Opinions I’ve changed.

Picked this up from Sue. This is the kind of post I have been thinking about for a while now and mulling over in my mind. I’ve been through many opinion shifts, through my twenties and now my thirties. And a lot of the opinions I held earlier are now completely reversed. For instance, sleeping in late. No longer do I need to snore till its time for lunch on a weekend. I’m up with the lark and ruining everyone else’s sleep with it. Let me list out the various opinions I’ve held and have now changed, and then dig me into a hole and pull it in over me. Growing older does make you realise your mother was always right, but dont tell her I said so. And yes, I am so wearing clean undies everyday.

1] Sarees are for aunties. Since I am now officially well into aunty territory, I’m making my peace with sarees. I wore a saree thrice in this year, which by itself is a world record deserving of band bajaa and Guiness Book representatives interviewing me. I think by the time I reach Daadi stage I should get used to wearing them, without pinning my skin to my shoulder pleats.

2] Fitted tops are it. That was when I was pre baby and with hairpin curves. And a stomach so flat you could spin a coin on it. Not anymore. Said coin will get enveloped in folds of jelly like flab. Now all the fittedness does is emphasise every spare mm of flab hanging around aimlessly, and making you look like the Michelin man. I now look for strategic concealment and enhancement. I dress sensibly.

3] Chipped nail polish is the end of the world. As is a pimple. Now I know it is not. Terrorists could come via a fishing boat and walk into your life, and shoot you or your loved ones dead. Your entire life as you know it could get completely changed in a second. Chipped nail polish? Is totally irrelevant.

4] Mamma is such a know it all. Well, I am now a mamma, and I know it all. Someone please tell my son that.

5] Bad Boys on Bikes are cool. Give me my safe, stolid spouse anyday. I need the comfort of knowing that no matter what, I can depend on my man, and I wont be the one signing bail bonds to get him out when he injures innocent folk overspeeding on that cool bike. And Bikes are so not cool anymore. I need the airconditioned comfort of a chauffeur driven car, the bike seat is too tiny to accommodate my lard.

6] Alcohol. I needed a drink or two to get happy and in a party mood. Now I dont party. I stay as happy as I can without alcohol. Been four years now, am off the intoxicants and I think my body thanks me for it. I have seen enough women at parties drunk out of their senses, making total spectacles of themselves, swaying like ships in a storm, mammaries falling out of low cut tops, retching randomly on dance floors. I’m better not being the life of the party.

7] Anti wrinkle creams are for old ladies. The dressing table drawer is crammed with said creams. And I am so not an old lady yet.

8] Older women who ogle younger men are so pathetic. Err. I’m pathetic. I call it appreciating beauty.

9] A great evening out is dancing the night away at a packed loud discotheque. Err. My knees just gave way the other day. My eardrums dont take well to high decibel levels. I’d rather just stay at home with the spouse and the child and order in takeaway.

10] And finally, 40 is waaaay old. Its two years away from where I stand right now, and I am no way old.

Seriously though, serious things I have changed my opinion about.

1] Education: It is alright if you dont have great degrees to back you up. If you are literate and enterprising, the world is your oyster. And even if it isnt, enjoy the ride.

2]Junk food: It is not okay to overdose on processed food, snacks and junk food. Keep your system clean. Eat healthy. And your body will thank you for it.

3] Being nice to people no matter what: Sometimes you just have to be nasty. And it is okay if you get tagged a bitch. Its better than having feet wiped all over you.

4] Getting things done my way: It isnt important. What is important is getting things done any which way.

5] Saying sorry: It doesnt make me less of a person. I’m sad it took me so long to realise it.

6] The world doesnt revolve around me:  Though I might try hard to convince you it does. It now actually revolves around my son.

7] Fat melts itself:  I know now that fat hangs on for dear life and needs commando tactics to be employed in order to get it to let go from your skin layers.

8]Jewellery: I hated wearing jewellery. Now I’m a walking jewellery shop. Ageing does strange things to you. You need add ons to make yourself look better.

9] Being truthful: Sometimes you need to say a white lie to keep people sane.

10] Status Symbols: I thought they were hollow, pretentious and wannabe. I scoffed at them. I wore my export surplus with pride. I marched down fashion street in search of bargains. But I now shamelessly hanker after a LV monogramme Alma. I put my diamonds on. I wear labels. Yeah, well okay. I’ve become a hollow, pretentious, wannabe.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Opinions I’ve changed.

  1. Rani says:

    Nice post. Makes me think too.

    🙂

    Like

  2. Neha says:

    Hello! That was one honest post.. loved reading it.

    Thank you.

