sighs. I would gently drop hints to the husband on the lines of “I wonder what would be my lucky stone” and he would play his mild deafness card to the hilt. Or go out and buy himself a huge oval blue sapphire set in gold, wear it for a month and then retire it from service last week after it was proved (a breakin and robbery at the office, legal issues and a double hospitalisation of the child, the second time in ICU no less) that all the scary tales surrounding the stone are true. I would continue to look at rings with huge emeralds and rubies and sigh. Until this morning. Visited the mater. Who fishes out a square box. Of a jeweller no less. Surprise, she says, her careworn face breaking into a smile. I open it to find the most gorgeous deep green oval emerald flanked by four diamonds on either side. I collapse in a thud. I revive myself before smelly shoes are pressed into service. I put it on my finger and prance around in demented manner. I stare at my finger in reflections. I feel like the queen of the world. This from a woman who never had more than two small gold studs for most of her life.
You must indulge yourself now, while you have the desire, she said grinning like a Cheshire cat. Ten years later would be too late. Did I tell you folks I have the best mom in the world?

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to I’m not a jewellery person

  1. Sands says:

    How adorable? She sounds like a sweetheart 🙂 Picture please!!

    Like

  2. Suki says:

    I ❤ your mom 🙂

    Like

  3. Homecooked says:

    Aww…how sweet! Parents give the best gifts 🙂 I didnt know about the sapphire bad luck..thanks for the info!

    Like

  4. Gigi says:

    Moms rule!

    Like

  5. jaya says:

    that sounds awesome, may be u shld post a pic here.
    Hope brat is recovering. Sorry to hear about his hospitalizations.
    take care

    Like

  6. Ramya says:

    WOw Kiran! Parents are the best! Picture please..

    Like

  7. Solilo says:

    I wasn’t a jewellery person and it was my mom who always gifted me the best pieces..she still does and now I love my collection.

    Love your mom. Moms are the best.

    Like

  8. mayya says:

    this is awesome!!! I’ve also been wanting an emerald cocktail ring for a while now

    Like

  9. rekha says:

    Hi,

    Superb, your mom is great.Hope your son is better now.
    take care
    rekha

    Like

  10. Childwoman says:

    You are truly blessed, Madame K!! 🙂

    Like

  11. Shivani says:

    You’ve a darling mom!
    I’m not a jewellery person either, but the emerald+diamond combination sets me hunting for a mop to wipe off my drool 😉
    Pic please if you don’t mind

    Like

  12. Poppy says:

    I’m not too much into jewellery either but that ring sounds awesome! Your mom is too sweet. and I hope all the bad luck goes away.

    Like

  13. Rani says:

    Wow u lucky girl. So sweet of your mom and what she said about indulging in desires makes a lot of sense.

    Like

  14. Chips says:

    That was such a lovely gesture. Moms are the best.

    Like

  15. manisha says:

    i feel like hugging your mom 🙂

    Like

  16. yo kiran’s mom!!

    Like

  17. Anamika says:

    Such a rocking gesture. Only moms know that we ‘grown up’ women still like getting gifts and having our desires fulfilled and we can also dance with joy and happiness on such occassions. Your reaction must have made her day too.
    Cheers!

    This was a happy post in the true sense. Even readers feel happy. Aint that great? 🙂

    Like

  18. Shobana says:

    Wonderful Mom, she sounds like! Feeling very happy after I read this post…don’t know why! Enjoy the ring.

    Like

  19. Just Someone says:

    You are right! Moms are the best 🙂

    Happy prancing and dancing 🙂 and indulge and enjoy – its allowed;)

    Like

  20. dipali says:

    Awesome mom. Hug her from me please,and you are right, it’s not for giving you jewels:)

    Like

  21. sunayanaroy says:

    Your mum’s the best. And mine’s with her. 🙂

    Like

  22. choxbox says:

    AWWW…

    Like

  23. Rupa says:

    feeling so good after reading this….parents are always like this….angels that they are …..my mom and dad are similar too….I always wonder if i’ll be able to do them something that will make them delighfully happy….its always me at the receiving end and I love it.
    Pic of the emerald pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    Like

  24. thetaamommy says:

    Bless you and mom, girl !!, anything that puts a smile on your face is worth it 😉

    Like

  25. Kiran Manral says:

    @all: Thanks. You are right. More than the ring, it was the gesture that made me feel so loved and valued….and plus the sentimental value of this piece of jewellery I hope I can pass down to my granddaughter… 😉

    Like

  26. jewellery says:

    There are a number of trends that are emerging; the first involves black and silver jewellery.

    Like

Leave a Reply

