And the Eighties are back!!!

main_left

(Picture courtesy Style.com)

So says Style.com:

The eighties—the decade that fashion won’t forget. Marc Jacobs led the latest revival with an unapologetic dose of New York nightclub nostalgia (metallic leather and acid-wash jeans, anyone?). Antonio Berardi and Gucci’s Frida Giannini also went after-hours glam via crystal-studded minidresses and sharkskin suits, respectively. And leave it to Donatella Versace to put a gloss on the era with the season’s most irresistibly sexy party dresses.

Why am I bounding with delight at the prospect of walking out with the equivalent of a footballers shoulder guards on either shoulder? Because this was fashion when I was young. And a teen. And how. Padded shoulders gave my hourglass figure some definition, from the sand settled at the bottom bit it was without. Acid washed jeans ensured my mother spent many hours screaming that she was damned if she was going to allow me to step out looking like I’d dressed out of a trash can. Sweaters that slipped off one shoulder. Scarves in my hair. Lace. Tops in white and black lace. Made immortal by Madonna. Metallics were de rigeur for socials (remember those? Little parties organised by the alpha males in college meant for zeroing in on potential juniors. Today’s socials are scary with the drugs doing the rounds. Our height of scandal was guzzling down a quick beer with the boys.). And the Aashiqui bow! Anyone remember that? It was the height of coolth, with even the middleaged train catching aunties sporting them on their short cropped hair.

Am running off to the stores now. Metallic leather in pewter is what I need. And yes. I gotta get the hair to levels of volume that would need its own runway to perfect the look.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to And the Eighties are back!!!

  1. faeriee says:

    So the 80s are back ? Great ! Its the era we grew up in ! I so remember those shoulder pads in everything – from sweaters to salwar kameez to shirts – they sure made us look hip !! And the big hair look ! Now me getting nostalgic 🙂

    Like

    • Kiran Manral says:

      Faeerie: More than nostalgia, it is a fact that my silhouette looked better in padded shoulders with a nipped waist, given that I’ve always struggled with a heavy derriere. I’m so glad shoulder pads are back. And I’ve stuck to the big hair look I think…

      Like

  2. I hear the phrase “80’s fashion” and I actually cringe.

    Your post however had me smiling with nostalgia.

    But I don’t think I’ll be going shopping just yet…

    Like

  3. Veena says:

    Noooooooooooo…though I am not surprised. Tights came back big time so why not the (horrible)clothes and big hair from the 80s?

    Like

  4. Poppy says:

    Aashique bow oh yes – followed closely by Baazigar choker 🙂 Lol those days I tell you!

    Padded shoulders not sure, but one fashion I would like for it to come back in a more hip avataar is bell sleeves- somehow used to love them 🙂

    Like

  5. faeriee says:

    Yup ! I have stuck to my big hair look too – my hair style has not changed since my teens. I stick to it since it suits me most 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

