Patrick Swayze, RIP

15381614I donot like doing these RIP posts of folks I worshipped when I was a teenager. Michael Jackson. Maharani Gayatri Devi (Ah well, she was admired long past the teen years), and now Patrick Swayze.

Think of it. Fat, frumpy, teen me, who didnt really get any male attention whatsoever. And then Dirty Dancing happened. It was me Patrick Swayze wanted. I was Baby. I was the one giving him the time of his life. This was my story. I was the girl who was all stuck up, in the corner, a wall flower (well still am) but he gave me hope. Hope that a Johnny Castle stunner, with wild dance moves and looks that would turn my knees to water, and make my intestines churn themselves up unbecomingly, would spot me somewhere and make me dance like I’d never thought I could ever dance.

I got most of it. The stunner, who is also a great dancer, the knees to water, the intestines churning, and the disbelief in the fact that I could be wanted by a man whom the girls were beating down the door to. But no, I never ever got to dance like Baby, and I wanted to do the last dance, the I’ve had the Time of my Life dance, and do a flying dive and be held above my man’s head and brought down slowly, sensuously. (My man is practical, he doesnt believe in inviting back problems).

I know the words to every song in Dirty Dancing by heart. I sang them out loud the one million times I saw the movie, and had the songs on loop on my cassette player (remember those things, they went out with the dinosaurs too!), my innards turned to water everytime I heard She’s like the wind.

And then came Ghost. And the famed Pottery scene. Which redefined erotica for me in a way. And Unchained Melody became my second favourite make out song. Ah, the innocence of youth. And burgeoning romance.

Patrick Swayze, thank you for those wonderful movies. Thank you for being a crush I held onto through years into adulthood. Thank you for being Johnny Castle and Sam Wheat, characters every woman wishes she comes home to every night. Thank you for creating, for me, the ideal romantic hero. And making me believe that I would find my Johnny Castle too someday.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Patrick Swayze, RIP

  1. faeriee says:

    He was my teenage crush too. RIP.

    Like

  2. Meira says:

    Me too, Infact we were listening to ‘time of my life’ today morning when I decided to watch Dirty Dancing ‘yet again’. Boo hoo hoo

    Like

  3. Anamika says:

    Terrible terrible 😦

    Like

  4. Grail says:

    Yeah I always wanted to be like the wind through someone’s trees.

    Such a sad thing.

    Like

  5. Priyanka says:

    Hot, kind, sweet and not-too-macho. Yep, he defined ‘the’ guy back then for us gals, na?

    Like

Leave a Reply

