9/11

Eight years ago, I watched horrified as two planes drove into the World Trade Center in New York. Like most people this side of the planet, the horror of the attack, was compounded over the days that passed, with visuals on loop of the towers collapsed, of the horror of those stuck on the flights which crashed, of those going about their business. Almost 3000 people died in those attacks. Four planes in all. All part of a well planned conspiracy by Al Qaeda. And a lot has been written about it.

All that remains with me today, when I think back is the faces of those standing outside the collapsed remnants of the towers with posters bearing photographs of their loved ones, waiting, waiting, hoping, praying that somehow, they were lucky, they managed to escape, they werent mangled in by the crush of iron and steel girders and would be found, safe, maybe a little hurt, but safe and alive. And the pain of having no closure, no resolution, no last words. Well, some folks had last words from their loved ones. They were called. They were spoken with. They were helpless to do anything to save them. That must have been living hell.

At least 200 people jumped to their death, a jump that was hopeless, but precipitated by a situation so hopeless that at least their death was instantaneous.  411 emergency medical personnel died on the call of duty as they tried to rescue people trapped in the towers.

Conspiracy theories abounded, and still do. But the fact remains that 9/11 is one of the defining moments in the modern history of terrorism. A moment that has since then, made every person in the world look on anyone from a particular community with suspicion and mistrust.

All I would like to do today is pray that the families of the victims, their loved ones snatched from them in such horrific circumstances, find peace and resolution.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 9/11

  1. Shivani says:

    8 years? It feels like last week. That day has been branded on my memory like no other. And that picture of the falling man made me shudder.
    RIP

    Like

  2. Sri says:

    I can never ever forget the image of the twin towers collapsing..the sad part is that the event coincides with my birthday and everyone remembers it as the 9/11 day!:(

    Like

  3. faeriee says:

    8 years already ? How time flies ! And yeah, my prayers with families fo the victims too.

    Like

  4. Anamika says:

    I was settling down in my then new house with small baby and the TV was upstairs. My husband called me to tell me what he heard on the radio on his way to work and I did not rush to turn on the T.V. Fed the kid and finished chores and then finally turned it on and then the shock. Every detail of that morning is so vivid in my memory and somewhere within I live with a guilt that I was not quick enough to react. Not that there was anything I could have done but my horror and my prayers began quite a while after most of the world was already in shock.
    Your post has me in tears. I have yet to make my second trip to NYC. The first time was in 2000 and I have a picture of myself standing on the topmost floor of WTC. I have a t-shirt that I bought from the sovenir shop there.

    Like

  5. soulmate says:

    That day I was in office when we got this news and it was unbelievable for most of us. Our client office was very close to WTC.. it was a shock… the images kept crossing my mind for numerous days tht followed.. and this day still makes me sad…

    Like

    • Kiran Manral says:

      Soulmate: It does, doesnt it, its the kind of mindless destruction of something precious and beautiful that brings tears to one’s eyes.

      Like

  6. IMCurtain says:

    Lovely post!

    p/s: We would like to invite all of you to join our blogging community which helps you to get more visitors to your blogs. It’s totally free and you get the chance to meet other celebrity bloggers. Visit us at IMCurtain

    Like

  7. Serendipity says:

    Well, the skyline looks weird without those two beautiful towers.
    And there’s this huge construction site over there. Can’t believe the worlds tallest tower used to be there.
    People still try to peep through the facade, trying to get a glimpse to the other side. There are shrines all over the place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

