Touching money is the best painkiller

So says todays TOI. On page 13. The page I turn too after I check the obituries. It has the kind of news that the news papers should be full of. From Page one to Page 24. Or whatever the last page is of the newspaper you read. The Hindustan Times has Life, Universe and Everything, or something of the sort. It used to be the first page I read before I decided to check out the temperature of the previous day gone by and cluck at the oven levels the city had reached.

Today’s page for instance has many articles that I suspect were tailor written for middleaged, overweight women like me to gloat in hope over. Allergy drugs to fight flab, blood sugar, says one article. On the exact opposite side of the page, to balance the happiness I derived from the joyful prospect of popping in allergy medication on the sly to slim down to sylph levels is the little snippet that tells me an iced coffee has more calories than a steak and chips dinner, thereby ruining one of the simplest pleasures of my drab life, namely sitting with friends and gossiping over an iced coffee. Now I know I will stare at said iced coffee and feel sweat beads form on my forehead in the knowledge that Ive knocked down dinner and not even felt satiated enough to pass out into dead sleep. And yet another article talks about an astronaut commenting on how the polar ice caps have shrunk. I so want to see the polar ice caps from space before they shrink altogether. That makes me sad. Ive even done the lasik now so I dont need to wonder where my contact lenses will float off in in zero gravity.

But this header feature, titled Money is the best painkiller drew my eye to it instantly. Especially since them migraine attacks are becoming more severe, longer in duration and more frequent these days. And what is worse, given the run around of the past couple of weeks, I havent even had the luxury of retiring to a darkened closed room, shutting out the world and languishing in my own misery.

The study, the article says, appears in the journal Psychological Science. The results state that thinking about bills paid and touching money affected participants physically and emotionally. They did some tests by having one group count paper and one group count money. The group that counted money were happier and reported less pain when their fingers were dipped in hot water.

I know just what I’m going to do. I’m applying for a job as a cashier. Maybe them damn migraines will disappear with all that counting.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Touching money is the best painkiller

  1. magicalsummer says:

    maybe they should have been more specific and said – counting money in the process of giving it away for boots, or sunglasses, or handbags or some other expensive little something that never fails to gladden your heart!

    as for the migraines – carry some vasograin in your bag, kiran, and pop it in at the first sign of a headache coming on.

    Like

  2. Serendipity says:

    I don’t understand how people find time to fund and continue such insipid research :(. What are they planning next? Keep a OT patient on a bed with wads of money instead of giving him anesthesia?! 😛

    Get something for the migraine though and take care.

    Like

  3. Serendipity says:

    I don’t understand how people find time to fund and continue such insipid research :(. What are they planning next? Keep a OT patient on a bed with wads of money instead of giving him anesthesia?! 😛

    Get something for the migraine though and take care.
    Oops…forgot to say great post! Looking forward to your next one.

    Like

  4. Sands says:

    so that is the answer. Thanks for sharing. Is so going to help with all kinds of pain relief now 😉

    Like

  5. Ron says:

    Ummmm, you are NOT fat you delusional woman. I, on the other hand..ahem..never mind. TOI does come up with some awesome stories. I’m off to find some money to touch asap. Have a bad backache.

    Like

  6. pooja says:

    i read ur book reviews in PEOPLe

    Like

  7. Oh touching money is the best pain killer?Wow awesome idea.

    Like

  8. Kiran Manral says:

    magical summer: Thanks for the tip.

    Serendipity: Good idea. Am just going to change the stuffing of my mattress now.

    Sands: Yup. Strap on wads of cash to the forehead.

    Ron: Delusional me? You didnt see me standing up. Check that back soon, and yes, give me a holler when you land here. You know where to find me. Hope your dad is better.

    Pooja: Honoured.

    Lingerie news: 🙂

    Like

  9. Sue says:

    I’m thinking you need a hug. *hugs*

    Like

  10. Kiran Manral says:

    Sue: Thanks love, needed that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