    Like

  3. Bhavna says:

    I havent visited for a long time- been madly busy. But Congratulations on the 300 posts, congrats on the weight loss and Hope you had a great Diwali and keep blogging..

    Thanks Bhavna, and wish you the same.
    cheers!

    Like

  4. Aathira says:

    I have to say that this is one the most honest posts I have read across anywhere. In fact one of the things which I see always is that your posts are so honest.

    I shall also wait and see how my opinions shall change with age. One for sure is that now 30s for me is not OLD ! 😦

    Yup. 30s is not old to me. When I was 16 I thought I should die by 40 when all my limbs were still functional. I’ve changed my mind now.

    Like

  5. Shobana says:

    I like the first 8th point about young men and older women. I like it very much. On the whole, a very interesting post. And honest too (which, btw all your posts are).

    If only the younger men looked at the older woman. Alas. 🙂

    Like

  6. sands says:

    Age does a number on us:-)
    Things we scoff and snort at become our things as we age!
    You have expressed it with great honesty!

    I do feel ancient…

    Like

  7. Anamika says:

    Since I will hit my 30 year old milestone soon, I had been thinking all the changes that happened to me and my thoughts in the last 10 years and this blog post is so similar to that ; I have to hog both your comment space.

    10 years back I was a small town college girl all of 18 years and now I work for corporate Amreeka

    Alcohol – having seen only really bad drunk ppl and alcoholics in my life, I hated ppl who drink .. in fact I never used to talk to guys who drink .. all that changed and now needless to say I luv drinking 

    I went from girl who never touched wine, to girl who needed her vodka tonic. Now I’m clean dry.

    Grooming / Make-up – 10 years back I believed in being a natural beauty and never shaped my “kroor singh” eyebrows nor waxed my manly hairy arms.. And now I need to get my monthly pedicure, manicures, and facials done.
    Same with make-up – was happy with a cream and some powder (not even lakme , it was cuticura ) and now I need my mascaras and lipsticks and foundations before I step out.

    This hasnt changed for me. I was fanatical about grooming since school days. And still am. Only now, I understand that less is more.

    One and only one Love – fortunately the one and only one love worked for me .. but I used to be so judgmental of ppl who had lot of break-ups and had many boyfrnds …
    It because I was observing them from a distance.. Once I became frnds with them, I realized they are too soft and gullible and madly in love with life and they think with heart rather than ppl like me who think with their head …and that’s why they fall in and out of love so often …

    I was judgemental about infidelity in the same way. Now let me go add that in my post.

    Dressing Style – I used to be totally covered up in a V shaped duppatta with full sleeves  and now spaghetti tops, halter tops mini skirts and shorts are what I love

    I used to always be covered up. But shape revealing. Now Im still covered up but no shape to reveal.

    Judgmental on a variety of topics – My views on pre-marital sex, live in relationships, abortions, same sex couples – for that matter almost every controversial topic has changed from “NO, NEVER” to “To each his/her own”

    I’m still pretty judgemental about certain things. Though I’ve reached a stage of to each his own.

    Like

  8. anamika says:

    Hi,

    Hope you are doing well! This is Anamika Tiwari Chief Editor at Webneetech.com. At present we are interviewing entrepreneurs and now we are starting another section to feature (interview) bloggers and their blog on webneetech.com

    Would like to feature your interview on our website.

    I was not able to find any contact details of yours so using this comment box. Please let me know your email id or else contact us on i.webneetech@gmail.com, so that we can send you the questionnaire and feature you on webneetech.com Please visit http://www.webneetech.com to know more about us.

    Regards,
    Anamika
    Webneetech.com

    Like

  9. Funny and thought-provoking. Great post!

    Like

  10. NainaAshley says:

    Kiran,
    First of all congratulations on your 300th post.
    Nice and honest post as usual. Your post had me thinking about my opinions that have changed over the years. A lot of them are similar to Anamika’s except I’m more closer to 40 than 30, so 40 is the new 20!

    Thanks Naina, and yes, I like your last line too. Here’s to the forties.

    Like

  11. mChoxbox says:

    Nice post K. lemme think now..

    Let me know when you finish thinking 🙂

    Like

  12. Abha says:

    great read Kiran.

    guess an exercise everyone should take up at some point in life just to see how far we have or perhaps how much we havent changed! 🙂

    cheers!

    Like

  13. renu says:

    lovely post! I really enjoyed..this is what growing up does to you.

    🙂

    Like

  14. Sue says:

    Milady, you’re beautiful in a saree. Learn to wear it with sloppy pleats thrown over your shoulder, no pinning. You’ll have the men slavering, no kidding.

    I like the imagery of the slavering types. Not had that for very very long.

    Like

Leave a Reply

