Am back, sort of.

Yes. I am. Sitting at my desk at the office. In front of the computer. Keying away furiously. I have a pile load of deadlines which are long overdue, and no mental bandwidth to get to work. It has been a rough couple of weeks. It started with the child throwing up violently in school, almost passing out and needing to be admitted into a nursing home for dehydration. He came out, went to school and promptly had a seizure in class, throwing the entire school into a tizzy. He was rushed to the ICU at a near by hospital. And there he stayed till the end of this week. And he was discharged, and returned home but is now half his size pre illness, with every rib on full display. And a bad cold came home with him, so one has been babysitting him, terrified that the cold doesnt flare up into a fever again. Yup. And the hairline has greyed up. Overnight. I splashed my face with water in the tiny hospital bathroom and wondered who the crone was in the mirror, before realising it was me. The husband was down too, with stomach upset, aches and sweats. He’s been asked to get a sonography and an ECG done, the thought of which, and the implications of which had me passing out in a cold faint on the floor. I mean, you could tell me I had two days to live and I would be fine. But nothing should touch my son or my man. I hyperventilate. And the man is usually a rock. I’ve never seen him have as much as fever in the almost 20 years we’ve been together. I am scared.

Its not been a nice couple of weeks.

To add to the general maudlin atmosphere is the eerie wind blowing through little slits in the window panes and through bathroom slats like that of a haunted house, the wind has been killing strong. The iron grille of our park area has collapsed. Thankfully no children were swarming around that area at that point. I sometimes fear at night that the wind hitting the glass frames will shatter it and the glass rain down on us sleeping within. In sheer self preservation instinct I find myself sleeping back to the balcony. Covered head to toe with a thick blanket. Turns out I’m not being paranoid, hutments at Versova found their roofs being blown off yesterday, thanks to the gale force winds which have been rattling our eyeballs in their sockets.

I came into work yesterday. Got a call that the child is complaining of severe stomach ache, fled back home. No work got done. He was fine by the time I reached home.

Today is the day of the great high tide in Mumbai, and doom and gloom has been predicted by the BMC Disaster Management Cell, but I did have to come into work. Thankfully, the weather gods are being kind and it is pretty sunny at the moment. I think one should read weather predictions from the met department in the reverse. That is the only logical explanation. Lets hope I get in some constructive work done, apart from updating my blogs, before I run home again.

And yes. I really am so overdue on that bout of mindless shopping.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Am back, sort of.

  1. Meira says:

    Gosh! That is too much for a fortnight. take care, all of you.

    Like

  2. Sunita says:

    Hugs Kiran. Take care.

    Like

  3. Serendipity says:

    Hey….that’s a v gloomy post.
    Take care…hope a rainbow comes your way soon.

    Like

  4. m2KnP says:

    too much for two weeks. hang in there, Lady K!

    Like

  5. sole says:

    Delurking for the first time to say take care. That’s a lot of stress for a single person to handle. Hope God gives you the strength to get over the tide! Hope the son and the man get well soon and there are no other serious issues!

    Like

  6. Poppy says:

    Ow. that sounds terrible. I do hope the boys are better now and stop making your hair grey. I believe in that stone being unlucky now. May good things come to you.

    Like

  7. rekha says:

    Hey Kiran,

    I hope everything would turn out good for you soon. May God bless your child and husband with long , healthy life.

    Take care,
    Rekha

    Like

  8. rekha says:

    Hey Kiran,

    I hope everything would turn out good for you soon.

    Take care,
    Rekha

    Like

  9. Parul says:

    I am with you on the gloom. My boy is currently down with viral gastroenteritis. Third viral attack in the last month. Seen more poop and puke than an average mom-blog this last week. Ribcage is of course the first thing to hit display and press mommy-guilt. The winds are howling as you say, portent-like and most Shakespearean. Finally, when I started unravelling from the head-up, I went to a temple.

    Like

  10. Upsi says:

    Kiran, that’s too much going on. sending positive vibes to you.

    Like

  11. Sam says:

    Hi Kiran
    Am one of the (frequent) lurkers on your blog. Read this post and I just had to delurk and tell you to hang in there. Am amazed that you still manage to sound so upbeat amid all that stress, worry and chaos. Hope everything goes well and both your hubby and son are back on their feet in no time. Do take care of yourself too.

    Like

  12. i hope all is ok by now 🙂
    god bless the man and your son

    Like

  13. Kiran Manral says:

    @all: Thank you. He’s well now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

